$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Morris House Hotel

3 stars
View map of 225 South 8th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Morris House Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sball Chick
Business
Philly, PA
Jun 4, 2012

Great Experience

Beautiful location, place and nice restaurant. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Overall it was a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Center City; yet, still quiet

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pharmacystudent
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Antique Beauty

I was a little skeptical about staying at Morris House, but after reading reviews, I decided to stay here, considering it is cheaper than other hotels in the area. What a good choice I made! The staff was amazing; they were accommodating and friendly. My room had a unique look and it was very clean. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was nice and clean, and the hotel for the most part was quiet. The area where the hotel is situated is in a safe neighborhood, close to a lot of (good) restaurants, tourist attractions, and shopping. I would recommend staying here and would gladly stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kpbpsw
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Jan 11, 2012

Great location and good cross between hotel and B&B

Historic well maintained hotel right close to old city. Very unique rooms a great staff. Overall great experience only negatives were parking across the street is expensive even with hotel discount and there is no hotel bar. Plan on staying there next time I am in Phila!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Dec 3, 2011

Great place to stay

Thanks to the staff for a wonderful visit. This little gem was a delightful surprise and we enjoyed our stay. the room was spacious, clean, and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ristorante La Buca, 711 Locust Street

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marathon Maniac
Business
Parkville, MD, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Philly Marathon Hotel Stay

We enjoyed our brief time at the Morris House Hotel, with their very unique and quaint setting and rooms. We look forward to coming back to stay there next year when back in town for the Philadelphia Marathon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chops Restaurant which is just a very short walk from the Morris House Hotel is a top notch dining option and a great $$ value. The service and food were exceptional.

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 5, 2011

Picky in Philly

On business trip to Philadelphia with 2 nights to spend. Had the choice of staying at the usual Hilton or Hyatt but decided to venture out of the generic franchised properties this time. And Morris House did not disappoint. MH is a much welcome breath of fresh air recommended for any traveller wishing for something unique. Step into the reception and the friendly and polite host invites you in with a complementary mini historical tour of the house (recommended). The historic building has the biggest courtyard for a private residence in Philadelphia and the dining room is said to be where the founding fathers gathered to draft the first copies of the Constitution. You may also bring a book from the library to your room if you want. Upto room no. 202, a big well-appointed room with the usual amenities you would expect with the added bonus of the original 200-yr-old hardwood floors. A small refrigerator and mini safe is not present from this b&b room but is not missed either. Bathroom is equipped with shower only but is adequate and very clean. Keep in mind this is a historical property so baths are available in their bigger suites. Ambience of the property flows into the room and you get a very cosy feeling to the whole experience at MH. The courtyard is also home to the M restaurant, a hip fine dining spot in a boutique setting. Location of MH is awesome, practically in downtown Philly, on 8th Street, steps away from shopping and dining. Historical area is 10 minutes walk away. Overall impression: excellent property, excellent staff, and great location! Highly recommend for romantic getaway, family and any business travelers who want something with character. And MH sure has plenty of that! Negative: light rumbling from the subway can be felt and street parking can be a challenge for newcomers. Parking lot across the street is the easy solution but you will get whacked for the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Smack in the middle of it all, location is great for shopping, dining, and historical tours. Unique property offers great experience.

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shepjk
Business
South Jersey
Jul 10, 2011

Very Nice

Everything was good. The hotel is a very old house that's been converted to B&B. My wife and I had a very good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wenonah nj
Jan 30, 2011

wifes birthday

Warm welcoming bed and breakfast in a great area, easy walk to sights, restuarants and clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the walk down chestnut street to old city

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Aug 28, 2010

A fantastic historic hotel to stay at.

Wonderfully Historic Hotel in ths heart of Phila. We'll keep coming back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The staff

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,IL
Jul 11, 2010

Lovely 18th Century Hotel

We stayed at the Morris House two nights. We found the staff very helpful. Our room was small but well appointed with a nice queen bed, writing desk, bureau, 2 chairs, two night stands, free wifi and a flat screen TV. We enjoyed the peace and quiet. The common areas downstairs on the first level were very charming and old world. Continental breakfast was included - juice, coffee, tea, water, croissants, muffins, pastries, apples and cereal. There was a very lovely outdoor area but it was too hot (103) for us to enjoy. We did eat lunch at M which is the restaurant attached to the hotel. It was good. The hotel is well situated to visit the historic areas - Independence Hall, Liberty Bell,Betsey Ross home, Elfreth Alley, City Tavern. We enjoyed them and the Constitution Institute. All close by. Reading Terminal was about a 15 minute walk. It was fun to see. In addition, there were plenty of restaurants close by. We ate at Jones and Ristorante La Buca, both good. It would have been nice to have a small refrigerator in the room but it really would have been out of character for the charm of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two restaurants, close by, mentioned above. Both very good. Jones is located near other restaurants too.

Back to menu Return to top