$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 11, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

Morris House Hotel

3 stars
View map of 225 South 8th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
23 reviews
Excellent hotel, great location

My husband and I stayed at the Morris House for one night during a recent trip to Philadelphia. We... See full review

  • Joseph H.
  • Apr 18, 2015
Wow, lovely quiet time

I was searching for a place where I could recharge my life. A peaceful, quiet place surrounded by... See full review

  • Iris Living History
  • Oct 7, 2014
Historic Philadelphia hotel with dining
The Morris House Hotel offers a sophisticated small hotel experience within an 18th century setting, making it a unique Philadelphian venue. Continental breakfast is available each morning and tea each afternoon, while dinner is served at the  M Restaurant, which features a garden patio and delicious French-style cuisine. The Morris House Hotel’s concierge service is on hand to cater for any need, big or small. 
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Beautiful building, originally constructed in 1787
  • Private garden with a patio for outside dining
  • Daily continental breakfast, with afternoon tea featuring fresh cookies
Morris House Hotel Rooms
This hotel has a very pleasant ambiance and guests are made to feel very welcome. All the rooms are distinctly decorated, which helps enhance the whole experience of staying here. Antique-style furniture is found in the rooms, along with historical artwork, colorful upholstery and marble bathroom tiles. Most rooms also feature hardwood flooring, and there are views of the garden or across the city from the guest rooms. Luxury rooms and a luxury suite are available. Amenities at the Morris House Hotel include Jacuzzi tubs with separate showers, free wireless Internet, cable TV, hair-dryer, heating and air-conditioning. Enjoy a luxurious turndown service including Godiva chocolates, and fresh flowers on arrival.
Things To Do:
  • Walnut Street Theater (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Lights of Liberty (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Philadelphia History Museum at the Atwater Kent (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Independence Visitor Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Independence Hall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ride the Ducks (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • American Philosophical Society Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Liberty Bell (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Carpenter's Hall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Constitution Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morris House Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Morris House Hotel Rooms

Large Suite
A spacious extended suite with a separate living room and bedroom. This cozy suite is modernly designed with hardwood floors in the living room area. Bedroom area offers queen size bed, bedside tables, large closet and a plasma TV. The bedroom door opens to the living room connecting to the kitchen and dining area. Living room is garlanded with a comfortable couch, cocktail table and guest chairs. Large bathroom is connected to the bedroom and separated by door. This gorgeous, marble bathroom has a Jacuzzi bathtub and a separate shower.
Luxury Room
The room offers 1 Queen size bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV,Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.4 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.6 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.6 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.4 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.6 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.6 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.1 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.2 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.3 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.7 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.3 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.1 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.6 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.6 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Morris House Hotel

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 23
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iris Living History
Business
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Oct 7, 2014

Wow, lovely quiet time

I was searching for a place where I could recharge my life. A peaceful, quiet place surrounded by my love of history. To compliment my desire, of a few restful day's, the details of tea time and wine were lovely. My desire to merge myself in the history of our country returning to rest in the beautiful Morris Hotel was divine. Instead of leaving the history in the streets of Philadelphia I was able to continue living history in a nicely decor comfortable hotel room. Traveling to historical places in the US is one of my resent pleasures. This has been the first time I stayed in a historical building which enriched my journey through history.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Morris Hotel has a wonderful restaurant. Plus there are a few cafe's a few blocks away from the hotel. Their food is was delicious, different and nicely priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen Snake
Business
Eureka Springs, AR
Mar 19, 2014

I love this place

I wanted to be in a historic hotel in the historic district; wow, I hit a home run. I liked the place, the staff and the restaurant. Only complaint - restaurant and bar closed on Monday night. Good breakfast, very strong coffee (l like this). Price seemed fair to me. thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to see the Barns Collection and see lots of Philadelphia - go past LOVE at JFK plaza and enjoy the the beautiful buildings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B Suzanne
Business
Springfield Ohio
Mar 13, 2013

Amazing getway by myself!

I couldn't have asked for more. Comfortable, friendly, with a great location. The staff was so helpful and polite. It was just a great place if you love the history of Phily. Was not impressed at all with the restaurant next to the hotel. There are so many other good places to eat in the surounding area and within walking distance that doesn't matter. I plan on returning next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to tons of jewerly stores. Theatre and nice French Bistro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pharmacystudent
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Antique Beauty

I was a little skeptical about staying at Morris House, but after reading reviews, I decided to stay here, considering it is cheaper than other hotels in the area. What a good choice I made! The staff was amazing; they were accommodating and friendly. My room had a unique look and it was very clean. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was nice and clean, and the hotel for the most part was quiet. The area where the hotel is situated is in a safe neighborhood, close to a lot of (good) restaurants, tourist attractions, and shopping. I would recommend staying here and would gladly stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berlin
Jun 20, 2010

very romantic

It was marvelous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top