$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Omni Hotel At Independence Park

4 stars
401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
184 reviews
One Night stop over

We arrived late and staff were fantastic. Hotel was easy to find and the location was great for... See full review

  • Lorc
  • Jun 23, 2014
Perfect place to stay for touring Philadelphia's historic landmarks

The main purpose of our visit to Philadelphia was to introduce the kids to part of our country's... See full review

  • esl537
  • May 28, 2014

 The Omni Group's flagship downtown Philly branch, the Omni Hotel Independence Park Hotel Philadelphia reflects its Society Hill location along with rich history in its plush, old-European decor, grand piano and sparkling chandeliers. The dusky drapes and cozy booths of the Azalea Restaurant compliment the mansion-house feel, and the regional US cuisine ranges from lobster bisque to veal chop. Take an after-dinner dip in the Jacuzzi, or check in for a well-earned massage at the Balance Spa after a long day of historical sight-seeing. If you're on a health-kick, the special Get Fit rooms come with private equipment, and guests can sample the Ideal Living options for more balanced dishes on the hotel's menu.

Key facts
  • 150 guestrooms
  • Non-smoking building
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
  • Fitness center and spa
  • Business services
  • 3,500-square-feet of meeting space
  • Children's program
  • Dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Swimming pool, sauna and hot tub
  • Pet-friendly rooms on lower floor
Neighborhood
Rookie historians cannot get any closer to Independence National Historic Park than staying at the Omni Independence Park. Set across the street from Independence Hall and the First Bank of the US, this Society Hill area is best experienced on foot. A ten-minute walk will take you to the Liberty Bell, while the Benjamin Franklin Museum enchants the young and old with artifacts, displays, and animations that introduce visitors to the rebellious man behind the diplomatic mask. 5th street SEPTA station is on the other side of the park, for those seeking access to the Center City West district.
Hints and tips

Bringing the kids with you? They'll get backpacks bursting with activities on arrival, and parents will be happy with the game and toy loans, as well as suggested family itineraries from the hotel staff.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9489 -75.1476
Area served
Chinatown, City Center
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 12.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni Hotel At Independence Park also booked these hotels.

Omni Hotel At Independence Park Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room 1 King bed. Approx. 450 square feet. A blend of sophistication and classic charm. Features plush duvet cover plus in-room desk and desk chair.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room 2 Queen Beds. Approx. 450 square feet. A blend of sophistication and classic charm. Features plush duvet cover plus in-room desk and desk chair.
Deluxe Room 1 King and Sofa Bed
1 King Bed and Sofa Bed. Approx. 450 square feet. A blend of sophistication and classic charm. Features plush duvet cover plus in-room desk and desk chair.

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Sauna
Night club
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber shop
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715 mi

Dining

Azaleas
Azalea Restaurant offers fine dining overlooking picturesque Independence Park. Our accomplished chefs have created an inspiring menu of eclectic cuisine with the emphasis on regional American specialties. Open Mon-Thur 0630-2300 hours. Open Sat-Sun 0700-2300 hours.
Lobby Lounge
Located on hotel property. Open Mon-Thur 1400-2300 hours. Open Fri 1400-0200 hours. Open Sat 1200-0200 hours and Sun 1200-2300 hours. The Lobby Lounge serves light fare and a full dinner menu until 2300 hours each night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (184)

Ratings and reviews for Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eclectic mom
Rockland County, New York
Aug 12, 2012

Loved it!

The room was elegant and beautiful. The staff was as helpful as can be.My car was parked there and I was able to leave it for seaveral hours after check out at no additional charge which was a great help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I would buy one of the bus tour tickets right away and use that as my transportation around town

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 13, 2008

Great Location

Location - Location - Location. Easy walk to historic sites and great Old City restaurants. Nice hotel. Only beef was being put in the worst room in the hotel - 1 small window looking at a brick wall. Check in said they would try to get us into another room but it never happened. Only stayed 1 night but we were celebrating our anniversary and the room put a slight damper on our celebration. Especially since we decided to pay more for premium hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross the street for great museum of portraits in the Second Bank

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ltdnj
New Jersey, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Great overnight

After originally looking at hotels in Rittenhouse Square, I found a great deal for the Omni. Nice location, in a quieter part of town. Very nice hotel, with a great staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Continental for a fun dining experience.

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JMMD
NJ
Nov 3, 2012

Nice Place

I would stay here again. Good location, clean, comfortable room. Parking was at a public garage for $25 day vs. $37 for hotel valet to the same garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emjaze
Business
Stamford, CT
Feb 7, 2011

Wonderful Rom!

I was in Philly on business and just spent one night, but had a great experience. I would definitely stay there again. Rooms were clean and beautiful and the staff was helpful and professional. Had room service: the food was great hot and fast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smalltownghosts
central pennsylvania
May 14, 2012

Great LOCATION!!

The hotel was located right where i wanted it. It was only a few blocks from the heart of olde city and all of its wonder ,and it was also only a few blocks from south st, where dreams are made. the room was big and quite nice and the staff was helpful. I plan on staying here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Lure NC
Jan 2, 2011

Awesome location

Loved the location so close to Liberty Bell, but walking distance to Reading terminal market. Breakfast buffet was delicious with made-to-order omelets and waffles. All staff was friendly even though we had a major snow storm on Sunday. Valet parking was easy, no matter how many times we went out that day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChloeCo72
South Jersey
Apr 23, 2014

Perfect location- lovely hotel

Just spent two days with my children, ages 6 & 12, over their school break. We live nearby in NJ but wanted to stay over for convenience. The location, across from Independence Park, is perfect if you want to walk to the historic sights. The room was spacious and comfortable. The pool and jacuzzi were great- though they seemed to be having a little trouble with the jacuzzi temperature. Room service breakfast was pricey but very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. I appreciated the little, kid friendly touches- like the nighttime cookies & milk. The front desk staff forgot to give my daughter her activity bag at check in but it was no problem for me to go get it a bit later. The only thing I think I'd like them to add is on demand movies in the rooms - fun to relax with after a long walking day. I'll definitely be back to try the spa services sometime. All in all, a lovely place with an excellent location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One of my Philly faves, Buddakan, is only steps away. Their bento lunch is very reasonable $15. The dim sum donuts dessert is amazing- hope they never stop serving it. Check the local historic Phila free paper for but one get one entree coupon for City Tavern. Great deal and the kids loved the authentic colonial food & wait staff.

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad and teen daughter
Raleigh, NC
Apr 3, 2013

Excellent base for Philadelphia history

The best location for visiting all the historic sites. Very comfortable room. Swimming pool is tiny but sauna was excellent. AVOID the Ghost/Evening Walk Tour for which tickets are sold in ground floor gift shop. We found ourselves in a group of 35 people with one guide, who was poor. Thus, no atmosphere (despite the venue!) and a waste of $17 per person. Try Sonny's on Market for Cheese steaks and there's a fantastic weekend brunch at Continental on Market and 2nd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

AVOID the Ghost/Evening Walk Tour, for which tickets are sold in ground floor gift shop. We found ourselves in a group of 35 people with one guide, who was poor. Thus, no atmosphere (despite the venue!) and a waste of $17 per person.

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Flyer Mike
Toronto, Canada
Mar 24, 2014

Great Location

My friends and I had a fantastic stay . The staff were wonderful and the location was perfect; close to many tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top