$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Loews Philadelphia Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1200 Market St, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
191 reviews
Perfect Romantic Getaway

I stayed here with my girlfriend for two nights and the hotel did not disappoint. The location was... See full review

  • Shaun
  • Feb 24, 2015
Son's 13th birthday

What can I say , I wanted a special place for my son's 13th birthday . It was a mom and son weekend... See full review

  • Amber H.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Housed in the Philadelphia Savings Fund Society Building, the Loews Hotel Philadelphia wins big on its minimalist slate-grey style, with touches like the house spirits aging in oak barrels behind the bar at Bank & Bourbon restaurant. Families are taken care of with the Loews Loves Kids program - there are music download cards and a whole library of board games and Gameboys for teens, while little ones will enjoy the books and crayons provided in-room. Parents will also love the 'Kids Closet' supplies, from toys to baby blankets, but probably not as much as they’ll enjoy the body scrubs and steam rooms after escaping to the 12 Fit Spa.

Key facts
  • 581 guestrooms
  • 12 specialty suites
  • 54 concierge club rooms
  • Lap pool
  • Spa
  • Pets allowed (deposit required)
  • Gym
  • 24-hour in-room dining
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Bank & Bourbon restaurant
Neighborhood
Walk out the front of the Loews Hotel Philadelphia, and you're only a short walk away from the historic sights of Philadelphia, such as the Liberty Bell, the Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul, and the grand layer-cake that is Independence Hall. Head over to nearby Rittenhouse Square for the best selection of Italian, American and Asian cuisine, or catch the subway from 11th Street Station to wander even further afield in the City of Brotherly Love.
Hints and tips
If you can't bear to leave your pet behind, don't forget to ask about the special packages (referring to the hotel's pet policy) which not only lend you litter boxes and pet beds, but pet-sitters if you're out all day in meetings. Animal room service is even provided!

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Loews Philadelphia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Loews Philadelphia Hotel Rooms

Premier
All Superior Room amenities plus Concierge Club access including continental breakfast Mon-Fri, free wifi, free 800/local calls, top 3 floors of hotel, spectacular views.
Superior
320 sq ft of comfort. Floors 6,10. Art Deco modern style. Keurig coffee tea, in room safe, iHome docking station, mini-bar, plenty of easily accessible electrical outlets, ergonomic desk chair, 24-hr room service, turndown upon request. Free wifi.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Racquetball courts
Boating
Miniature golf
Steam bath
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.3 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Dining

Bank and Bourbon
Bank and Bourbon offers dishes that have become synonymous with American cuisine. With focus on American classics, the bar features a bourbon barrel-aging program for house-aged cocktails and liquors as well as a curated list of craft beers and wines

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VERY DISSATIFIED GRANDMOTHER
Business
ALLENTOWN, PA
Dec 28, 2010

GRANDDAUGHTER'S BIRTHDAY PRESENT

WE WERE TAKING OUR GRANDDAUGHTER TO PHILADELPIA FOR HER 11TH BIRTHDAY AND STAYED AT LOEWS. I RESERVED THE HOTEL FOR TWO NIGHTS. WE WERE DELAYED GETTING THERE ON SATURDAY SO I CALLED AND TOLD THE HOTEL THAT WE MIGHT NOT GET IN UNTIL SUNDAY MORNING BUT TO PLEASE HOLD OUR ROOM SO WE COULD GET INTO IT UPON ARRIVAL BECAUSE MY HUSBAND HAS PARKINSON'S DISEASE AND NEEDS TO REST WHEN WE GET THERE. WE DID NOT MAKE IT UNTIL 10 AM SUNDAY MORNING AND THE HOTEL HAD GIVEN OUR ROOM AWAY AND WE COULOD NOT GET IN UNTIL 4:00 PM. WE HAD RESERVATIONS AT THE CLEOPATRA EXHIBIT AT THE FRANKLIN INSTITUTE AT 1 PM SO WE HAD TO STORE OUR LUGGAGE AND MY HUSBAND HAD TO GO WITHOUT RESTING FIRST. THIS CAUSED HIM TO BE OVERFATIGUED AND CREATED A MEDICAL PROBLEM FOR HIM. SINCE I PAID FOR TWO NIGHTS AND CALLED AHEAD TO REQUEST THAT THE ROOM BE READY UPON OUR ARRIVAL - WHENEVER THAT WOULD BE - I AM VERY UPSET THAT IT WASN'T HELD AND I WOULD NEVER USE LOEWS AGAIN OR SUGGEST IT TO ANYONE ELSE. ALSO, THE ROOM WE GOT HAD ONLY A SPACE IN THE BATHROOM WITH A SHOWER CURTAIN AROSS IT AND A SHOWER HEAR. IT WAS NOT ENCLOSED IT WAS ON THE SAME LEVEL AS THE REST OF THE FLOOR. IT WAS NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE. AND PLEASE MAKE SURE NOT TO CHARGE ME FOR TWO NIGHTS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 22, 2007

I was checked in to a dirty room.

