$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
35 reviews
great experience

excellent, comfortable, no complaints, free wine/beer for happy hr See full review

  • chazzz
  • Jun 9, 2014
wish I did not have to leave

This is just a happy nice place to be. The staff were welcoming and accommodating, the room was... See full review

  • SFLM
  • Jun 7, 2014
Across the street from Philadelphias iconic Liberty Bell is the Hotel Monaco. Built in 1906 the historic Lafayette building has been renovated and refurbished in the prestigious Old City section of Center City. The new Hotel Monaco Philadelphia features Red Owl Tavern a 125-seat chef-driven restaurant and bar and Stratus Rooftop Bar and Lounge which is a spacious rooftop bar overlooking Independence Park.

Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 beds 316 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.
Majestic Suite
Majestic Suite with 1 King bed is 1366 Sq. Ft. iHome Etro bath amenities.
Parkview King Accessible Room
Parkview King Accessible Room with 1 King 330 Sq. Ft. iHome Etro bath amenities.
Parkview Queen Queen Accessible
Parkview Queen Queen Accessible room with 2 beds is 350 Sq. Ft. iHome
King Spa Accessible Room
King Spa Accessible room with 1 King bed is 410 Sq. Ft. iHome Etro bath amenities.
One Bedroom Accessible Suite
One Bedroom Accessible Suite with 1 King bed 640 Sq. Ft. iHome Etro bath amenities.
Majestic Parlor
Majestic Parlor with pullout sofa bed is 1366 Sq. Ft. iHome Etro bath amenities.
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe room with 1 King bed is 294 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.
Parkview King Room
Parkview King room with 1 King bed 330 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe room with 2 beds 358 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.
Parkview Queen Queen Room
Parkview Queen Queen Room with 2 beds 348 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.
King Spa Room
King Spa room with 1 King bed is 414 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.
Corner King Spa Room
Corner King Spa Room with 1 King bed 464 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite with 1 King bed 640 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.
Corner One Bedroom Suite
Corner One Bedroom Suite with 1 King bed 655 Sq. Ft. iHome C.O. Bigelow bath amenities.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9489 -75.1482
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NE; Northeast Philadelphia Airport, (PNE), 14.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Independence Hall: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.8 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.9 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715 mi

Dining

Red Owl Tavern
Red Owl Tavern a main floor 125-seat chef driven restaurant and bar with expansive outdoor seating. Red Owl Tavern is Philadelphias 1st indie-modern steakhouse. It incorporates a gourmet deli and butcher shop concept highlighted by hand crafted sandwich
Stratus
Our rooftop lounge Stratus offers seasonal cuisine and handcrafted cocktails as the most picturesque part of the city unfolds before you. Open daily from 1130am to 2am with Happy Hour daily from 3pm to 6pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
paristravelersam
Dayton, OH
May 19, 2014

Great location, high quality

This hotel has a great location, next to Independence Hall. The staff is very attentive and helpful. The rooms are very nice and have been recently remodeled. The rooftop bar is not to be missed. It is a little pricey, but a very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shaun super shaun
Philadelphia,Pa
Jun 5, 2013

Amazing!!

We stayed here the night after our weddng for a mini getaway, before we go on our honeymoon in July. I can't even begin to tell you how impressed I was with our experience. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. When they found out we had just gotten married they updated us to a suite! I am a wedding photographer and shot a wedding in Annapolis at one of the Kimpton Hotels, and thought it was so nice I wanted to stay at one after our wedding. This one was even better than the experience I had there! The customer service was the best I have ever experienced, and I have stayed a a lot of hotels! We are even considering booking a week at a Kimpton for our honeymoon! P.s. my chef husband was extremly impressed with the Red Owl restaurant where we had snacks and drinks before heading out for the night. I will definitley be recommending Kimpton to everyone I know!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JaeJ
Marlton, NJ
Nov 28, 2013

Hotel Monaco, My Home Away From Home

Each time I stay at this hotel, the experience is always better than the last. Quality, luxury and most important, customer service, makes Hotel Monaco my first choice for getaways when I dont want to travel too far from home. It is indeed my "home away from home"....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Red Owl Tavern is definitely a great spot to dine at. The crabcake appetizer was pleasing to the palate and the Trout w shrimp and lemon aioli was that to be desired...

