$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family fun visit
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 8, 2013

Quick Philly visit

Everyone was friendly and helpful. Brought our kids and they seemed welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Franklin square was walking distance and great fun for the kids!

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chetta
Business
philadelphia
Aug 12, 2013

Very Charming

The hotel was clean, comfortable and has good service. The décor is charming and pleasant. This was my second time staying here and would definitely stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
full time Working Mom
Business
Michigan
Jul 11, 2013

Best area to stay!

The hotel was amazing. The staff was always there to help with the bags or anything we needed. It was right in the heart of the historical district. The only think that would of made it more enjoyable would be a coffee pot in the room. The room had everything from fuzzy socks, robes, free use umbrella to pure luxury but no coffee. It was free if you went down to the lobby. I would recommend this hotel to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CoupleNY
Business
New York
Jul 6, 2013

Mini-Vaca

Fantastic experience! The hotel is in a great location to the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall- right across the street- just steps away. The staff is outstanding- very helpful and nice and there is always fresh fruit water available in the lobbey. The rooms were extremely clean and very well decorated- we'd love to interior decorate our own home the way their hotel is decorated. We loved our stay and can't wait to stay there again if we should ever visit Philly. Lastly, we loved that they were dog friendly- made our mini-vaca just perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is centrally located to the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall.

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jbiddle1993
Business
Monticello, Indiana
Jul 3, 2013

Business Traveler with Family

This hotel was convenient to the historical sites of Philadelphia. It was also within walking distance of the convention center to make this a good blend of taking the family on a business trip and providing activities for the kids throughout the day while I am at work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to history...it's right outside the window.

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shaun super shaun
Business
Philadelphia,Pa
Jun 5, 2013

Amazing!!

We stayed here the night after our weddng for a mini getaway, before we go on our honeymoon in July. I can't even begin to tell you how impressed I was with our experience. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. When they found out we had just gotten married they updated us to a suite! I am a wedding photographer and shot a wedding in Annapolis at one of the Kimpton Hotels, and thought it was so nice I wanted to stay at one after our wedding. This one was even better than the experience I had there! The customer service was the best I have ever experienced, and I have stayed a a lot of hotels! We are even considering booking a week at a Kimpton for our honeymoon! P.s. my chef husband was extremly impressed with the Red Owl restaurant where we had snacks and drinks before heading out for the night. I will definitley be recommending Kimpton to everyone I know!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ctwoodring
Business
Boston
May 11, 2013

Spend more time

The only negative to my stay at the Monaco, is that I could not stay longer. This hotel is perfectly situated in Old City and an easy walk to Walnut St where there are lots of restaurants and shops. Ask for Rashid, he knows Philly but one if his talents is shining shoes. It's free which is rare. Tip him well. The folks at the Monaco are great; terrific service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check out the roof top bar. The restaurant is great.

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJMa22
Business
MA
Apr 1, 2013

Pretty hotel

Pleased with the room, especially decor. It's a pet friendly hotel which I don't love but it actually didn't smell of animals. Great location - right next to liberty bell. I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Avacenna
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 26, 2013

Earns its Rating ...

The Hotel Monaco didn't disappoint. The decor was intriguing. The lobby was beautiful and unconventionally located just out of sight, to the right of the entrance rotunda. The doormen were on the job 24/7, greeting returning guests and opening the doors, even bidding me farewell by name when I checked out. The rooms were spacious, well-appointed, and nicely lit. The Red Owl Tavern downstairs was trendy, urban-rustic, and attracted locals as well as visitors - even if it's a little on the pricey side. And what can you say about the hotel's location, 50 yards from Independence Hall, 100 yards from the Liberty Bell, in the vibrant Old City district?? Hotel Monaco is not inexpensive, but it can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tickets to tour Independence Hall (30 minutes and well-guided) are free - but are only available at the Visitor Center, which is across the park, one block away on Market Street, facing Chestnut Street. Tickets are typically gone by 1 p.m., so stop by in the morning to select your desired time. In between Independence Hall and the Visitor Center is the contemporary-looking building housing the Liberty Bell - also free.

Review of Monaco Philadelphia a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mattie SF
Business
San Franisco
Feb 11, 2013

Amazing decor, super friendly people

Would definitely stay at this place again. Staff greets you warmly. Was even given a hot toddy while we were waiting to check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top