$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Morris House Hotel

3 stars
View map of 225 South 8th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Morris House Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iris Living History
Business
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Oct 7, 2014

Wow, lovely quiet time

I was searching for a place where I could recharge my life. A peaceful, quiet place surrounded by my love of history. To compliment my desire, of a few restful day's, the details of tea time and wine were lovely. My desire to merge myself in the history of our country returning to rest in the beautiful Morris Hotel was divine. Instead of leaving the history in the streets of Philadelphia I was able to continue living history in a nicely decor comfortable hotel room. Traveling to historical places in the US is one of my resent pleasures. This has been the first time I stayed in a historical building which enriched my journey through history.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Morris Hotel has a wonderful restaurant. Plus there are a few cafe's a few blocks away from the hotel. Their food is was delicious, different and nicely priced.

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joseph H.
Business
Sacramento
Apr 18, 2015

Excellent hotel, great location

My husband and I stayed at the Morris House for one night during a recent trip to Philadelphia. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! In addition to the historic building, which has been nicely renovated and was very comfortable, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They made us feel very welcome. The hotel is located just a few blocks from Independence Hall and the historic area of the city, so very convenient for sightseeing. Also, it is very close to the metro and bus line directly to the Philadelphia Museum of Art and the Barnes Foundation. Also need to mention the breakfast that was included... great, and substantial, with eggs, pastries, juice, delicious coffee, etc. Stay here, and you won't be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen Snake
Business
Eureka Springs, AR
Mar 19, 2014

I love this place

I wanted to be in a historic hotel in the historic district; wow, I hit a home run. I liked the place, the staff and the restaurant. Only complaint - restaurant and bar closed on Monday night. Good breakfast, very strong coffee (l like this). Price seemed fair to me. thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to see the Barns Collection and see lots of Philadelphia - go past LOVE at JFK plaza and enjoy the the beautiful buildings.

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Dec 3, 2011

Great place to stay

Thanks to the staff for a wonderful visit. This little gem was a delightful surprise and we enjoyed our stay. the room was spacious, clean, and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ristorante La Buca, 711 Locust Street

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kpbpsw
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Jan 11, 2012

Great location and good cross between hotel and B&B

Historic well maintained hotel right close to old city. Very unique rooms a great staff. Overall great experience only negatives were parking across the street is expensive even with hotel discount and there is no hotel bar. Plan on staying there next time I am in Phila!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bcwc
Business
Nj
Aug 22, 2012

Old school

If you want a place that isn't a chain this is a great hotel. Neat old rooms with classic door. Feels more like a b&b than a hotel. Would recommend this place to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bsuea
Business
SAn Antonio, Texas
Dec 15, 2012

Quaint and Comfortable

The staff, especially the manager, did everything possible to make this a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The location in central town could not have been better. The cleanliness of the room was top notch. When I go back to Philadelphia I will stay at Morris House Hotel. The price was also very good. The M, Morris House Restaurant, was superb. Friendliness is the byword at both the hotel and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Terminal Market is an eating dream.

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barbie in NYC
Business
New York
Dec 26, 2013

beautiful place to say in Philly

This place was all about our Philly trip. We were 2 girl to stay one night in Phiily for the first time and fully enjoyed the hotel. the place was great and huge and clean, Peoples are too much nice! haha one thing to let you know, by booking on their own web site, you can get better option to choose. I will definitely recommend anyone around me who will visit and stay in downtown Philly. Also, if you stay with them, can get afternoon tea tiem with their sown baked cookies at lobbi dining room. Breakfast was also quite ok!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shepjk
Business
South Jersey
Jul 10, 2011

Very Nice

Everything was good. The hotel is a very old house that's been converted to B&B. My wife and I had a very good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wenonah nj
Jan 30, 2011

wifes birthday

Warm welcoming bed and breakfast in a great area, easy walk to sights, restuarants and clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the walk down chestnut street to old city

Back to menu Return to top