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Avacenna
Dallas, TX
Mar 26, 2013

Earns its Rating ...

The Hotel Monaco didn't disappoint. The decor was intriguing. The lobby was beautiful and unconventionally located just out of sight, to the right of the entrance rotunda. The doormen were on the job 24/7, greeting returning guests and opening the doors, even bidding me farewell by name when I checked out. The rooms were spacious, well-appointed, and nicely lit. The Red Owl Tavern downstairs was trendy, urban-rustic, and attracted locals as well as visitors - even if it's a little on the pricey side. And what can you say about the hotel's location, 50 yards from Independence Hall, 100 yards from the Liberty Bell, in the vibrant Old City district?? Hotel Monaco is not inexpensive, but it can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tickets to tour Independence Hall (30 minutes and well-guided) are free - but are only available at the Visitor Center, which is across the park, one block away on Market Street, facing Chestnut Street. Tickets are typically gone by 1 p.m., so stop by in the morning to select your desired time. In between Independence Hall and the Visitor Center is the contemporary-looking building housing the Liberty Bell - also free.

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rami
Beverly Hills , CA
Oct 20, 2012

Absolutely amazing hotel. Awesome, smiley staff, kind and generous. Very clean and modern. A newly f

All I would say is that I have been to 46 countries and all kinds of hotels, B&B's and chateaux but this was very beautiful, unique and indeed most worthed for the money. I most strongly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luis r
Venezuela
Jan 4, 2013

perfect

Great location, beautyful room, staff it is fantastic, short walk to everything, reading market, chinatown, main históricos points walking, if travel with kids dont miss the "please touch museum"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hop on hop off 1 block away

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Because I said so
Baltimore md
Nov 20, 2013

Great stay for the marathon

The room is clean and very luxurious - modern and cool. The staff... They went Above and beyond. They put out coffe and bagels for the marathon crowd at 3:30 am and made sure everyone had knowledge of how to get to the race course. Convenient location, would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great resturaunts on second and third sts... Can't go wrong at the continental or sassafras for a drink. Awesome artisnal coffee at ménagire on 3ird... Low key, friendly and great coffee.

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philly expat
Chicago
Mar 13, 2014

Stylish and comfortable getaway in historic philly

Lovely hotel, great service, appreciated the free coffee and tea each morning and refreshments in the lobby. Great location within easy walking distance of galleries, great restaurants, and historic attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Campos , on 2nd and market, makes the best cheesesteaks in town. Try the Chicken Oink

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moralenglit
KFAR Saba Israel
Apr 9, 2014

A gem of an experience

What a gem! The decor, the atmosphere, the wine gatherings (and Opening Day for the Philadelphia Phillies brought beer, cracker jacks, and soft pretzels as well) were the icing on the cake. The hotel staff was professional and warm ... A special call out to T who found me juggling shopping bags and an umbrella and coffee and rushed over to lend a hand and a smile! The room was spacious with a great view of The Liberty Bell, and had outlets galore. Many thanks for a great visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lizzie Daniels
Harrisburg, PA
Oct 11, 2012

Above expectations

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel just five days after they opened. I booked the hotel for the amazing decor as seen in the pictures posted online, but it exceeded my expectations in so many ways! The lobby, room, restaurant...everything was beautiful, and just our style. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was incredibly attentive and polite. They made me want to be there, and were also very helpful with questions I had. The location was awesome...in old city Philly, just a few blocks from many restaurants and bars which we walked to. We also visited the rooftop bar, which was a very impressive setting with a great bartender too. We went to the restaurant in the hotel for dinner one night. It was called the Red Owl. And although it's a bit pricey it was totally worth it. The food was amazing. We couldn't have asked for a better stay, and will definitely be coming again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top