$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 117 S 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Phiily Harry
Single
Philadelphia
Nov 4, 2012

A Fanastic Hotel to Stay for Business or Vacation

This hotel and their staff made sure my stay and needs were met far beyond my expections!! It was perfect in every way!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

You never have to leave this hotel to have a perfect get a way experience.

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SMR76
Couples
Wilmington, DE
Dec 1, 2014

Nice Stay

This was a nice day for the value. The room is nice however, a bit small. The staff was friendly and this is certainly a good location. We would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Rittenhouse Square, where there are lots of great restaurants.

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rockbtm956
Couples
Allentown, PA
Nov 29, 2014

Perfect place for a getaway

Was only in town 1 night to celebrate my wife's birthday, and must say, hands down, best hotel experience I have come across. We were able to bring our dog, which saved us the hassle of boarding him somewhere. Hotel staff was super accommodating, and even helped us with an odd request. Do be warned be ready to tack on an additional $45 for parking a night if you valet your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikey S P
Family
Jupiter, FL
Nov 25, 2014

Philadelphia Eagles weekend

Had a great time. It was a busy week in Philadelphia and the staff were on their game and very responsive. The bar was very nice with quality ingredients and friendly staff. The service was as good as I've come to expect from Kimpton. Visiting during a less busy time might have made the experience a little greater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not a PALOMAR kinda guest
Business
District of Columbia
Nov 21, 2014

Palomar .... YIKES!!!!

Was traveling with someone who had stayed at this hotel. I'd always heard it was friendly, very clean, the food - outstanding and service very professional. Upon arrival waited 20 minutes at the registration desk as there was only 2 people available. One person stayed on the phone the entire time and did not acknowledge anyone. Once we arrived in the room we ordered room service at 7:15 p.m. and checked on the order 45 minutes later. We were told, "No one could find the order and had no idea what we ordered." Then proceeded to repeat our order to us assuring us it would be up to us in another 30 minutes. We did not order anything complicated - sliders with sweet potato fries, short ribs with 2 desserts and 2 beverages. When it finally arrived they had sent up cutlery service for 1 person although the order was for two. We waited patiently. Ordered a movie and the movie had almost ended before our order arrived. The order did not arrive until 10:15. Arrived with two small pups and found the room too tight. It felt claustrophobic and was not clean. The toilet had leftovers. Dusty and was not refreshed before assignment despite the hotel was not at 90% occupancy. YIKES!!! Will stay away from this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go somewhere else to eat. The food was not delicious, warm or served attractively.

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack Travel Pro
Couples
Chevy Chase MD
Nov 18, 2014

Just Perfect

Everything was a 5 out of 5. The hotel is located just where you want to be for restaurants, shopping and relaxing on a bench in Rittenhouse Square. Hotel staff was superior!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drmarkflies
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Sep 24, 2014

Something special

I'm now a Kimpton regular. I love these hotels. They are just more fun, eclectic and funky. Even though I don't travel with my dog, I love dog friendly hotels like Kimptons. It takes away the mundane stuffiness of big hotels. People who work in Kimpton hotels seem to be having fun, and it translates to their elevated courtesy and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HoneybeePWC
Friends
Dallas, TX
Sep 14, 2014

Excellent service and genuine staff

From housekeeping to dining, the staff is very attentive. Keisha in dining was awesome. She made recommendations to me and each was a hit! The front desk and doormen were fun, energetic and very helpful with directions and general assistance. Gym is well equipped but a hotel in center city at this price should have a pool and hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole in Brooklyn
Single
Brooklyn
Sep 13, 2014

Lovely stay in the perfect location

The experience started off well when I arrived early and asked if it was possible to check in sooner than 3pm. The lady at the desk was very pleasant and helpful. She explained that I could check my bag and they would call me as soon as the room was ready. I received the call shortly after noon. The room and bathroom were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The coffee they offer in the lobby was delicious. I am vaguely familiar with Philadelphia but quickly realized this hotel was in the perfect spot for me. It was walking distance to the museums, restaurants and shops that I wanted to explore. I look forward to a return visit soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Federal Donuts around the corner is a real treat.

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Take me away Calgon
Friends
Vineland, NJ
Aug 17, 2014

Perfectly located

For a quick getaway, we love Philadelphia and always have ended up predominantly in the Rittenhouse area, although we certainly can walk to Olde City or the Italian Market with no problem. The Palomar is a great choice for a hotel. The rooms aren't spacious, but they are well appointed and certainly comfortable. The rate we paid for this caliber of hotel for this particular night coukdn, be neat. The only thing that could have been better was the ability to check into our room earlier; they were running behind, but with our follow up, we were in by 3:30. Would certainly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teacher Laura
Friends
Ashburn, VA
Aug 12, 2014

Great stay!

The hotel was beautiful and clean and the staff was so friendly! Beds were amazingly comfortable. The only problem was that we didn't want to pay $45 for the hotel to park our car and then we got a $76 ticket being parked out front because the sign was too confusing. Should have just paid the valet to park it. Oh well. Otherwise, wonderful stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great clubs with lots of dancing!

Back to menu Return to top