$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 19, 2014

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
117 S 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
118 reviews
Great Stay!

We had a great time at this hotel. It is a little pricey, but the service, room, and restaurant... See full review

  • Mallo Cup
  • Jun 2, 2014
Very happy with our stay!

We are a family of four and we stayed in a room with 2 queen beds. The room had ample space. The... See full review

  • nojunkfool
  • Apr 19, 2014

Built in the 1920s, Kimpton Palomar Hotel Philadelphia is a boutique hotel overflowing with quirky touches. The building is strikingly Art Deco, inside and out, with multicolored busts lining the lobby and modernist wall-art. Happy hours don’t come much more sophisticated than the hotel’s 'hosted wine hour,' where guests can refine their palates and make new friends. Dishes like truffle popcorn and beer-braised mussels at SQUARE 1682 are too unique not to be sampled. Make use of the in-room yoga mat for a private exercise routine, or take out one of the hotel's free bikes to get around town. You can always make time to chill on your bed later, with a massage and body treatment service that comes straight to you.

Key facts
  • 230 guestrooms and 17 suites
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Fitness center
  • Restaurant: SQUARE 1682
  • Yoga mats in all rooms
  • Full-service concierge
  • In-room spa service
  • Bicycles available for guests
  • 24-hour room service
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Just north of Rittenhouse Square in the Center City area of Philadelphia, the Kimpton Palomar puts you in the middle of top-notch eateries like Parc, and shopping from Armani to H&M, with a short walk to the Pennsylvania Conference Center for business guests. Browse the contemporary exhibits at the Philadelphia Museum of Art (just over a mile away) or take a wander around the Gothic splendor of City Hall, a few blocks to the northeast.

Hints and tips

Those not in an early rush can enjoy the complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby throughout the morning.

Staying with a pet? Each furry friend receives free amenities, like their own bowl and bed, with special maps for walking trails in the area - ask for recommendations from the staff.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 235-285 Sq. Ft. Etro Bath Amenities.
Presidential Suite with 1 King B
Presidential Suite with 1 King Bed 1175 Sq. Ft. with separate living room.
Accessible King Deluxe Room w Ro
Accessible King Deluxe Room w Roll In 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Accessible Cityvw King Roll In
Accessible Cityview King w Roll In shower 2 peep holes lowered closet rack
Accessible Cityview King Room
Accessible Cityview King Deluxe Room 2 peep holes lowered closet rack rails in shower.
Accessible 2 Queen Dlx Roll In
Accessible 2 Queen Deluxe Room w Roll In 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Ro
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 peep holes and rails in shower.
Accessible Spa King Room with 1
Accessible Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Cityview Queen Room with 1 Bed
Cityview Queen Room with 1 Bed 260 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Bath Amenities.
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 300 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Bath Amenities.
Cityview King Deluxe Room with 1
Cityview King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 300 Sq. Ft., Etro Bath Amenities
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 queen beds. 300-325 Sq. Ft, Etro amenities
Cityview Queen Queen Room
Cityview Queen Queen Room with 2 Beds 300-325 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Amenities.
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 385 Sq. Ft Fuji soak tub and shower
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite, separate living room, Fuji tub, 430 Sq. Ft.
Parlor Room
Parlor Room, 625 Sq. Ft. connecting to Presidential Suite. Booked on property

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9508 -75.1689
Nearby airports
Northeast Philadelphia Airport, (PNE), 17.40, MI, NE; Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

Square 1682
Square 1682 - Modern American Kitchen and Cocktails - is located in the heart of Center City Philadelphia and just steps from Rittenhouse Square. The corner restaurant and popular bar was recently voted USA Today*s Best Hotel Bar and it is where Executive

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Phiily Harry
Philadelphia
Nov 4, 2012

A Fanastic Hotel to Stay for Business or Vacation

This hotel and their staff made sure my stay and needs were met far beyond my expections!! It was perfect in every way!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

You never have to leave this hotel to have a perfect get a way experience.

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bad Penny
Solvang California
Oct 19, 2012

A Special time with Family'''''Lovely

The time of our lives.....I would love to come back next year to realy check out the vibe of your beautiful Philly,,,My sons wedding was even more special with your x pert staff and special attention to detail. Thank You Ariella Barshay.....And the door man....And the Restaurant. If 6 Stars was in order I would say 6

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B. Spears
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Oct 10, 2012

Top Notch

This was my first stay in Philly and the Palomar certainly did not disappoint. Love the interior and design. After staying at a Kimpton the night before in New York City, I was impressed with how much nicer this hotel was. Don't forget to hit up the lobby for wine around 5-6 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Kimpton is within walking distance of every popular downtown destination.

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aprod
Business
Boston
Sep 20, 2012

Great location great hotel

we had a great time here. the roomservice was slow but really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zandra the great
wi
Aug 17, 2012

getaway

came into town for a couple night get away, the location is honestly great. Anything you ask the staff the will find out but they didnt seem anymore freindly than the average hotel. The room was decent I would say that the cityview room was worth the extracharge. I can say that the lower level of the hotel had a nice looking bar tho we didnt get a chance to visit. Overall a great location, nice, clean bathrrom, but i would never pay over two hundred for this hotel. even that is pushing it. If i cam back to philly i would definatly check out other hotels.. this ones a tad pricey for what you actually get. not a 4.5 rating at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

bistro ramano is a great italian resturant! pay the fifteen bucks for the celler room for two! Was definatly highlight of our trip but make a reservation. Also if you are going on a red bus tour when they tell you the price say oh that is too much for us and they will lower the price :)

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlotte Moore
Business
Santa Barbara
Aug 15, 2012

A great stay

Good: This hotel provided a comfortable atmosphere, great service that was consistent, and of course a good location. What stood out for me was the valet service. I had many business and social meetings to attend. So, on many occasions I needed to return and change my apparel. Thus, the valet was very accommodating with keeping my vehicle on stand by. Bad: There was one front desk gentlemen who's name I did not capture because I avoided him. He seemed to be on a managerial level and projects the tyranny energy one should not display so aggressively. Do not let this comment keep you from staying at this great hotel. I felt the need to post this so that this individual and/or this hotel chain will re-evaluate and check if "everyone" is on the same level to deliver happy and consistent customer service. Sincere Regard, CAG

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manuel Pineiro
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Aug 14, 2012

Great Hotel

I knew the hotel was good, but it was more than I expected. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was great. I highy recommend this hotel. I have never stayed at a Kimpton now I will look for one in other cities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple in Philly
PA
Aug 13, 2012

Weekend Get-away

Great hotel! A bit pricey for not being over the top. Moved to a handi-capped room in exchange for a king upgrade which worked out well. Toilet not clean :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peterdude
portland maine
Mar 26, 2012

Location Location Location

The hotel itself was great and the staff were helpful, available and friendly, and the rittenhouse square location was perfect...BUT it was about 20% more than I would expect to pay for a room of that caliber.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AK123
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 25, 2012

Palomar

This hotel was really nice. Formerly an architect's building, it has real style. The lobby, the elevators, and the room especially. I got an upgrade for free and found the room to be just comfortable yet snazzy. In the mornings, a complimentary coffee and cannolli breakfast. Would have been nice to have some fruit as a non-decadent option, but oh well. Also, a free wine tasting in the evenings. Staff was very pleasant. I would definitely go back and will look for Kimpton hotels in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drl8
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Best Hotel in Philadelphia

Outstanding service, clean and fresh energy throughout hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top