$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Loews Philadelphia Hotel

4 stars
1200 Market St, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
166 reviews
Staff went above and beyond

I stayed there between April 2nd and April 5th. I switched room so I can shared hotel cost with my... See full review

  • Forever Foreigner
  • Apr 5, 2014
Great location

Awesome location and easy to walk to great restaurants, bars, and museums. Beautiful historical... See full review

  • Alex87
  • Mar 4, 2014
Historic landmark Center City hotel with luxury rooms, prime location
Loews Philadelphia Hotel is just steps from the Convention Center and the Reading Terminal Market. The hotel is also within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and cultural attractions. Loews offers guests oversized rooms with loft-like high ceilings and beautiful views. A 15,000-square-foot spa and fitness center includes a sauna, steam room and indoor lap pool. Be sure to check out the 33rd floor for unforgettable city views.

Highlights
  • The building was the country's first ultramodern skyscraper in 1932 and is designated as a National Historic Landmark
  • State-of-the art wellness facility includes a 20-meter, two-lane heated lap pool, fitness center and spa
  • Near City Hall and the Convention Center
Rooms
The 33-story Loews Philadelphia Hotel has 581 guestrooms and suites with city views. Decor is contemporary, with 10-foot ceilings, chaise lounges, curved wooden desks and glass bedside tables. All rooms include complimentary amenities, such as 300-thread-count bed linens, Lather bath products, luxury robes, Keurig coffee makers, in-room safes, daily newspapers, MP3 alarm clocks and flat-screen televisions. The hotel's Concierge Club offers three private floors at the top of the hotel, with 55 luxury rooms and access to a lounge and library. A free continental breakfast is offered to Concierge Club guests.

Features
The dog- and cat-friendly hotel offers pets amenities such as room service menus, specialized bedding, leashes, collars, litter boxes, water bowls, scratch poles, dog-walking routes, and pet-walking and pet-sitting services. There is a limit of two pets per room. Call for fees, details.

The hotel is also kid-friendly. There is a lending library of games, movies and books. Children receive age-appropriate welcome gifts upon check-in. There are special children's menus and supervised recreational programs for young children and teens. Call for fees, details.

Transportation:
  • SEPTA Subway 13th St. Station (1 minute)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (2 minutes)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (5 minutes)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (18 minutes)
Attractions:
  • Reading Terminal Market (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)  
  • Historic district (0.7 mi/ 1.13 km)
  • University of Pennsylvania (1.8 mi/ 2.89 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (4.9 mi/ 7.89 km)
  • Sesame Place (27 mi/ 43.45 km)
Business:
  • 42,000 square feet of flexible function space
  • Certified meeting planners
  • High-speed Internet access (free in lobby, fee in rooms)
  • Full-service business center
  • Banquet facilities/event catering

Loews Philadelphia Hotel Rooms

Premier
All Superior Room amenities plus Concierge Club access including continental breakfast Mon-Fri, free wifi, free 800/local calls, top 3 floors of hotel, spectacular views.
Superior
Wraps you in 320 sq ft of comfort. Floors 6,10. Art Deco modern style. Keurig coffee tea, in room safe, iHome docking station, mini-bar, plenty of easily accessible electrical outlets, ergonamic desk chair, 24-hr room service, turndown upon request. Free

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Racquetball courts
Boating
Miniature golf
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Video game player
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Loews Philadelphia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9519 -75.1599
Nearby airports
Philadelphia Intl Airport, (PHL), 9.00, MI, NE; Northeast Philadelphia Airport, (PNE), 14.60, MI, SW; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 83.00, MI, SW; Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton Airport, (ABE), 65.90, MI, S; Lancaster Airport, (LNS), 76.00, MI, E
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.3 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Dining

Bank Bourbon
Using traditional American fare and techniques as its base, Bank & Bourbon offers dishes that have become synonymous with American cuisine. With an equal focus on American classics, the bar features a bourbon barrel-aging program for unique house-aged coc

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (166)

Ratings and reviews for Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
27 out of 166
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Audi Runner
Phila, Pa
Dec 31, 2013

Birthday getaway

Very nice experience, very impressive room. Room service was nice. Parking fee is way to much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Amber H.
South Jersey
Oct 16, 2013

Son's 13th birthday

We had a corner room on a higher floor..it was AWESOME!! We had a great mom and son time at The Lowe's in Philly. Yes the price is high, but you def get what you pay for and it was worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Touring Grandma
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jun 30, 2013

Center City Crown Jewel

The location of this hotel was perfect. Arriving by plane could not have been easier. A short train ride in to the city with a stop across the street from the hotel was very convenient. The staff of the hotel was friendly and helpful. The concierge desk provided maps and bus information. The room attendants asked what time of the day would be best for us to have the room cleaned, and they maintained it well. The location for sightseeing was ideal. Walking to all the attractions was easy as this hotel is in the middle of the city. We walked to Independence Mall, Old Town, museums and parks. Also, the hotel was furnished beautifully, and our room had a fabulous view of the western side of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many very good restaurants are nearby on S. Broad, Chestnut, and South St.

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Vacationlover3
Syracuse, NY
Apr 14, 2013

A bit pricey

I feel that for the price of this hotel, it was just ordinary. Wifi was over $12/day. It took a while to figure out where our room was, as it was missing the sign to denote the room number. Parking for hotel was also pricey at $45/day, although it was valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Market is just a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Girly Q
Blairstown, NJ
Feb 4, 2013

Family Business

The staff was very helpful with all of our questions and the room was extremely comfortable. We would definately stay there again if we were to visit Philadelphia again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
CAKETCHEN
Spartanburg SC
Dec 29, 2012

Excellent service

We had a wonderful experience from the moment we checked in. absolutely no complaints. Just kudos!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Grammy Z
NJ
May 22, 2012

Wonderful experience!

We had a weekend special which included accomodations on the 30th floor -What a view of the city! All the staff were friendly and helpful. All the facilities we used at the hotel were top notch. We attended an event at the convention center, so the location across the street was super convenient. And walking to other local attractions & restaurants is easy. Only complaint is that the hot water in the room was not hot enough. Would stay again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Fefacruz
São Paulo, Brasil
Oct 31, 2011

Don't make phone calls from there!

I've got a horrible surprise when I ckecked out! The hotel wanted to charge me $ 300 for international phone calls. Although those calls tend to be expensive, this was way too much for the time I spent talking on the phone! I had an argument with the clerk, and my bill was cut by half. After all, it was a phone call, not a bottle of fine wine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Finley
CT
Aug 12, 2011

Very nice - no surprises

Room was clean, quiet (24th floor) - maybe because occupancy was light. Staff was very cordial and helpful. Concierges were hit or miss - one was very helpful and had some GREAT recommendations for dinner and breakfast - another sent us to a restaurant which didn't serve breakfast and wasn't even open. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Franklin Institute is under-rated - we all had fun

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Shyko
Miami Lakes, Fl
Aug 6, 2011

Philadelphia 2011

- We were watching Tv - Missing better room service, free internet and more vendor machines - I had better trips on the past

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top