$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Omni Hotel At Independence Park

4 stars
401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
184 reviews
One Night stop over

We arrived late and staff were fantastic. Hotel was easy to find and the location was great for... See full review

  • Lorc
  • Jun 23, 2014
Perfect place to stay for touring Philadelphia's historic landmarks

The main purpose of our visit to Philadelphia was to introduce the kids to part of our country's... See full review

  • esl537
  • May 28, 2014

 The Omni Group's flagship downtown Philly branch, the Omni Hotel Independence Park Hotel Philadelphia reflects its Society Hill location along with rich history in its plush, old-European decor, grand piano and sparkling chandeliers. The dusky drapes and cozy booths of the Azalea Restaurant compliment the mansion-house feel, and the regional US cuisine ranges from lobster bisque to veal chop. Take an after-dinner dip in the Jacuzzi, or check in for a well-earned massage at the Balance Spa after a long day of historical sight-seeing. If you're on a health-kick, the special Get Fit rooms come with private equipment, and guests can sample the Ideal Living options for more balanced dishes on the hotel's menu.

Key facts
  • 150 guestrooms
  • Non-smoking building
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
  • Fitness center and spa
  • Business services
  • 3,500-square-feet of meeting space
  • Children's program
  • Dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Swimming pool, sauna and hot tub
  • Pet-friendly rooms on lower floor
Neighborhood
Rookie historians cannot get any closer to Independence National Historic Park than staying at the Omni Independence Park. Set across the street from Independence Hall and the First Bank of the US, this Society Hill area is best experienced on foot. A ten-minute walk will take you to the Liberty Bell, while the Benjamin Franklin Museum enchants the young and old with artifacts, displays, and animations that introduce visitors to the rebellious man behind the diplomatic mask. 5th street SEPTA station is on the other side of the park, for those seeking access to the Center City West district.
Hints and tips

Bringing the kids with you? They'll get backpacks bursting with activities on arrival, and parents will be happy with the game and toy loans, as well as suggested family itineraries from the hotel staff.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9489 -75.1476
Area served
Chinatown, City Center
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 12.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni Hotel At Independence Park also booked these hotels.

Omni Hotel At Independence Park Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room 1 King bed. Approx. 450 square feet. A blend of sophistication and classic charm. Features plush duvet cover plus in-room desk and desk chair.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room 2 Queen Beds. Approx. 450 square feet. A blend of sophistication and classic charm. Features plush duvet cover plus in-room desk and desk chair.
Deluxe Room 1 King and Sofa Bed
1 King Bed and Sofa Bed. Approx. 450 square feet. A blend of sophistication and classic charm. Features plush duvet cover plus in-room desk and desk chair.

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Sauna
Night club
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber shop
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715 mi

Dining

Azaleas
Azalea Restaurant offers fine dining overlooking picturesque Independence Park. Our accomplished chefs have created an inspiring menu of eclectic cuisine with the emphasis on regional American specialties. Open Mon-Thur 0630-2300 hours. Open Sat-Sun 0700-2300 hours.
Lobby Lounge
Located on hotel property. Open Mon-Thur 1400-2300 hours. Open Fri 1400-0200 hours. Open Sat 1200-0200 hours and Sun 1200-2300 hours. The Lobby Lounge serves light fare and a full dinner menu until 2300 hours each night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (184)

Ratings and reviews for Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bugatzi
New York
Jan 15, 2013

Excelent

This hotel is very elegant and the staff is soo nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 23, 2011

Perfect location

[...] But we were able to get a good off season rate and I knew that it is in a good location with many restaurants and historic sites nearby. When we got there the hotel didn't feel too big or corporate, was very comfortable, and the service was excellent without being pretentious. Our hotel room was large with great views, and was nicely furnished. Wireless internet was free. We enjoyed the use of the fitness center, pool, hot tub and sauna. The pool room, like everywhere else was very clean and nicely maintained. My wife is much harder to please than me and she LOVED THIS HOTEL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meggra
San Antonio
Jun 16, 2013

US Open Vacation

Charming hotel. Close to tourist attractions and good restaurants. Staff very professional and friendly. Room was the best we have had in a number of years. Highly recommend. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charlie1234
Valley Forge, Schuylkill, PA 19460, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Love this hotel!

Staff is great. Restaurant served TERRIFIC food. I love the overall atmosphere of this hotel. And the BEST LOCATION in Philadelphia. Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

In Philadelphia, If you love art go see the Philadelphia Art Museum, the Rodin Museum and the soon to open (Spring 2012) Barnes Museum all next to each other on the Parkway. Also, great for children is The Franklin Institute - also on the Parkway. My kids love going there again and again.

