$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 117 S 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jersey shore
Sep 27, 2010

great location

the staff was very friendly and eager to please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Sep 2, 2010

Beautiful hotel

This hotel just opened up from a renovation in October of 2009. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 1, 2010

lived up to high expectations

everything was great. no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dsubguy
Business
Annapolis, MD
Aug 31, 2010

Palomar

Wonderful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We got fantastic dining advice from the concierge. He said "if you need anything just ask me - I know it all" and he did.

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Aug 24, 2010

Hip little luxury spot

Nice check in. Fetched things quickly. Loved our room. Traveled with 17-year old daughter who also loved. Nice little bar in lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York Couple
Business
New York, NY
Aug 23, 2010

Beautiful, Modern, Luxurious

Superb location. Everything was top rate, modern, beautiful artwork and decor. New, fresh design. I highly recommend and would say there again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums, restaurants, histroical sites all within walking distance

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monkey Magic
Business
NYC
Aug 23, 2010

Lovely hotel in a great location

I like to stay in nice hotels and am lucky enough to have been to many. Palomar definitely meets expectations - great location, fantastic service and decent sized rooms with everything you'd need. What made it worth the extra for me were some nice touches that you don't find everywhere: 1 - being told at check in that you can put your own items into the minibar fridge 2 - availability of lots of useful items for sale and to borrow - like straightening irons, feminine products etc...more useful than the average shower cap! 3 - happy hour in the lobby at 5pm with free wine and popcorn 4. - great restaurant recommendation from our waitress in the bar - I would highly recommend Tinto, about 5 mins walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Tinto

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sayitstraight
Business
miami, fl
Aug 20, 2010

Unexpected Surprise!!!

Never heard of Kimpton properties before this stay but now will go out of our way to experience again here in Philly or their other locations. Service was excellent and hotel/room/bath very good. Easy walk to every main location for sightseeing. You won't be dissapointed!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Aug 20, 2010

Lovely hotel in the Center City

This hotel was truly centrally located in the center of everything in Philadelphia. The rooms though somewhat small are elegantly appointed. I was initially assigned to a room that had a strange odor (similar to when you turn on your furnace after a long hot summer). When I phoned the desk they immediately offered to switch my room. I didn't have to do a thing but get up and walk! A valet was sent to my room with a cart to move my personal things and escorted me to a new room--equally elegant appointed (no downgrade, no tricky stuff). He used a pass key to get me in the new location then returned minutes later with my new room key! The entire staff was professional, pleasant and so professional, I felt as if I were in an alternate universe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This location is surrounded by many retail stores from low to moderate to high priced shopping! I was able to walk to the corner to buy a cough remedy at a national chain drug store! I picked up a few gift items around the corner at a well know retail shop. A small mall is a short block away and a nice department store is just across the street!

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baltimore
Aug 14, 2010

unhappy with parking fees

i did not expect to be charged parking parking fees. the hotel rooms do not have coffee maker, no ice machine or microwave available so you have to give hotel staff your meal to warm it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

very quiet environment I was surprised especially in downtown area

Back to menu Return to top