$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Morris House Hotel

3 stars
225 South 8th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
22 reviews
Wow, lovely quiet time

I was searching for a place where I could recharge my life. A peaceful, quiet place surrounded by... See full review

  • Iris Living History
  • Oct 7, 2014
Bargain stay in Central Philadelphia

No only a charming historic building but this hotel has all I need for a business stay: clean,... See full review

  • Dad and teen daughter
  • Dec 5, 2013
Historic Philadelphia hotel with dining
The Morris House Hotel offers a sophisticated small hotel experience within an 18th century setting, making it a unique Philadelphian venue. Continental breakfast is available each morning and tea each afternoon, while dinner is served at the  M Restaurant, which features a garden patio and delicious French-style cuisine. The Morris House Hotel’s concierge service is on hand to cater for any need, big or small. 
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Beautiful building, originally constructed in 1787
  • Private garden with a patio for outside dining
  • Daily continental breakfast, with afternoon tea featuring fresh cookies
Morris House Hotel Rooms
This hotel has a very pleasant ambiance and guests are made to feel very welcome. All the rooms are distinctly decorated, which helps enhance the whole experience of staying here. Antique-style furniture is found in the rooms, along with historical artwork, colorful upholstery and marble bathroom tiles. Most rooms also feature hardwood flooring, and there are views of the garden or across the city from the guest rooms. Luxury rooms and a luxury suite are available. Amenities at the Morris House Hotel include Jacuzzi tubs with separate showers, free wireless Internet, cable TV, hair-dryer, heating and air-conditioning. Enjoy a luxurious turndown service including Godiva chocolates, and fresh flowers on arrival.
Things To Do:
  • Walnut Street Theater (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Lights of Liberty (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Philadelphia History Museum at the Atwater Kent (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Independence Visitor Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Independence Hall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ride the Ducks (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • American Philosophical Society Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Liberty Bell (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Carpenter's Hall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Constitution Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morris House Hotel also booked these hotels.

Morris House Hotel Rooms

Large Suite
A spacious extended suite with a separate living room and bedroom. This cozy suite is modernly designed with hardwood floors in the living room area. Bedroom area offers queen size bed, bedside tables, large closet and a plasma TV. The bedroom door opens to the living room connecting to the kitchen and dining area. Living room is garlanded with a comfortable couch, cocktail table and guest chairs. Large bathroom is connected to the bedroom and separated by door. This gorgeous, marble bathroom has a Jacuzzi bathtub and a separate shower.
Luxury Room
The room offers 1 Queen size bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV,Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.4 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.6 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.6 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.4 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.6 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.6 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.1 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.2 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.3 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.7 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.3 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.1 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.6 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.6 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Morris House Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NoBetterWife
Baltimore
Apr 3, 2013

Historical Getaway!

My husband needed to get away from the stresses of his work so I planned a surprise overnight getaway for him. I found Morris House Hotel online and it was just what I wanted. When I pulled the car up in front of the hotel, he said in awe, "is this where we're staying?" We both love historical places and this place is packed with it. The concierge was able to tell us about the history of the house and also stories about the restoration. It has been tastefully restored with all the comforts of home. It's my ideal place! History in comfort and style!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Morris House Hotel is a short walking distance from Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and many other historical attractions in Philadelphia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iris Living History
Business
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Oct 7, 2014

Wow, lovely quiet time

I was searching for a place where I could recharge my life. A peaceful, quiet place surrounded by my love of history. To compliment my desire, of a few restful day's, the details of tea time and wine were lovely. My desire to merge myself in the history of our country returning to rest in the beautiful Morris Hotel was divine. Instead of leaving the history in the streets of Philadelphia I was able to continue living history in a nicely decor comfortable hotel room. Traveling to historical places in the US is one of my resent pleasures. This has been the first time I stayed in a historical building which enriched my journey through history.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Morris Hotel has a wonderful restaurant. Plus there are a few cafe's a few blocks away from the hotel. Their food is was delicious, different and nicely priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen Snake
Business
Eureka Springs, AR
Mar 19, 2014

I love this place

I wanted to be in a historic hotel in the historic district; wow, I hit a home run. I liked the place, the staff and the restaurant. Only complaint - restaurant and bar closed on Monday night. Good breakfast, very strong coffee (l like this). Price seemed fair to me. thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to see the Barns Collection and see lots of Philadelphia - go past LOVE at JFK plaza and enjoy the the beautiful buildings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barbie in NYC
Business
New York
Dec 26, 2013

beautiful place to say in Philly

This place was all about our Philly trip. We were 2 girl to stay one night in Phiily for the first time and fully enjoyed the hotel. the place was great and huge and clean, Peoples are too much nice! haha one thing to let you know, by booking on their own web site, you can get better option to choose. I will definitely recommend anyone around me who will visit and stay in downtown Philly. Also, if you stay with them, can get afternoon tea tiem with their sown baked cookies at lobbi dining room. Breakfast was also quite ok!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dad and teen daughter
Business
Raleigh, NC
Dec 5, 2013

Bargain stay in Central Philadelphia

No only a charming historic building but this hotel has all I need for a business stay: clean, comfortable rooms, reliable wireless internet, excellent quality continental breakfast, responsive and friendly staff, central location in town and close to regional rail/subway. Would be excellent for a pleasure visit too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pennsylvania newbie
Business
Walnut Creek, California
May 11, 2013

Philly First-Timer

I really liked everything about the hotel except for the shower. Very small and water temp control was impossible. The location cannot be beat if you want to tour the historic museums and find great restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Amada!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NoBetterWife
Business
Baltimore
Apr 3, 2013

Historical Getaway!

My husband needed to get away from the stresses of his work so I planned a surprise overnight getaway for him. I found Morris House Hotel online and it was just what I wanted. When I pulled the car up in front of the hotel, he said in awe, "is this where we're staying?" We both love historical places and this place is packed with it. The concierge was able to tell us about the history of the house and also stories about the restoration. It has been tastefully restored with all the comforts of home. It's my ideal place! History in comfort and style!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Morris House Hotel is a short walking distance from Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and many other historical attractions in Philadelphia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GURBGY
Business
NJ
Mar 14, 2013

Perfectly Lovely

Unique spot, worlds above your average hotel. Colonial building re-done with real charm. Terrific staff.' Couldn't have been more pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zinc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B Suzanne
Business
Springfield Ohio
Mar 13, 2013

Amazing getway by myself!

I couldn't have asked for more. Comfortable, friendly, with a great location. The staff was so helpful and polite. It was just a great place if you love the history of Phily. Was not impressed at all with the restaurant next to the hotel. There are so many other good places to eat in the surounding area and within walking distance that doesn't matter. I plan on returning next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to tons of jewerly stores. Theatre and nice French Bistro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bsuea
Business
SAn Antonio, Texas
Dec 15, 2012

Quaint and Comfortable

The staff, especially the manager, did everything possible to make this a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The location in central town could not have been better. The cleanliness of the room was top notch. When I go back to Philadelphia I will stay at Morris House Hotel. The price was also very good. The M, Morris House Restaurant, was superb. Friendliness is the byword at both the hotel and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Terminal Market is an eating dream.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bcwc
Business
Nj
Aug 22, 2012

Old school

If you want a place that isn't a chain this is a great hotel. Neat old rooms with classic door. Feels more like a b&b than a hotel. Would recommend this place to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top