$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
117 S 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
81 reviews
Great stay!

The hotel was beautiful and clean and the staff was so friendly! Beds were amazingly comfortable.... See full review

  • Teacher Laura
  • Aug 12, 2014
Good Tuesday Experience at Palomar

Very smooth and comfortable stay at this Kimpton hotel. See full review

  • One Night Vacation
  • Aug 7, 2014

Built in the 1920s, Kimpton Palomar Hotel Philadelphia is a boutique hotel overflowing with quirky touches. The building is strikingly Art Deco, inside and out, with multicolored busts lining the lobby and modernist wall-art. Happy hours don’t come much more sophisticated than the hotel’s 'hosted wine hour,' where guests can refine their palates and make new friends. Dishes like truffle popcorn and beer-braised mussels at SQUARE 1682 are too unique not to be sampled. Make use of the in-room yoga mat for a private exercise routine, or take out one of the hotel's free bikes to get around town. You can always make time to chill on your bed later, with a massage and body treatment service that comes straight to you.

Key facts
  • 230 guestrooms and 17 suites
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Fitness center
  • Restaurant: SQUARE 1682
  • Yoga mats in all rooms
  • Full-service concierge
  • In-room spa service
  • Bicycles available for guests
  • 24-hour room service
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Just north of Rittenhouse Square in the Center City area of Philadelphia, the Kimpton Palomar puts you in the middle of top-notch eateries like Parc, and shopping from Armani to H&M, with a short walk to the Pennsylvania Conference Center for business guests. Browse the contemporary exhibits at the Philadelphia Museum of Art (just over a mile away) or take a wander around the Gothic splendor of City Hall, a few blocks to the northeast.

Hints and tips

Those not in an early rush can enjoy the complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby throughout the morning.

Staying with a pet? Each furry friend receives free amenities, like their own bowl and bed, with special maps for walking trails in the area - ask for recommendations from the staff.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9508 -75.1689
Nearby airports
Northeast Philadelphia Airport, (PNE), 17.40, MI, NE; Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 235-285 Sq. Ft. Etro Bath Amenities.
Presidential Suite with 1 King B
Presidential Suite with 1 King Bed 1175 Sq. Ft. with separate living room.
Accessible King Deluxe Room w Ro
Accessible King Deluxe Room w Roll In 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Accessible Cityvw King Roll In
Accessible Cityview King w Roll In shower 2 peep holes lowered closet rack
Accessible Cityview King Room
Accessible Cityview King Deluxe Room 2 peep holes lowered closet rack rails in shower.
Accessible 2 Queen Dlx Roll In
Accessible 2 Queen Deluxe Room w Roll In 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Ro
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 peep holes and rails in shower.
Accessible Spa King Room with 1
Accessible Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 2 peep holes rails in shower and by toilet.
Cityview Queen Room with 1 Bed
Cityview Queen Room with 1 Bed 260 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Bath Amenities.
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 300 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Bath Amenities.
Cityview King Deluxe Room with 1
Cityview King Deluxe Room with 1 Bed 300 Sq. Ft., Etro Bath Amenities
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 queen beds. 300-325 Sq. Ft, Etro amenities
Cityview Queen Queen Room
Cityview Queen Queen Room with 2 Beds 300-325 Sq. Ft. Etro Spa Inspired Amenities.
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed
Spa King Room with 1 King Bed 385 Sq. Ft Fuji soak tub and shower
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite, separate living room, Fuji tub, 430 Sq. Ft.
Parlor Room
Parlor Room, 625 Sq. Ft. connecting to Presidential Suite. Booked on property

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

Square 1682
Square 1682 - Modern American Kitchen and Cocktails - is located in the heart of Center City Philadelphia and just steps from Rittenhouse Square. The corner restaurant and popular bar was recently voted USA Today*s Best Hotel Bar and it is where Executive

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nathan C F.
Washington DC
Mar 25, 2013

