$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Omni Hotel At Independence Park

4 stars
401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
184 reviews
One Night stop over

We arrived late and staff were fantastic. Hotel was easy to find and the location was great for... See full review

  • Lorc
  • Jun 23, 2014
Perfect place to stay for touring Philadelphia's historic landmarks

The main purpose of our visit to Philadelphia was to introduce the kids to part of our country's... See full review

  • esl537
  • May 28, 2014

 The Omni Group's flagship downtown Philly branch, the Omni Hotel Independence Park Hotel Philadelphia reflects its Society Hill location along with rich history in its plush, old-European decor, grand piano and sparkling chandeliers. The dusky drapes and cozy booths of the Azalea Restaurant compliment the mansion-house feel, and the regional US cuisine ranges from lobster bisque to veal chop. Take an after-dinner dip in the Jacuzzi, or check in for a well-earned massage at the Balance Spa after a long day of historical sight-seeing. If you're on a health-kick, the special Get Fit rooms come with private equipment, and guests can sample the Ideal Living options for more balanced dishes on the hotel's menu.

Key facts
  • 150 guestrooms
  • Non-smoking building
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
  • Fitness center and spa
  • Business services
  • 3,500-square-feet of meeting space
  • Children's program
  • Dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Swimming pool, sauna and hot tub
  • Pet-friendly rooms on lower floor
Neighborhood
Rookie historians cannot get any closer to Independence National Historic Park than staying at the Omni Independence Park. Set across the street from Independence Hall and the First Bank of the US, this Society Hill area is best experienced on foot. A ten-minute walk will take you to the Liberty Bell, while the Benjamin Franklin Museum enchants the young and old with artifacts, displays, and animations that introduce visitors to the rebellious man behind the diplomatic mask. 5th street SEPTA station is on the other side of the park, for those seeking access to the Center City West district.
Hints and tips

Bringing the kids with you? They'll get backpacks bursting with activities on arrival, and parents will be happy with the game and toy loans, as well as suggested family itineraries from the hotel staff.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Omni Hotel At Independence Park Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room 1 King bed. Approx. 450 square feet. A blend of sophistication and classic charm. Features plush duvet cover plus in-room desk and desk chair.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room 2 Queen Beds. Approx. 450 square feet. A blend of sophistication and classic charm. Features plush duvet cover plus in-room desk and desk chair.
Deluxe Room 1 King and Sofa Bed
1 King Bed and Sofa Bed. Approx. 450 square feet. A blend of sophistication and classic charm. Features plush duvet cover plus in-room desk and desk chair.

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Sauna
Night club
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber shop
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni Hotel At Independence Park also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

39.9489 -75.1476
Area served
Chinatown, City Center
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 12.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715 mi

Dining

Azaleas
Azalea Restaurant offers fine dining overlooking picturesque Independence Park. Our accomplished chefs have created an inspiring menu of eclectic cuisine with the emphasis on regional American specialties. Open Mon-Thur 0630-2300 hours. Open Sat-Sun 0700-2300 hours.
Lobby Lounge
Located on hotel property. Open Mon-Thur 1400-2300 hours. Open Fri 1400-0200 hours. Open Sat 1200-0200 hours and Sun 1200-2300 hours. The Lobby Lounge serves light fare and a full dinner menu until 2300 hours each night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (184)

Ratings and reviews for Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 184
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marketing Coach
Business
San Francisco
Mar 9, 2014

Business traveler

Nice big rooms, friendly staff but getting a little run down, especially plumbing. Food was very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elizabeth Founding Mother
Business
Stow, MA
Feb 26, 2014

Excellent Choice for the Historical District

This hotel has the ultimate location for visiting Independence National Historical Park. It faces the Second Bank of the US and is only steps away from Carpenters' Hall, Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, the First Bank of the US, Ben Franklin's Museum, the City Tavern, etc. The staff is extremely helpful, the rooms are spacious and well configured so that there is plenty of room both in the bedrooms and bathrooms. The view from the higher floors is magnificent! And, last but not least--the price was very reasonable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Independence National Historical Park

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rachel Robi
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 29, 2014

If only someone had cleaned the room.

