$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Omni Hotel At Independence Park

4 stars
401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
147 reviews
beautiful room, great location

Perfect room, perfect location, great service. The gym is small. We had a beautiful stay See full review

  • MarioVans
  • Aug 17, 2014
One Night stop over

We arrived late and staff were fantastic. Hotel was easy to find and the location was great for... See full review

  • Lorc
  • Jun 23, 2014

 The Omni Group's flagship downtown Philly branch, the Omni Hotel Independence Park Hotel Philadelphia reflects its Society Hill location along with rich history in its plush, old-European decor, grand piano and sparkling chandeliers. The dusky drapes and cozy booths of the Azalea Restaurant compliment the mansion-house feel, and the regional US cuisine ranges from lobster bisque to veal chop. Take an after-dinner dip in the Jacuzzi, or check in for a well-earned massage at the Balance Spa after a long day of historical sight-seeing. If you're on a health-kick, the special Get Fit rooms come with private equipment, and guests can sample the Ideal Living options for more balanced dishes on the hotel's menu.

Key facts
  • 150 guestrooms
  • Non-smoking building
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
  • Fitness center and spa
  • Business services
  • 3,500-square-feet of meeting space
  • Children's program
  • Dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Swimming pool, sauna and hot tub
  • Pet-friendly rooms on lower floor
Neighborhood
Rookie historians cannot get any closer to Independence National Historic Park than staying at the Omni Independence Park. Set across the street from Independence Hall and the First Bank of the US, this Society Hill area is best experienced on foot. A ten-minute walk will take you to the Liberty Bell, while the Benjamin Franklin Museum enchants the young and old with artifacts, displays, and animations that introduce visitors to the rebellious man behind the diplomatic mask. 5th street SEPTA station is on the other side of the park, for those seeking access to the Center City West district.
Hints and tips

Bringing the kids with you? They'll get backpacks bursting with activities on arrival, and parents will be happy with the game and toy loans, as well as suggested family itineraries from the hotel staff.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni Hotel At Independence Park also booked these hotels.

Omni Hotel At Independence Park Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room 1 King bed. Approx. 450 square feet. A blend of sophistication and classic charm. Features plush duvet cover plus in-room desk and desk chair.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room 2 Queen Beds. Approx. 450 square feet. A blend of sophistication and classic charm. Features plush duvet cover plus in-room desk and desk chair.
Deluxe Room 1 King and Sofa Bed
1 King Bed and Sofa Bed. Approx. 450 square feet. A blend of sophistication and classic charm. Features plush duvet cover plus in-room desk and desk chair.

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Sauna
Night club
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Kennels
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715 mi

Dining

Azaleas
Azalea Restaurant offers fine dining overlooking picturesque Independence Park. Our accomplished chefs have created an inspiring menu of eclectic cuisine with the emphasis on regional American specialties. Open Mon-Thur 0630-2300 hours. Open Sat-Sun 0700-2300 hours.
Lobby Lounge
Located on hotel property. Open Mon-Thur 1400-2300 hours. Open Fri 1400-0200 hours. Open Sat 1200-0200 hours and Sun 1200-2300 hours. The Lobby Lounge serves light fare and a full dinner menu until 2300 hours each night. Lunch is served on Saturday and Sunday only and Happy Hour Sunday thru Friday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 147
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tofro
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 28, 2014

wonderful location

We went for the usual tourist sites and found this to be the perfect hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Face6928
Business
York, PA
Jun 1, 2014

Nice Family Scenery

The View Was Amazing. Very Historic & Welcoming. Staff was amazing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
esl537
Business
Maryland, USA
May 28, 2014

