$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Loews Philadelphia Hotel

4 stars
1200 Market St, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
274 reviews
Loews Hotel

Awesome staff! Very clean! Right in the Center City area. See full review

  • RockyRaccoon
  • Jul 24, 2014
Amazing stay in the city of brotherly love!

Loews is centrally located and beautiful. It is in a renovated Art Deco building in center city... See full review

  • Fonzy and Mike
  • Jun 15, 2014
Housed in the Philadelphia Savings Fund Society Building, the Loews Hotel Philadelphia wins big on its minimalist slate-grey style, with touches like the house spirits aging in oak barrels behind the bar at Bank & Bourbon restaurant. Families are taken care of with the Loews Loves Kids program - there are music download cards and a whole library of board games and Gameboys for teens, while little ones will enjoy the books and crayons provided in-room. Parents will also love the 'Kids Closet' supplies, from toys to baby blankets, but probably not as much as they’ll enjoy the body scrubs and steam rooms after escaping to the 12 Fit Spa.

Key facts
  • 581 guestrooms
  • 12 specialty suites
  • 54 concierge club rooms
  • Lap pool
  • Spa
  • Pets allowed (deposit required)
  • Gym
  • 24-hour in-room dining
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Bank & Bourbon restaurant
Neighborhood
Walk out the front of the Loews Hotel Philadelphia, and you're only a short walk away from the historic sights of Philadelphia, such as the Liberty Bell, the Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul, and the grand layer-cake that is Independence Hall. Head over to nearby Rittenhouse Square for the best selection of Italian, American and Asian cuisine, or catch the subway from 11th Street Station to wander even further afield in the City of Brotherly Love.
Hints and tips
If you can't bear to leave your pet behind, don't forget to ask about the special packages (referring to the hotel's pet policy) which not only lend you litter boxes and pet beds, but pet-sitters if you're out all day in meetings. Animal room service is even provided!

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9519 -75.1599
Nearby airports
Philadelphia Intl Airport, (PHL), 9.00, MI, NE; Northeast Philadelphia Airport, (PNE), 14.60, MI, SW; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 83.00, MI, SW; Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton Airport, (ABE), 65.90, MI, S; Lancaster Airport, (LNS), 76.00, MI, E
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Loews Philadelphia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Loews Philadelphia Hotel Rooms

Premier
All Superior Room amenities plus Concierge Club access including continental breakfast Mon-Fri, free wifi, free 800/local calls, top 3 floors of hotel, spectacular views.
Superior
320 sq ft of comfort. Floors 6,10. Art Deco modern style. Keurig coffee tea, in room safe, iHome docking station, mini-bar, plenty of easily accessible electrical outlets, ergonomic desk chair, 24-hr room service, turndown upon request. Free wifi.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Racquetball courts
Boating
Miniature golf
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Video game player
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.3 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Dining

Bank Bourbon
Bank & Bourbon offers dishes that have become synonymous with American cuisine. With equal focus on American classics, the bar features a bourbon barrel-aging program for house-aged cocktails and liquors as well as a curated list of craft beers and wines

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (274)

Ratings and reviews for Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Caledon, Ontario Canada
Feb 22, 2011

4 star hotel for the absolute best price

Nice large room, quiet surroundings, great shower, great sleep. Friendly, helpful staff. All good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 5, 2010

Highs and Loews in Philadelphia!

We were greeted with a welcoming smile at check-in and whisked to our room (early!) by [...] the friendly page. The restaurant manager went out of her way to make sure we had a lovely dinner with our family during our stay - and even bought us a round of drinks! We were disappointed to find out upon check-in that the pool was empty and being repaired. Worse than that, housekeeping missed cleaning our room on one of the days - turned out to be very inconvenient as we missed our afternoon showers and then only received a minimally-bussed room later that evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try their Philly cheesesteak - one of the best in town!

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, NC
Mar 10, 2010

Good business hotel in the Center City.

Loews Philadelphia is a quality hotel with a hint of luxury without being "snooty". A beautiful building with an immaculate decor and comfortable room. The only complaint is the night staff did not pick up my shoes for the complimentary shine offered by the hotel. All else was well to my liking (and I'm very picky!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not use the Business Center to avoid paying the 24-hour Internet connect fee in your room; you'll be charged the same amount to use the Business Center for 20 minutes!

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny Wilson
Philadelphia
Dec 29, 2012

It's a nice hotel

I just lived one night at this hotel. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was in very good manner. The decoration of the first floor was awesome with some Christmas tree around. The location is great, close to a lot of attractions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Taking the bus will be convenient.

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Nurse
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 31, 2011

Excellent Accomodations

The room was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was exceptional. All the hotel staff were helpful. All of our expectations were met, including the quality of the shampoo/conditioner offered by the hotel! I would absolutely recommend this to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Reading Terminal Market. There are so many culturally-infused shops and all different types of food there, all very affordable.

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia
Mar 14, 2011

Everything was a jump away

Everything was really nice i felt right at home.The rooms were very clean and comfortable..The location was excellent.I would suggest a friend.Looking forward to going back there again. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 16, 2009

Some more work on basics

The hotel has a great location and the brief stay got off to a great start. On checking in, I was upgraded to a better room than I had booked, offered a complimentary breakfast, and was greeted by an attentive staff. The dinner in the hotel's only restaurant was exceptional for a hotel. The wine list was very good and the seafood was exceptional. Service was a bit slow, but tolerable. The room was comfortable, very clean, amenities above average. Easy to get a good night's sleep. After a very good breakfast, I checked my bag with the bell station and went to my meeting at another location. When I returned some 4 hours later, my bag had gone missing. It took two front desk encounters plus three calls by me from an airport before the "theft and loss control" manager got involved. The bag was recovered, apparently picked up in a mass move of checked baggage from the hotel. Hotel management has promised to ship. I guess I consider luggage handling to be basic for a hotel like this. But the staff may not be fully trained to attend to it. It was great the hotel found and recovered it, but they need to spend more time on some basics, I think.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If seafood and wine are of interest, try the hotel restaurant. The menu includes other selections, but I can only comment that the seafood I had was very very good.

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darkling
Chicago IL
Sep 8, 2009

Worth a review

I was in town for one night, flying home to Chicago the next morning. My only complaints are that they charge $10.95 per day for Wifi - so i would have paid $22.00 to use the internet for less than 12 hours - and that I could not get Temple U's radio feed nor much at all on the in-room clock radio. Everything else was luxury quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Supper, a gem of a local supportive restaurant, is just a short No. 23 bus ride south to South Street!

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spokane, WA
Apr 6, 2010

Easter Weekend in Philadelphia

A very nice weekend in Philadelphia. Front desk was helpful, room was a bit "worn out," lounge staff was fun, and in general everyone was more than pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

A cheesesteak is a must so head to "Jim's." Pat's and Geno's are more well known, but if you want the best value, i.e. lots of meat, then head to Jim's. Expect a line of 20 - 30 minutes (not atypical at any of the good places), but definitely worth the wait.

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raiz
Boston ma
Mar 26, 2013

Cool place

Staff very, very helpful. Service was as good as I have ever experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The times

Back to menu Return to top