I'll start with the positives. The bed was comfortable and the room decor was nice enough. The lobby was pretty and the reception staff was great. The pool and sauna were nice. The fitness center was also very nice. Now for the bad. The room was not at all clean. The corners of the bathroom floor, especially in the toilet area, had quite a bit of hair. The bathroom counter had dried toothpaste. If they had removed the silver tray with bath supplies, and the water and wine glasses, perhaps they could have actually cleaned the counter off. Some of the towels had long hairs stuck to them. The desk in the bedroom was covered with dust - it looked like it hadn't been dusted in at least a week. The pillow cases weren't on the pillow all of the way either. The food in the restaurant was adequate, but not great; and I waited to be served a ridiculously long time to be served, even when there weren't any other customers in the restaurant. The wait staff doubles as the room service delivery staff, so you are served between room service deliveries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
janos
Business
New York
Oct 13, 2013

worst stay of my life

The fire alarm went off twice during the night. Both false alarms, apparently they don't have sufficient ventilation in the kitchen - which is unacceptable. After the alarm was turned off, they couldn't make the elevator to work again so had to climb stairs back to room. The staff were not apologetic at all for me sitting until 4.30am in the lobby. No compensation, except a mediocre muffin and coffee in the lobby. Rooms and hotel in general needs a major refresh. Overall, a nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelerUSA
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 3, 2013

Wonderful Hotel!

I stayed there with my 17 year old daughter and we really enjoyed it! I recommend it to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to the Independence Hall, 1 block away!

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ssrivastav
Business
California
Aug 20, 2013

Great location, near Independence Hall & Liberty Bell

Stayed here for a day, for meetings on Market Street. It's close to the underground train too. Nice big rooms, and upscale amenities. Free WiFi was nice -- many of the larger hotels charge for it, while it's free at the budget hotels. Lobby has plush comfortable sofas. The restaurant in the hotel is expensive, but you can get sandwiches, salads, soups, etc. right next door, outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
COA JR
Business
Delray Beach Florida
Jun 27, 2013

Hotel Accomodations

Great Location, very nice and clean rooms. Staff was pleasant and very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy Glen Rock
Business
Glen Rock, NJ
May 3, 2013

Great place to stay

I stayed here for 2 days mid-week on a business trip, and I found the rooms very comfortable, clean, and spacious. My room had a great view of Chestnut street and I had a sofa bed and desk in my room. Most importantly the bedside lamps had outlets on them, so I could charge my phone and have it next to me on the nightstand. The staff was very helpful with parking options and other questions. There's a nice little lounge downstairs, in case you want to have a after work drink or just relax and read the paper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tonjawd
Business
Westport,Connecticut
Sep 16, 2012

I just loved it!

I really cannot wait to go back. The room was beautiful and overlooked the park. The area had so much to walk to and I didn't have time to see it well, so I am excited to return. The front desk staff was so helpful. I had forgotten my phone charger and they offered to find me one and did! They even gave it to me! The room service attendant forgot my syrup but ran right back with it in no time. The food was great. The gym was supurb! Then I had forgotten my book in my rush to catch a train and the housekeeping staff found it for me and held it to be picked up. WONDERFUL.... Would never stay anywhere else. People make all the difference plus the place is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make time to walk around and enjoy this area right outside your door. Old town is historical and beautiful.

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Pumps
Business
Texas
Sep 3, 2012

Omni Consistency

You can't go wrong at an Omni and that applies here. Superb service, well appointed and spacious rooms, gracious decor, tasty food, etc. The only ding here was that the windows (even on the 12th floor) were inadequate for buffering the street noise. Not a big deal - a Saturday night spent in Philly by Independence Hall is likely a much quieter place than it was in 1776.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top