$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Loews Philadelphia Hotel

4 stars
1200 Market St, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
172 reviews
Loews Hotel

Awesome staff! Very clean! Right in the Center City area. See full review

  • RockyRaccoon
  • Jul 24, 2014
Amazing stay in the city of brotherly love!

Loews is centrally located and beautiful. It is in a renovated Art Deco building in center city... See full review

  • Fonzy and Mike
  • Jun 15, 2014
Housed in the Philadelphia Savings Fund Society Building, the Loews Hotel Philadelphia wins big on its minimalist slate-grey style, with touches like the house spirits aging in oak barrels behind the bar at Bank & Bourbon restaurant. Families are taken care of with the Loews Loves Kids program - there are music download cards and a whole library of board games and Gameboys for teens, while little ones will enjoy the books and crayons provided in-room. Parents will also love the 'Kids Closet' supplies, from toys to baby blankets, but probably not as much as they’ll enjoy the body scrubs and steam rooms after escaping to the 12 Fit Spa.

Key facts
  • 581 guestrooms
  • 12 specialty suites
  • 54 concierge club rooms
  • Lap pool
  • Spa
  • Pets allowed (deposit required)
  • Gym
  • 24-hour in-room dining
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Bank & Bourbon restaurant
Neighborhood
Walk out the front of the Loews Hotel Philadelphia, and you're only a short walk away from the historic sights of Philadelphia, such as the Liberty Bell, the Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul, and the grand layer-cake that is Independence Hall. Head over to nearby Rittenhouse Square for the best selection of Italian, American and Asian cuisine, or catch the subway from 11th Street Station to wander even further afield in the City of Brotherly Love.
Hints and tips
If you can't bear to leave your pet behind, don't forget to ask about the special packages (referring to the hotel's pet policy) which not only lend you litter boxes and pet beds, but pet-sitters if you're out all day in meetings. Animal room service is even provided!

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9519 -75.1599
Nearby airports
Philadelphia Intl Airport, (PHL), 9.00, MI, NE; Northeast Philadelphia Airport, (PNE), 14.60, MI, SW; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 83.00, MI, SW; Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton Airport, (ABE), 65.90, MI, S; Atlantic City Intl Airport, (ACY), 53.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Loews Philadelphia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Loews Philadelphia Hotel Rooms

Premier
All Superior Room amenities plus Concierge Club access including continental breakfast Mon-Fri, free wifi, free 800/local calls, top 3 floors of hotel, spectacular views.
Superior
320 sq ft of comfort. Floors 6,10. Art Deco modern style. Keurig coffee tea, in room safe, iHome docking station, mini-bar, plenty of easily accessible electrical outlets, ergonomic desk chair, 24-hr room service, turndown upon request. Free wifi.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Racquetball courts
Boating
Miniature golf
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Video game player
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.3 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Dining

Bank and Bourbon
Bank and Bourbon offers dishes that have become synonymous with American cuisine. With focus on American classics, the bar features a bourbon barrel-aging program for house-aged cocktails and liquors as well as a curated list of craft beers and wines

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norristown
Dec 18, 2008

Great holiday!

The location was magnificent for all we wanted to see in downtown Philly. The room was cozy and just like home! The staff was remarkably friendly and so helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Apr 26, 2011

Great location,super pleasant staff

Excellent central location with helpful staff pointing out places of interest and how to get there. Would have liked to have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Victor Cafe where the waiters sing opera was great as they did a wonderful version of "happy Birthday' for our 7 year old twins.

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arlene - Super Satisfied
Chicago, IL
Jan 2, 2010

Wonderful 3 Day Sightseeing Trip

My Mom & I have asthma and needed non-smoking room. In addition, my mother was in a wheelchair. We received outstanding accommodations! We were given a non-smoking & wheelchair accessible room which was so roomy and wonderful to move around with the wheelchair! The bathroom was spacious and the most wheelchair friendly one I have ever been in! The hotel staff were friendly. The room was beautiful, well decorated, had a small refrigerator (which meant a lot as I was a diabetic and helped greatly for snacks and breakfast)! The location was wonderful. Easy to get there from airport and so many places within walking distance and/or by city transit! Reading Terminal Market (old Reading Railroad train terminal), Mint Building, Liberty Bell, and the Big Bus Company Tour and double decker buses around Philadelphia were all right there! The hotel staff and concierge were excellent and very helpful in sharing easiest way to get where we wanted to go and also contacted airport shuttle (very reasonable)for our transportation back and forth. Hotel even had rooms for people with pets! Older hotel set-up but room was very clean, spacious, modern decor and room furniture, easy to get back and forth -- perfect location for sightseeing downtown Philadelphia and hotel room price very reasonable! If you want to see the main historical sights in Philadelphia, this hotel location is perfect! I would highly recommend to all and would definitely go back to this hotel again! [...] Was awesome! - Hotel also offered free warm-freshly baked cookies and freshly squeezed lemonade refreshments in the lobby each evening between 4 - 6 p.m. for the guests as they went up to their rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market - (with various deli's and food offerings, such as hot dogs, beef, buffet, sandwiches, grocery market, souvenirs, etc.), Starbuck's, Little Italy and Hard Rock Cafe within 2 blocks of hotel. Hotel does have a restaurant - we didn't use. We were on a budget and was a little higher priced than we preferred. Restaurant/Lounge was a well known night scene in the area and had a lot of outsiders visit especially in evening. (Not sure if they had dancing but did have fancy dining and cocktails which may have included some entertainment)in evenings. Hotel had room service and same restaurant/lounge above had breakfast in the morning and maybe lunch too. No other restaurants in hotel, except this one. Didn't use, only walked by and saw fancy menu's and noticed large group of people in evening in hallway waiting to enter lounge.

