$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Morris House Hotel

3 stars
225 South 8th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
22 reviews
Wow, lovely quiet time

I was searching for a place where I could recharge my life. A peaceful, quiet place surrounded by... See full review

  • Iris Living History
  • Oct 7, 2014
Bargain stay in Central Philadelphia

No only a charming historic building but this hotel has all I need for a business stay: clean,... See full review

  • Dad and teen daughter
  • Dec 5, 2013
Historic Philadelphia hotel with dining
The Morris House Hotel offers a sophisticated small hotel experience within an 18th century setting, making it a unique Philadelphian venue. Continental breakfast is available each morning and tea each afternoon, while dinner is served at the  M Restaurant, which features a garden patio and delicious French-style cuisine. The Morris House Hotel’s concierge service is on hand to cater for any need, big or small. 
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Beautiful building, originally constructed in 1787
  • Private garden with a patio for outside dining
  • Daily continental breakfast, with afternoon tea featuring fresh cookies
Morris House Hotel Rooms
This hotel has a very pleasant ambiance and guests are made to feel very welcome. All the rooms are distinctly decorated, which helps enhance the whole experience of staying here. Antique-style furniture is found in the rooms, along with historical artwork, colorful upholstery and marble bathroom tiles. Most rooms also feature hardwood flooring, and there are views of the garden or across the city from the guest rooms. Luxury rooms and a luxury suite are available. Amenities at the Morris House Hotel include Jacuzzi tubs with separate showers, free wireless Internet, cable TV, hair-dryer, heating and air-conditioning. Enjoy a luxurious turndown service including Godiva chocolates, and fresh flowers on arrival.
Things To Do:
  • Walnut Street Theater (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Lights of Liberty (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Philadelphia History Museum at the Atwater Kent (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Independence Visitor Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Independence Hall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ride the Ducks (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • American Philosophical Society Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Liberty Bell (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Carpenter's Hall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Constitution Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morris House Hotel also booked these hotels.

Morris House Hotel Rooms

Large Suite
A spacious extended suite with a separate living room and bedroom. This cozy suite is modernly designed with hardwood floors in the living room area. Bedroom area offers queen size bed, bedside tables, large closet and a plasma TV. The bedroom door opens to the living room connecting to the kitchen and dining area. Living room is garlanded with a comfortable couch, cocktail table and guest chairs. Large bathroom is connected to the bedroom and separated by door. This gorgeous, marble bathroom has a Jacuzzi bathtub and a separate shower.
Luxury Room
The room offers 1 Queen size bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV,Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.4 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.6 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.6 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.4 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.6 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.6 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.1 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.2 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.3 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.7 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.3 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.1 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.6 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.6 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Morris House Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 22
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pennsylvania newbie
Business
Walnut Creek, California
May 11, 2013

Philly First-Timer

I really liked everything about the hotel except for the shower. Very small and water temp control was impossible. The location cannot be beat if you want to tour the historic museums and find great restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Amada!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NoBetterWife
Business
Baltimore
Apr 3, 2013

Historical Getaway!

My husband needed to get away from the stresses of his work so I planned a surprise overnight getaway for him. I found Morris House Hotel online and it was just what I wanted. When I pulled the car up in front of the hotel, he said in awe, "is this where we're staying?" We both love historical places and this place is packed with it. The concierge was able to tell us about the history of the house and also stories about the restoration. It has been tastefully restored with all the comforts of home. It's my ideal place! History in comfort and style!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Morris House Hotel is a short walking distance from Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and many other historical attractions in Philadelphia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GURBGY
Business
NJ
Mar 14, 2013

Perfectly Lovely

Unique spot, worlds above your average hotel. Colonial building re-done with real charm. Terrific staff.' Couldn't have been more pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zinc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bsuea
Business
SAn Antonio, Texas
Dec 15, 2012

Quaint and Comfortable

The staff, especially the manager, did everything possible to make this a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The location in central town could not have been better. The cleanliness of the room was top notch. When I go back to Philadelphia I will stay at Morris House Hotel. The price was also very good. The M, Morris House Restaurant, was superb. Friendliness is the byword at both the hotel and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Terminal Market is an eating dream.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marathon Maniac
Business
Parkville, MD, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Philly Marathon Hotel Stay

We enjoyed our brief time at the Morris House Hotel, with their very unique and quaint setting and rooms. We look forward to coming back to stay there next year when back in town for the Philadelphia Marathon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chops Restaurant which is just a very short walk from the Morris House Hotel is a top notch dining option and a great $$ value. The service and food were exceptional.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shepjk
Business
South Jersey
Jul 10, 2011

Very Nice

Everything was good. The hotel is a very old house that's been converted to B&B. My wife and I had a very good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wenonah nj
Jan 30, 2011

wifes birthday

Warm welcoming bed and breakfast in a great area, easy walk to sights, restuarants and clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the walk down chestnut street to old city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,IL
Jul 11, 2010

Lovely 18th Century Hotel

We stayed at the Morris House two nights. We found the staff very helpful. Our room was small but well appointed with a nice queen bed, writing desk, bureau, 2 chairs, two night stands, free wifi and a flat screen TV. We enjoyed the peace and quiet. The common areas downstairs on the first level were very charming and old world. Continental breakfast was included - juice, coffee, tea, water, croissants, muffins, pastries, apples and cereal. There was a very lovely outdoor area but it was too hot (103) for us to enjoy. We did eat lunch at M which is the restaurant attached to the hotel. It was good. The hotel is well situated to visit the historic areas - Independence Hall, Liberty Bell,Betsey Ross home, Elfreth Alley, City Tavern. We enjoyed them and the Constitution Institute. All close by. Reading Terminal was about a 15 minute walk. It was fun to see. In addition, there were plenty of restaurants close by. We ate at Jones and Ristorante La Buca, both good. It would have been nice to have a small refrigerator in the room but it really would have been out of character for the charm of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two restaurants, close by, mentioned above. Both very good. Jones is located near other restaurants too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Apr 19, 2010

Beyond amazing!

This place was charming! The location was wonderful as well as the personal service and attention! The rooms were great and the afternoon tea and breakfast were delightful! Would stay there again without a doubt! And it is in walking distance to almost everything one would want to see!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

head to south street for "night life" or uptown for great restaurants!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top