$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
39 reviews
Perfect location, awesome view and room

I loved our view of the park, we could people watch the tourists, our room looked like it came... See full review

  • Christy M.
  • Aug 5, 2014
Very good stay

The location is perfect. The hotel is clean, stylish and overall a very good stay. It is a Kimpton... See full review

  • Daniel Jr
  • Aug 3, 2014
Across the street from Philadelphias iconic Liberty Bell is the Hotel Monaco. Built in 1906 the historic Lafayette building has been renovated and refurbished in the prestigious Old City section of Center City. The new Hotel Monaco Philadelphia features Red Owl Tavern a 125-seat chef-driven restaurant and bar and Stratus Rooftop Bar and Lounge which is a spacious rooftop bar overlooking Independence Park.

Hotel Map

39.9489 -75.1482
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NE; Northeast Philadelphia Airport, (PNE), 14.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 beds 316 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.
Majestic Suite
Majestic Suite with 1 King bed is 1366 Sq. Ft. iHome Etro bath amenities.
Parkview King Accessible Room
Parkview King Accessible Room with 1 King 330 Sq. Ft. iHome Etro bath amenities.
Parkview Queen Queen Accessible
Parkview Queen Queen Accessible room with 2 beds is 350 Sq. Ft. iHome
King Spa Accessible Room
King Spa Accessible room with 1 King bed is 410 Sq. Ft. iHome Etro bath amenities.
One Bedroom Accessible Suite
One Bedroom Accessible Suite with 1 King bed 640 Sq. Ft. iHome Etro bath amenities.
Majestic Parlor
Majestic Parlor with pullout sofa bed is 1366 Sq. Ft. iHome Etro bath amenities.
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe room with 1 King bed is 294 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.
Parkview King Room
Parkview King room with 1 King bed 330 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe room with 2 beds 358 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.
Parkview Queen Queen Room
Parkview Queen Queen Room with 2 beds 348 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.
King Spa Room
King Spa room with 1 King bed is 414 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.
Corner King Spa Room
Corner King Spa Room with 1 King bed 464 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite with 1 King bed 640 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.
Corner One Bedroom Suite
Corner One Bedroom Suite with 1 King bed 655 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Independence Hall: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.8 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.9 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715 mi

Dining

Red Owl Tavern
Red Owl Tavern a main floor 125-seat chef driven restaurant and bar with expansive outdoor seating. Red Owl Tavern is Philadelphias 1st indie-modern steakhouse. It incorporates a gourmet deli and butcher shop concept highlighted by hand crafted sandwich
Stratus
Our rooftop lounge Stratus offers seasonal cuisine and handcrafted cocktails as the most picturesque part of the city unfolds before you. Open daily from 1130am to 2am with Happy Hour daily from 3pm to 6pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
elisatin
vienna, va
Oct 28, 2013

Failure to serve

We arrived around 9:30 p.m. and were greeted by a manager, who told us they had overbooked so our reserved room was not available. Their plan: to send us to an airport hotel, no where near where we needed to be. We were given no other options, even though a quick Web search showed other hotels in Philadelphia and NJ with vacancies. This hotel failed on three levels: booking system, service, and plain old intelligence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jbiddle1993
Business
Monticello, Indiana
Jul 3, 2013

Business Traveler with Family

This hotel was convenient to the historical sites of Philadelphia. It was also within walking distance of the convention center to make this a good blend of taking the family on a business trip and providing activities for the kids throughout the day while I am at work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to history...it's right outside the window.

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kdig
New York, NY
Jan 27, 2014

Solid!

Amazing rooms, free happy hour, and historic sites! A bit pricey, but solid overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachel Robi
Washington, DC
Feb 19, 2014

Nice hotel but they forgot to clean our room

Would have loved the hotel. It had a good restaurant. The room was quiet. The bed was comfortable. Shower pressure was great. Free champagne hour. Dog friendly. Great location! However, they definitely didn't clean much, if any, of our room. The sheets looked clean and the bed well made, but the bathroom counter and the inside of the sink itself, had hair and dirt. The night stands also had noticeable crumbs and glass rings. The housekeeping manager apologized and offered us a different room. I chose this hotel because it's supposed to be one of the nicest in Philadelphia, so I was confident that I'd get a clean room. I was disappointed and surprised, and never quiet comfortable after seeing such poor housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buddakan is an excellent Asian restaurant. Would like to try Amada next time.

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MauP
Maryland
Apr 21, 2014

Wonderful Weekend

We stayed in the city to see the sights and visit the museums. The staff (especially the doormen) at the hotel were very nice. We were within walking distance or a short walk away from most of our activities. The beds were somewhat comfortable. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bluechick
Falkirk, Scotland
Oct 23, 2012

Short and sweet

Only on a one night stopover but it was a good experience. The hotel had only been open a week so everything was fresh and new. The bed was extremely comfortable and shower etc worked well. The decor was not my taste and combination of some colours was mind bogling! The hotel is in a very good location and we had a lovely view of the liberty bell from our room. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lhpt
brooklyn, n.y.
Feb 4, 2013

great overnight

The hotel is beautifully decorated, both public and private places. I was constantly noticing the way it was lighted, with amazing 'cage' lighting down the center of one aisle of the lobby, interesting fixtures in the private rooms, some that took a little exploring to figure out how to turn on. The colors throughout were bold without being overwhelming. The location was perfect, within walking distance of museums, restaurants etc. Our stay was marred somewhat by the fire alarms going off at midnight twice and again early Sunday morning. There also was some disconnect between staff, as we requested late checkout but our keys were rendered inoperable before that time, necessitating a trip downstairs twice. The staff was apologetic. Overall, a lovely place in the center of things in Philadelphia!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss the Constitution Center, a place I plan on revisiting since one visit is definitely not enough!

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJMa22
MA
Apr 1, 2013

Pretty hotel

Pleased with the room, especially decor. It's a pet friendly hotel which I don't love but it actually didn't smell of animals. Great location - right next to liberty bell. I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chetta
philadelphia
Aug 12, 2013

Very Charming

The hotel was clean, comfortable and has good service. The décor is charming and pleasant. This was my second time staying here and would definitely stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family fun visit
Philadelphia
Oct 8, 2013

Quick Philly visit

Everyone was friendly and helpful. Brought our kids and they seemed welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Franklin square was walking distance and great fun for the kids!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search