$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
117 S 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
85 reviews
Just Perfect

Everything was a 5 out of 5. The hotel is located just where you want to be for restaurants,... See full review

  • Jack Travel Pro
  • Nov 18, 2014
Something special

I'm now a Kimpton regular. I love these hotels. They are just more fun, eclectic and funky. Even... See full review

  • drmarkflies
  • Sep 24, 2014

Built in the 1920s, Kimpton Palomar Hotel Philadelphia is a boutique hotel overflowing with quirky touches. The building is strikingly Art Deco, inside and out, with multicolored busts lining the lobby and modernist wall-art. Happy hours don’t come much more sophisticated than the hotel’s 'hosted wine hour,' where guests can refine their palates and make new friends. Dishes like truffle popcorn and beer-braised mussels at SQUARE 1682 are too unique not to be sampled. Make use of the in-room yoga mat for a private exercise routine, or take out one of the hotel's free bikes to get around town. You can always make time to chill on your bed later, with a massage and body treatment service that comes straight to you.

Key facts
  • 230 guestrooms and 17 suites
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Fitness center
  • Restaurant: SQUARE 1682
  • Yoga mats in all rooms
  • Full-service concierge
  • In-room spa service
  • Bicycles available for guests
  • 24-hour room service
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Just north of Rittenhouse Square in the Center City area of Philadelphia, the Kimpton Palomar puts you in the middle of top-notch eateries like Parc, and shopping from Armani to H&M, with a short walk to the Pennsylvania Conference Center for business guests. Browse the contemporary exhibits at the Philadelphia Museum of Art (just over a mile away) or take a wander around the Gothic splendor of City Hall, a few blocks to the northeast.

Hints and tips

Those not in an early rush can enjoy the complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby throughout the morning.

Staying with a pet? Each furry friend receives free amenities, like their own bowl and bed, with special maps for walking trails in the area - ask for recommendations from the staff.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 235-285 Sq. Ft. spa-inspired bath amenities..
Presidential Suite with 1 King B
Presidential Suite with 1 King Bed 1175 Sq. Ft. with separate living room.
Accessible King Deluxe Room w Ro
Accessible King Deluxe Room w Roll In 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Accessible Cityvw King Roll In
Accessible Cityview King w Roll In shower 2 peep holes lowered closet rack
Accessible Cityview King Room
Accessible Cityview King Deluxe Room 2 peep holes lowered closet rack rails in shower.
Accessible 2 Queen Dlx Roll In
Accessible 2 Queen Deluxe Room w Roll In 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Ro
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 peep holes and rails in shower.
Accessible Spa King Room with 1
Accessible Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Cityview Queen Room with 1 Bed
Cityview Queen Room with 1 Bed 260 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Bath Amenities.
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 300 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Bath Amenities.
Cityview King Deluxe Room with 1
Cityview King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 300 Sq. Ft., Etro Bath Amenities
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 queen beds. 300-325 Sq. Ft, Etro amenities
Cityview Queen Queen Room
Cityview Queen Queen Room with 2 Beds 300-325 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Amenities.
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 385 Sq. Ft Fuji soak tub and shower
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite, separate living room, Fuji tub, 430 Sq. Ft.
Parlor Room
Parlor Room, 625 Sq. Ft. connecting to Presidential Suite. Booked on property

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

Square 1682
Square 1682 - Modern American Kitchen and Cocktails - is located in the heart of Center City Philadelphia and just steps from Rittenhouse Square. The corner restaurant and popular bar was recently voted USA Today*s Best Hotel Bar and it is where Executive

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nathan C F.
Washington DC
Mar 25, 2013

Phila-Palomar

The staff was exceptional. Every request we made was accomodated within 5 minutes it seemed. Also super friendly at the check-in counter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikey S P
Business
Jupiter, FL
Nov 25, 2014

Philadelphia Eagles weekend

Had a great time. It was a busy week in Philadelphia and the staff were on their game and very responsive. The bar was very nice with quality ingredients and friendly staff. The service was as good as I've come to expect from Kimpton. Visiting during a less busy time might have made the experience a little greater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not a PALOMAR kinda guest
Business
District of Columbia
Nov 21, 2014

Palomar .... YIKES!!!!