On the 20th of May my girlfriend checked in to the Loews hotel. The room she was checked into was not even cleaned. She then had to wait at least 30 minutes for them to clean it up. By the time I had heard about this I was already very upset. The following mourning when we woke up. We found long black hairs in the bedding{were both short hair blonds}, which means that they just maid the bed and didn't bother to put on clean bedding. I then called the concierge desk to inform them of the situation. All that was done to solve the situation was a simple sorry. I'm in the hotel buisness and this was beyond unacceptable in a supposed four star hotel. If I wanted this kind of service I could have stayed at a motel six or some other cheap hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard Rock Cafe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
brooklyn, ny
Apr 25, 2011

Loews Philadelphia

very poor customer service. we arrived at 3pm (official check in time) and our room was not ready. they told us we could wait at the hotel bar. they gave us vouchers for drinks for my husband and i and coffee and dessert for my 6 year old. my 6-year old was not in the mood for a coffee so we got apple juice instead. the waitress gave us a hard time about using the voucher for apple juice! our room was not ready until 6pm. we ate dinner at the hotel and charged it to our room. between the hours of 8pm and 11pm the hotel and restaurant called us 4x to tell us that our credit card was not swiped properly and the WE needed to go downstairs and present the card for processing. we were already in our pajamas and trying to get our 6-year old to sleep so it wasn't convenient to leave the room AND the hotel employees didn't agree. the refused to send anyone to our room to swipe the card. finally my husband put his foot down and told them that if they didn't send someone to get the card, we would not be paying for dinner until the next morning. they finally sent someone at 11pm. the next morning we ordered room service and were told that we were on a CASH ONLY basis b/c of the previous night. What nerve! This hotel does not provide basic customer service. we will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Don't eat in the restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
G456
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Careful about room location

Our room was located about 10 ft from the elevators on the 12th floor. Needless to say it was noisy late night and early morning. Not a good spot for a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Horrible valentine's weekend
Business
Magnolia NJ
Feb 13, 2011

The Hotel was OK

we arrived at the hotel around 7 Pm check in was very fast. When we have to go to our room we needed to put our room card into the elevator in order for the elevator to work. When we got to our room, the room was too small and i paid for an upgrade.My room did not have a hot tub like i was expecting. The shower head was broken. I was there for one night i did not even bother to have them change it or put me in another room, i was embarrass that i took my wife there for valentines day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Jun 14, 2011

Not great... just okay.

The workers are all friendly. However, the housekeeping needs work. Let me just put it this way.... if I did a white glove test, they would have failed! Unacceptable when paying this much to stay. Will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Jul 6, 2008

NOT PET-FRIENDLY

The only reason why this hotel is a pet-friendly is the fact that it lets pets stay. I cannot believe that Loews made it to top #5 in City search's most pet friendly hotels in Philadelphia. The main reason why Loews is not pet-friendly is its location. There is no grass or even a small area with mulch within 6 blocks of the hotel for dogs who are not wee-wee pad trained! My dog never made it to the grass area 8 blocks away, and she peed and pooped on her way there on the concrete floor every single day. A horrible experience. If the hotel had designated a small area for dogs to take care of their business, then it would've kept the vicinity of the hotel far more sanitary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2shademe
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Good couple experience

had a good time in clean room, good location and great view on higher floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2shademe
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Good service but..

great check-in, great gym, nice doormen...I came in the evening and thought I was technically challenged and could not work the tv so I just went ahead to sleep but when I woke up in the morning I investigated the older LG tv and called the concierge. The tv was dead. It took a few hours to replace it. I think that was odd that no one reported the broken set. And no one checked that all furnishings were operable.and the tv wasn't a flat screen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex718
Business
New York
Feb 6, 2014

Looks good, feels bad

Appearance wise, it's beautiful. The walls are super thin and I could hear everything my neighbors were doing. People tried entering my room through all three doors, every single night. I was not happy about that. I was told i would have free WiFi, it's actually only free for a few hours and at horrible speeds. I also booked a smoking room and the hotel actually doesn't offer smoking rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the nightlife on Walnut and Chestnut st.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top