$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 117 S 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
college drama
Business
N/A
Aug 13, 2015

Great business trip

Loved the hotel and was very comfortable. Wine and Sangria at 6:00 daily in the lobby for no charge. Don't make the mistake of drinking the bottled fred water from the room though as this is $5 per bottle. This is a bit of a disconnect, (big charge for water but none for wine?) but otherwise, great stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wilson9665
Couples
Baltimore, MD
Jan 2, 2014

In the middle of it all

great time for new years celebration. we were nearby everything we wanted to see. the hotel and staff are top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike from New York
Couples
Nyc
Feb 24, 2014

Great Spot for a Special Occassion

We only stayed one night as a special getaway visit to Philly. This hotel was great. If I was traveling for a more mundane visit, I'd probably opt for a more plain and less expensive hotel. On the other hand, spending a little more for a funky hotel with a free wine hour, truffle popcorn, yoga mats in the closet, and character, was totally appropriate for our trip. Also great location. Tons of bars and restaurants, along with shopping. Try Franklin Mortgage and Investment for cocktails in a speakeasy setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mia1238
Couples
Princeton, NJ
Apr 20, 2014

Holiday weekend

Really great value for a holiday weekend. Only complain would be the lobby was overly crowded upon checkin due to hotel giveaway free wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCanuck
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Great Boutique Hotel

Very nice design, the staff was most accommodating. The room was uncomfortable small - two people could not pass each other in the room. There is no spa so you have to have massages in your room but our room was too small to accommodate a table. Food was excellent and very good value. I would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant is excellent.

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhillyPhanz
Couples
New York City
Jan 17, 2012

Nice facility, small rooms

I enjoyed my stay at the Philadelphia Kimpton altho I was a little disappointed with the decor of the room, which counts for a lot at a 'design hotel.' The boutique styling was skin deep: perfectly standard, dreary wall covering with bright accent strips and an awkward layout that has the bathroom door positioned at the foot of the bed, thus unavoidably visible whenever you're in the room. The public spaces were attractive, however, and I love the wine and popcorn social hour in the lobby every evening. A nice place, but I'd spring for a better room next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peterdude
Couples
portland maine
Mar 26, 2012

Location Location Location

The hotel itself was great and the staff were helpful, available and friendly, and the rittenhouse square location was perfect...BUT it was about 20% more than I would expect to pay for a room of that caliber.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple in Philly
Couples
PA
Aug 13, 2012

Weekend Get-away

Great hotel! A bit pricey for not being over the top. Moved to a handi-capped room in exchange for a king upgrade which worked out well. Toilet not clean :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlotte Moore
Business
Santa Barbara
Aug 15, 2012

A great stay

Good: This hotel provided a comfortable atmosphere, great service that was consistent, and of course a good location. What stood out for me was the valet service. I had many business and social meetings to attend. So, on many occasions I needed to return and change my apparel. Thus, the valet was very accommodating with keeping my vehicle on stand by. Bad: There was one front desk gentlemen who's name I did not capture because I avoided him. He seemed to be on a managerial level and projects the tyranny energy one should not display so aggressively. Do not let this comment keep you from staying at this great hotel. I felt the need to post this so that this individual and/or this hotel chain will re-evaluate and check if "everyone" is on the same level to deliver happy and consistent customer service. Sincere Regard, CAG

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saucy Susan
Single
Harrison, NY
Jan 7, 2013

Location, Location, Location

The staff was extremely helpful in recommending restaurants, attraction sights and nightlife. Young staff and very courteous. Free internet if you join as a member. No fee. Would stay there again. Location is within walking distance to shopping and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the food at Il Pittore Restaurant. Recommended by hotel. Italian food

Back to menu Return to top