$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Morris House Hotel

3 stars
View map of 225 South 8th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
23 reviews
Awesome hotel

We chose the Morris House Hotel because of the location but fell in love with it because of its... See full review

  • Kim D.
  • Aug 23, 2015
Wow, lovely quiet time

I was searching for a place where I could recharge my life. A peaceful, quiet place surrounded by... See full review

  • Iris Living History
  • Oct 7, 2014
The Morris House Hotel offers a sophisticated small hotel experience within an 18th century setting, making it a unique Philadelphian venue. Continental breakfast is available each morning and tea each afternoon, while dinner is served at the  M Restaurant, which features a garden patio and delicious French-style cuisine. The Morris House Hotel’s concierge service is on hand to cater for any need, big or small. 
Rooms
This hotel has a very pleasant ambiance and guests are made to feel very welcome. All the rooms are distinctly decorated, which helps enhance the whole experience of staying here. Antique-style furniture is found in the rooms, along with historical artwork, colorful upholstery and marble bathroom tiles. Most rooms also feature hardwood flooring, and there are views of the garden or across the city from the guest rooms. Luxury rooms and a luxury suite are available. Amenities at the Morris House Hotel include Jacuzzi tubs with separate showers, free wireless Internet, cable TV, hair-dryer, heating and air-conditioning. Enjoy a luxurious turndown service including Godiva chocolates, and fresh flowers on arrival.
Highlights
  • Beautiful building, originally constructed in 1787
  • Private garden with a patio for outside dining
  • Daily continental breakfast, with afternoon tea featuring fresh cookies
Nearby attractions
  • Walnut Street Theater (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Lights of Liberty (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Philadelphia History Museum at the Atwater Kent (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Independence Visitor Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Independence Hall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ride the Ducks (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • American Philosophical Society Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Liberty Bell (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Carpenter's Hall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Constitution Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morris House Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$129
4.0 / 5 211 reviews
★★★★
$127
4.2 / 5 191 reviews
★★★
$129
4.0 / 5 66 reviews
★★★
$129
4.1 / 5 202 reviews
★★★
$139
4.2 / 5 141 reviews

Morris House Hotel Rooms

Large Suite
A spacious extended suite with a separate living room and bedroom. This cozy suite is modernly designed with hardwood floors in the living room area. Bedroom area offers queen size bed, bedside tables, large closet and a plasma TV. The bedroom door opens to the living room connecting to the kitchen and dining area. Living room is garlanded with a comfortable couch, cocktail table and guest chairs. Large bathroom is connected to the bedroom and separated by door. This gorgeous, marble bathroom has a Jacuzzi bathtub and a separate shower.
Luxury Room
The room offers 1 Queen size bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV,Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.4 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.6 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.6 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.4 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.6 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.6 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.1 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.2 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.3 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.7 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.3 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.1 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.6 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.6 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Morris House Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pharmacystudent
Single
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Antique Beauty

I was a little skeptical about staying at Morris House, but after reading reviews, I decided to stay here, considering it is cheaper than other hotels in the area. What a good choice I made! The staff was amazing; they were accommodating and friendly. My room had a unique look and it was very clean. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was nice and clean, and the hotel for the most part was quiet. The area where the hotel is situated is in a safe neighborhood, close to a lot of (good) restaurants, tourist attractions, and shopping. I would recommend staying here and would gladly stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim D.
Couples
Ford City
Aug 23, 2015

Awesome hotel

We chose the Morris House Hotel because of the location but fell in love with it because of its beauty and staff. Everyone was super nice. We arrived late and the gentleman at the desk was so kind and helped me up the stairs with my luggage. You are in walking distance to every thing you need. I would recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iris Living History
Single
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Oct 7, 2014

Wow, lovely quiet time

I was searching for a place where I could recharge my life. A peaceful, quiet place surrounded by my love of history. To compliment my desire, of a few restful day's, the details of tea time and wine were lovely. My desire to merge myself in the history of our country returning to rest in the beautiful Morris Hotel was divine. Instead of leaving the history in the streets of Philadelphia I was able to continue living history in a nicely decor comfortable hotel room. Traveling to historical places in the US is one of my resent pleasures. This has been the first time I stayed in a historical building which enriched my journey through history.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Morris Hotel has a wonderful restaurant. Plus there are a few cafe's a few blocks away from the hotel. Their food is was delicious, different and nicely priced.

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen Snake
Single
Eureka Springs, AR
Mar 19, 2014

I love this place

I wanted to be in a historic hotel in the historic district; wow, I hit a home run. I liked the place, the staff and the restaurant. Only complaint - restaurant and bar closed on Monday night. Good breakfast, very strong coffee (l like this). Price seemed fair to me. thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to see the Barns Collection and see lots of Philadelphia - go past LOVE at JFK plaza and enjoy the the beautiful buildings.

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barbie in NYC
Friends
New York
Dec 26, 2013

beautiful place to say in Philly

This place was all about our Philly trip. We were 2 girl to stay one night in Phiily for the first time and fully enjoyed the hotel. the place was great and huge and clean, Peoples are too much nice! haha one thing to let you know, by booking on their own web site, you can get better option to choose. I will definitely recommend anyone around me who will visit and stay in downtown Philly. Also, if you stay with them, can get afternoon tea tiem with their sown baked cookies at lobbi dining room. Breakfast was also quite ok!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dad and teen daughter
Business
Raleigh, NC
Dec 5, 2013

Bargain stay in Central Philadelphia

No only a charming historic building but this hotel has all I need for a business stay: clean, comfortable rooms, reliable wireless internet, excellent quality continental breakfast, responsive and friendly staff, central location in town and close to regional rail/subway. Would be excellent for a pleasure visit too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pennsylvania newbie
Couples
Walnut Creek, California
May 11, 2013

Philly First-Timer

I really liked everything about the hotel except for the shower. Very small and water temp control was impossible. The location cannot be beat if you want to tour the historic museums and find great restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Amada!

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NoBetterWife
Couples
Baltimore
Apr 3, 2013

Historical Getaway!

My husband needed to get away from the stresses of his work so I planned a surprise overnight getaway for him. I found Morris House Hotel online and it was just what I wanted. When I pulled the car up in front of the hotel, he said in awe, "is this where we're staying?" We both love historical places and this place is packed with it. The concierge was able to tell us about the history of the house and also stories about the restoration. It has been tastefully restored with all the comforts of home. It's my ideal place! History in comfort and style!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Morris House Hotel is a short walking distance from Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and many other historical attractions in Philadelphia.

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GURBGY
Couples
NJ
Mar 14, 2013

Perfectly Lovely

Unique spot, worlds above your average hotel. Colonial building re-done with real charm. Terrific staff.' Couldn't have been more pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zinc

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B Suzanne
Single
Springfield Ohio
Mar 13, 2013

Amazing getway by myself!

I couldn't have asked for more. Comfortable, friendly, with a great location. The staff was so helpful and polite. It was just a great place if you love the history of Phily. Was not impressed at all with the restaurant next to the hotel. There are so many other good places to eat in the surounding area and within walking distance that doesn't matter. I plan on returning next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to tons of jewerly stores. Theatre and nice French Bistro.

Review of Morris House Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bsuea
Couples
SAn Antonio, Texas
Dec 15, 2012

Quaint and Comfortable

The staff, especially the manager, did everything possible to make this a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The location in central town could not have been better. The cleanliness of the room was top notch. When I go back to Philadelphia I will stay at Morris House Hotel. The price was also very good. The M, Morris House Restaurant, was superb. Friendliness is the byword at both the hotel and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Terminal Market is an eating dream.

Back to menu Return to top