Perfect place to stay for touring Philadelphia's historic landmarks

The main purpose of our visit to Philadelphia was to introduce the kids to part of our country's historic beginnings. In terms of being located right in the center of all this history, the Omni cannot be beat. It is located a block away from Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell as well as the Benjamin Franklin Museum. With a 7 and 4 year old, it was no problem to walk to all of these places. As for the hotel itself- I thought our room was very clean and comfortable. My only gripe about the room was that it did not have a mini-fridge. As a general note, compared to where I come from, the food portions in Philadelphia are HUGE and so we had leftovers from all of our restaurant meals. This is why it would have been nice to have a mini-fridge. I thought the hotel staff was helpful, though not completely knowledgeable. When asked for a restaurant suggestion, the concierge made a great Italian suggestion. But when I asked the front desk (b/c concierge was not available at 8am) about getting tickets for Independence Hall, the woman did not quite know what she was talking about. One thing that any prospective customer should be aware of is that breakfast is not included with the room charge and room service is exceptionally expensive ($16 for an omelet?!). What we ended up doing was going to the Ben and Betsy's right next door to grab some morning pastries. It turns out that there was a diner nearby as well- maybe next time. On the other hand, the hotel is very kid friendly and provided free kid's activity packs upon check-in. Also, they served up free milk and cookies for the kids before bedtime- a perfect after dinner snack. Get them before 10pm each night! Lastly, the valet parking is $37/day, but has unlimited in/out privileges. Just allow 30 minutes for retrieval of your car. While expensive, I felt that there was good value b/c of the unlimited in/out and the fact that they let us keep the car with the valet the whole day AFTER we checked-out in the morning. I would have had to have paid for parking in the city if they hadn't allowed this so I was fine with it. Overall, I think it was an excellent stay and I would definitely rebook with the Omni if I was touring the historic district again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Omni is right in the center of the historic district and Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Benjamin Franklin Court/Museum are all 1 block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChloeCo72
Business
South Jersey
Apr 23, 2014

Perfect location- lovely hotel

Just spent two days with my children, ages 6 & 12, over their school break. We live nearby in NJ but wanted to stay over for convenience. The location, across from Independence Park, is perfect if you want to walk to the historic sights. The room was spacious and comfortable. The pool and jacuzzi were great- though they seemed to be having a little trouble with the jacuzzi temperature. Room service breakfast was pricey but very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. I appreciated the little, kid friendly touches- like the nighttime cookies & milk. The front desk staff forgot to give my daughter her activity bag at check in but it was no problem for me to go get it a bit later. The only thing I think I'd like them to add is on demand movies in the rooms - fun to relax with after a long walking day. I'll definitely be back to try the spa services sometime. All in all, a lovely place with an excellent location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One of my Philly faves, Buddakan, is only steps away. Their bento lunch is very reasonable $15. The dim sum donuts dessert is amazing- hope they never stop serving it. Check the local historic Phila free paper for but one get one entree coupon for City Tavern. Great deal and the kids loved the authentic colonial food & wait staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ssssage
Business
Virginia
Mar 16, 2014

Great stay

It is an absolutely awesome stay in Omni with only one block away from the Independence Hall and Historical sites. It is also really quiet during the night so you can have very good rest! Anyway, absolutely great stay at Omni!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss TT
Business
NJ
Feb 20, 2014

Perfect for President's Day

Awesome location for walking to historic sights and museums. Staff was super nice and kids loved the cookies and milk and the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss TT
Business
NJ
Feb 20, 2014

President's Weekend Party

Perfect location to walk to historic sights! Hotel staff were super nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clmajor
Business
PA
Dec 10, 2013

Great Location

Booked this hotel due to having a sister in the intensive care unit at the Children's Hospital. Was a little dissapointed that the hotel doesn't offfer discounts for families with children in the hospital. The hotel is in a perfect location, very safe to walk the streets. We walked down the street to Zento, a Japanese restuarant that I highly recommend. The hotel its self was really nice and clean. Upon entering our room, there was trash on the night stand and a half empty water bottle in the bathroom. The shower was also very hot or very cold, literally no in between. Didn't call down and complain bc we aren't too picky and we had bigger problems to deal with than a hotel. Overall would definitely stay here again, especially considering the area. Should really think about giving discounts to families with children in the hospital! Happy with our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hooyorkcity
Business
NY, NY
Dec 2, 2013

Best stay in Philly thanks to the Omni

Great price, great location near all the historic sites, very safe area thanks to location near Liberty Bell teeming with great bars and restaurants. Staff was incredible, friendly, never got the sense they had to have a tip for going out of their way. Couldn't recommend enough. Also, great for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Drop the car off as Philly is very walkable, and use some of the parking garages within a couple blocks walk to save additional money on parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kacry trip
Business
Stamford Ct
Nov 30, 2013

Great Family Get Away

Wonderful service and accommodations. A lovely room with two queen beds. The room was generous enough in size to comfortably accommodate three people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Omni has a fantastic Thanksgiving buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top