Was traveling with someone who had stayed at this hotel. I'd always heard it was friendly, very clean, the food - outstanding and service very professional. Upon arrival waited 20 minutes at the registration desk as there was only 2 people available. One person stayed on the phone the entire time and did not acknowledge anyone. Once we arrived in the room we ordered room service at 7:15 p.m. and checked on the order 45 minutes later. We were told, "No one could find the order and had no idea what we ordered." Then proceeded to repeat our order to us assuring us it would be up to us in another 30 minutes. We did not order anything complicated - sliders with sweet potato fries, short ribs with 2 desserts and 2 beverages. When it finally arrived they had sent up cutlery service for 1 person although the order was for two. We waited patiently. Ordered a movie and the movie had almost ended before our order arrived. The order did not arrive until 10:15. Arrived with two small pups and found the room too tight. It felt claustrophobic and was not clean. The toilet had leftovers. Dusty and was not refreshed before assignment despite the hotel was not at 90% occupancy. YIKES!!! Will stay away from this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go somewhere else to eat. The food was not delicious, warm or served attractively.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack Travel Pro
Business
Chevy Chase MD
Nov 18, 2014

Just Perfect

Everything was a 5 out of 5. The hotel is located just where you want to be for restaurants, shopping and relaxing on a bench in Rittenhouse Square. Hotel staff was superior!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drmarkflies
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Sep 24, 2014

Something special

I'm now a Kimpton regular. I love these hotels. They are just more fun, eclectic and funky. Even though I don't travel with my dog, I love dog friendly hotels like Kimptons. It takes away the mundane stuffiness of big hotels. People who work in Kimpton hotels seem to be having fun, and it translates to their elevated courtesy and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole in Brooklyn
Business
Brooklyn
Sep 13, 2014

Lovely stay in the perfect location

The experience started off well when I arrived early and asked if it was possible to check in sooner than 3pm. The lady at the desk was very pleasant and helpful. She explained that I could check my bag and they would call me as soon as the room was ready. I received the call shortly after noon. The room and bathroom were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The coffee they offer in the lobby was delicious. I am vaguely familiar with Philadelphia but quickly realized this hotel was in the perfect spot for me. It was walking distance to the museums, restaurants and shops that I wanted to explore. I look forward to a return visit soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Federal Donuts around the corner is a real treat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Take me away Calgon
Business
Vineland, NJ
Aug 17, 2014

Perfectly located

For a quick getaway, we love Philadelphia and always have ended up predominantly in the Rittenhouse area, although we certainly can walk to Olde City or the Italian Market with no problem. The Palomar is a great choice for a hotel. The rooms aren't spacious, but they are well appointed and certainly comfortable. The rate we paid for this caliber of hotel for this particular night coukdn, be neat. The only thing that could have been better was the ability to check into our room earlier; they were running behind, but with our follow up, we were in by 3:30. Would certainly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teacher Laura
Business
Ashburn, VA
Aug 12, 2014

Great stay!

The hotel was beautiful and clean and the staff was so friendly! Beds were amazingly comfortable. The only problem was that we didn't want to pay $45 for the hotel to park our car and then we got a $76 ticket being parked out front because the sign was too confusing. Should have just paid the valet to park it. Oh well. Otherwise, wonderful stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great clubs with lots of dancing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
One Night Vacation
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 7, 2014

Good Tuesday Experience at Palomar

Very smooth and comfortable stay at this Kimpton hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Vez

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mallo Cup
Business
PA
Jun 2, 2014

Great Stay!

We had a great time at this hotel. It is a little pricey, but the service, room, and restaurant make it worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mia1238
Business
Princeton, NJ
Apr 20, 2014

Holiday weekend

Really great value for a holiday weekend. Only complain would be the lobby was overly crowded upon checkin due to hotel giveaway free wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top