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
redz 53
Philadelphia 'burbs
Nov 17, 2013

great anniversary getaway

Booked online. Wanted somethign near theatres yet also near dining and late night. Place was wonderful. Staff couldn't do enough. room was outstanding, quiet, clean and comfortable and full of amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roguewave
Business
NYC
Aug 5, 2011

best in Philly

great service , fantastic food for room service could not have been more pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

reading terminal market

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bonniebee
El Paso, Tx
May 12, 2010

Hotel

We took a lovely Mother's Day dinner cruise down the Delaware River and attended a convention in Dover, DEand then took a "hop on hop off" tour of philadelphia. The only complaint about the hotel was the $38.00 a day for parking our car....[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the dinner cruise..it was lots of fun and had great food.

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MRGOALIE
St Charles, MO, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Great location, great service we will definately book Loews again

What a great stay !!! From the time we arrived to the time we left we can't say enough about how we were treated and all our needs accommodated. Even during the hurricane the staff didn't miss a beat. There is no doubt that we will return either here or at another Loews Hotel. What a friendly staff they have as well as the best location in Philly. It is was worth the extra few dollars to stay here as well as booking the corner luxury king size room. We were upgraded upon arrival to the club level, even though they had a huge convention and even bigger wedding in house. We were celebrating a birthday and this was an unexpected "gift". If I had to give the hotel one opportunity to work on, it would be to upgrade/refresh some of the public space /room furnishings. It wasn't bad, just a little tired in some areas...probably because of the popularity and the huge occupancy this place runs...things get used, which is understandable. Thank you so much to the Loews staff and management for a great long weekend. Maybe next time ....no hurricane please. (kidding) !!!! :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Save your money, don't rent a car. The public transportation in the city is fantastic, and right outside the front lobby door....is was GREAT !!!!!!

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, NC
Mar 10, 2010

Good business hotel in the Center City.

Loews Philadelphia is a quality hotel with a hint of luxury without being "snooty". A beautiful building with an immaculate decor and comfortable room. The only complaint is the night staff did not pick up my shoes for the complimentary shine offered by the hotel. All else was well to my liking (and I'm very picky!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not use the Business Center to avoid paying the 24-hour Internet connect fee in your room; you'll be charged the same amount to use the Business Center for 20 minutes!

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Razor 2013
Business
NH
Apr 10, 2013

business in the heart of town.

Great deal, great value, pefect location for significant other to shop and walking to best dinning in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The reading market, historic locations and best dinning are all walking distance from Loews

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joel the Red
Michigan
May 28, 2013

Great décor. Not bad for a one night stay.

The Good: The hotel (room and overall hotel) was very nice, very clean and had a great updated art deco look to it. It was nice to have a full desk, iPod docking station and comfortable bed to enhance our stay. The So-So: As a tourist the location was okay. If you plan on going over to Reading Terminal market(which you should!) the the location is spectacular. It's also a very quick walk to city hall(the giant clock tower in the middle of town). If you're heading to any of the museums or the historic district then you'll probably just want to get a cab. The service felt hit or miss. Some people seemed friendly and helpful while others I felt like I was disturbing them. The valet forgot to put one of our suitcases in our car; This suitcase had my name on it. no one called to let us know our bag was left behind. It wasn't until we arrived home in Michigan that we realized our luggage was missing. The hotel shipped it to us for free, but it took 3 days and we received no comps. Of course they weren't required to give us anything, but it would have been nice considering the mishap with the valet that we paid $40+tip for. The Bad: The walls seemed quite thin. We could always hear people in the hallway talking and slamming doors: It became quite irritating. Would I stay there again? Maybe for a single night. If you plan on staying in the city for a few nights than you may want to consider another place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market

Back to menu Return to top

Change search