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kymmer1NY
New York
Jan 30, 2010

Do not overlook the Omni

Went to Philadelphia for a graduation; my stay was very brief, but in those brief moments I immediately recognized why Omni Hotels has ranked the "Highest in Guest Satisfaction among Upscale Hotel Chains" by J.D. Power and Associates", more than once. Hotel room very clean and roomy. Beds are fantastic, best sleep I've had in a long time. The location is perfect, a short walk to the Liberty Bell. I do however, recommend Valet Parking (worth the expense). If you have to go out, the Omni will get you a taxi (not expensive from hotel to Center City). Do not overlook this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elizabeth Founding Mother
Business
Stow, MA
Feb 26, 2014

Excellent Choice for the Historical District

This hotel has the ultimate location for visiting Independence National Historical Park. It faces the Second Bank of the US and is only steps away from Carpenters' Hall, Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, the First Bank of the US, Ben Franklin's Museum, the City Tavern, etc. The staff is extremely helpful, the rooms are spacious and well configured so that there is plenty of room both in the bedrooms and bathrooms. The view from the higher floors is magnificent! And, last but not least--the price was very reasonable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Independence National Historical Park

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
Jul 9, 2011

Lovely and elegant

I have absolutely no complaints. It was way nicer and luxurious than I'd expected and I have very high standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

In historical section of Philly, the best part.

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PennMom
Pittsburgh
May 15, 2013

Love the Omni!

Everything about our stay was lovely...from the pleasant staff who greeted us at the door to the fresh flowers in the lobby. Our room was beautiful and immaculate. The Independence Hall neighbourhood is incredibly charming and peaceful. Free wi-fi and a Cosi coffeeshop around the corner just add to the overall convenience of this hotel. Will only stay here on future visits to Philadelphia!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
esl537
Maryland, USA
May 28, 2014

Perfect place to stay for touring Philadelphia's historic landmarks

The main purpose of our visit to Philadelphia was to introduce the kids to part of our country's historic beginnings. In terms of being located right in the center of all this history, the Omni cannot be beat. It is located a block away from Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell as well as the Benjamin Franklin Museum. With a 7 and 4 year old, it was no problem to walk to all of these places. As for the hotel itself- I thought our room was very clean and comfortable. My only gripe about the room was that it did not have a mini-fridge. As a general note, compared to where I come from, the food portions in Philadelphia are HUGE and so we had leftovers from all of our restaurant meals. This is why it would have been nice to have a mini-fridge. I thought the hotel staff was helpful, though not completely knowledgeable. When asked for a restaurant suggestion, the concierge made a great Italian suggestion. But when I asked the front desk (b/c concierge was not available at 8am) about getting tickets for Independence Hall, the woman did not quite know what she was talking about. One thing that any prospective customer should be aware of is that breakfast is not included with the room charge and room service is exceptionally expensive ($16 for an omelet?!). What we ended up doing was going to the Ben and Betsy's right next door to grab some morning pastries. It turns out that there was a diner nearby as well- maybe next time. On the other hand, the hotel is very kid friendly and provided free kid's activity packs upon check-in. Also, they served up free milk and cookies for the kids before bedtime- a perfect after dinner snack. Get them before 10pm each night! Lastly, the valet parking is $37/day, but has unlimited in/out privileges. Just allow 30 minutes for retrieval of your car. While expensive, I felt that there was good value b/c of the unlimited in/out and the fact that they let us keep the car with the valet the whole day AFTER we checked-out in the morning. I would have had to have paid for parking in the city if they hadn't allowed this so I was fine with it. Overall, I think it was an excellent stay and I would definitely rebook with the Omni if I was touring the historic district again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Omni is right in the center of the historic district and Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Benjamin Franklin Court/Museum are all 1 block away.

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AGarfield
Business
Dubuque, Iowa
May 26, 2012

Amazing Hotel

Good price for this 4 star hotel. Obitz should not require a minimum amount of verbage here. Heck, they got my money, a few words should suffice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Omni Hotel At Independence Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Feb 23, 2011

Amazing Hotel

This is the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in. Unbelievable for the price! My husband, our 4 year old daughter, 6 year old son, and 16 year old son stayed in a suite with a very comfortable king size bed and a pull-out sofa bed. The room was HUGE. The view of the city and the Delaware River was stunning. Our room had two tall windows with deep window seats. The bathroom was beautiful. Very clean. The staff was fantastic. And, most important- location, location, location. Independence Park was so beautiful. We stayed over 4th of July weekend. There were reinactors in period dress everywhere. My 6 year old was recruited to the continental army. To say he was impressed is an understatement. We walked to all the historic sites- all withing a couple of blocks from the hotel! There were several fireworks displays visible from our room on the 3rd. We walked all over the city. One word of warning- PA does not sell alcohol in many places. There was a hotel bar and one restaurant we ate at served alcohol, but there was only one liquor store in town. It was a long way away and it closed before dark. I would expect a hotel as nice as this one to cost twice as much as they charged. Do keep in mind that there are a lot of people to tip. I will stay at the Omni Independence Park again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top