Phila-Palomar

The staff was exceptional. Every request we made was accomodated within 5 minutes it seemed. Also super friendly at the check-in counter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Take me away Calgon
Vineland, NJ
Aug 17, 2014

Perfectly located

For a quick getaway, we love Philadelphia and always have ended up predominantly in the Rittenhouse area, although we certainly can walk to Olde City or the Italian Market with no problem. The Palomar is a great choice for a hotel. The rooms aren't spacious, but they are well appointed and certainly comfortable. The rate we paid for this caliber of hotel for this particular night coukdn, be neat. The only thing that could have been better was the ability to check into our room earlier; they were running behind, but with our follow up, we were in by 3:30. Would certainly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teacher Laura
Ashburn, VA
Aug 12, 2014

Great stay!

The hotel was beautiful and clean and the staff was so friendly! Beds were amazingly comfortable. The only problem was that we didn't want to pay $45 for the hotel to park our car and then we got a $76 ticket being parked out front because the sign was too confusing. Should have just paid the valet to park it. Oh well. Otherwise, wonderful stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great clubs with lots of dancing!

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
One Night Vacation
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 7, 2014

Good Tuesday Experience at Palomar

Very smooth and comfortable stay at this Kimpton hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Vez

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bermuda Visitor
Bermuda
Jul 8, 2014

Great Experience

The Door staff were amazing, really friendly and accommodating at every interaction. The check in process was a little lame; no real welcome or offer of information we had to ask. The room was beautiful, very nice furniture and accessories. We had a spa tub which was awesome! Much needed after standing all day sightseeing and then at a concert. The late night room service has a poor selection of menu choices. However the services was great. The breakfast room service was great although I had an omlete with goat cheese which was just too much it was huge and there was so much goats cheese it was a bit f a turn off. But once again great service. Seems silly to pay for WIFI when paying $300 per night. If I am to visit Philadelphia agian without a doubt I would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get Pizza delivered in don't have the late night room service. The doorman reccommended somewhere it was quick and good for late night food.

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mallo Cup
PA
Jun 2, 2014

Great Stay!

We had a great time at this hotel. It is a little pricey, but the service, room, and restaurant make it worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mia1238
Princeton, NJ
Apr 20, 2014

Holiday weekend

Really great value for a holiday weekend. Only complain would be the lobby was overly crowded upon checkin due to hotel giveaway free wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nojunkfool
New York
Apr 19, 2014

Very happy with our stay!

We are a family of four and we stayed in a room with 2 queen beds. The room had ample space. The hotel staff was very pleasant and the free wine and popcorn in the lobby every day from 5-6pm is a nice touch. I will definitely look to stay in a Kimpton property wherever I go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Join the Kimpton Club and get free stuff!

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelMe
Chicago, IL
Apr 5, 2014

Friendliest Place in Philly

Always love staying at the Palomar. They go out of their way to remember me, and the place is quite comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit R2L for a great view of Philly.

Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike from New York
Nyc
Feb 24, 2014

Great Spot for a Special Occassion

We only stayed one night as a special getaway visit to Philly. This hotel was great. If I was traveling for a more mundane visit, I'd probably opt for a more plain and less expensive hotel. On the other hand, spending a little more for a funky hotel with a free wine hour, truffle popcorn, yoga mats in the closet, and character, was totally appropriate for our trip. Also great location. Tons of bars and restaurants, along with shopping. Try Franklin Mortgage and Investment for cocktails in a speakeasy setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Motd
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 18, 2014

Perfect Philly Hotel

The staff at the Palomar are the most welcoming. We spent a 3 day weekend there and it felt like a private retreat. The afternoon wine and cider happy hour was fun. Got to mingle with fellow guests, enjoy being out of the cold like a winter's lodge. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable. Not incredibly spacious, but bigger than others in major cities. Many of our weekend destinations were in walking distance; museums, restaurants, shops and Reading Market. I would definitely return to the Palomar when visiting Philly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Reading Market early. Great tours on Saturday morning.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search