$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Loews Philadelphia Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1200 Market St, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL (duh!)
Mar 14, 2010

Great--once you make it thru check-in

This is a great hotel in a great location, and it has historical/architectural significance for Philadelphia to boot. Beautiful room, sweet and helpful staff, dynamite location.The one BIG problem was the check-in process. I arrived at 4:00 p.m. on a Saturday. The lobby (which is rather narrow and stretched out) was mobbed with [*], noisy people holding flowers, plants, and leashes attached to dogs. Most strange. It turned out that the Flower Show was going on, and the hotel allows dogs on some floors. [*] I was told that my room was not ready, because the hotel was going from full occupancy to full occupancy. The reception person took my cell number and said he would call when everything was set. Fair enough.After over 45 minutes, I went up to the counter to see what was happening. The new reception person looked me up on the computer, went into a back room for a bit, then came back and said that my room was "waiting for inspection." He said he had another room for me. I said that as long as it was just as nice or better than my original room and not next to the elevator, that would be OK, but I was willing to wait for my original room. He told me the new room was very nice. I got up there, and the room was small and *flush* against the elevators! I went down to speak with him again. While waiting for him to be available, a woman behind the counter offered to check for me. She said that my original room had already been given to someone else (10-15 minutes had passed) and that she had absolutely nothing else available. I finally got to talk to the, well, dishonest staff member, and he fobbed me off onto someone else. This final guy (how I wish I had taken down his name) quickly found me a nice room and told me that it would be ready in a few minutes. He gave me a drink voucher for the restaurant lounge. He called my cell in 5 minutes, and I was in a great room in a flash. (Thanks, dude!) It turned out that my eventual room was exactly one floor above my originally booked room. It was twice the size with twice the window space as the one that the second guy had stuck me in. Realize that I was booked for a SIX-night stay.Loews needs to change this Russian-roulette room assignment set up. I don't really blame the staff, since they are no doubt given orders to book 'em as they come in into whatever is open that precise second, no matter what the booking agreement was. I lucked out because I happened to end up with an understanding, helpful staff member. But I also ran into two Loews employees who in effect lied to my face. That leaves a b-a-d taste in one's mouth.Just to show how much this sort of thing matters: If it had not been for that check-in experience, I would have given this hotel 5 stars. Wake up, Loews!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, NC
Mar 10, 2010

Good business hotel in the Center City.

Loews Philadelphia is a quality hotel with a hint of luxury without being "snooty". A beautiful building with an immaculate decor and comfortable room. The only complaint is the night staff did not pick up my shoes for the complimentary shine offered by the hotel. All else was well to my liking (and I'm very picky!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not use the Business Center to avoid paying the 24-hour Internet connect fee in your room; you'll be charged the same amount to use the Business Center for 20 minutes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Mar 8, 2010

A Quiet Hotel

I was attending a conference across the street. You are within walking distance to the historic sites. The Loews staff was very friendly and courteous. The king bedroom was large and well appointed. My only reservation was the housekeeping staff never swept the floor. I spotted a dead leaf in front of the TV the first night. It was still there 5 days later. A food wrapper from a previous occupant had dropped to the floor between the desk and TV cabinet. It was also still there 5 days later. I couldn't help but wonder what else wasn't being cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The indoor Reading Terminal Farm Market is a block away. It is a great place to find something to eat. They have every type of food possible except for high end fine dining. Many of the booths are run by Amish vendors, and it is a fun place to people watch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
suzle
Business
cape cod ma
Mar 6, 2010

gorgeous classy and great location!

went for a flower show at the convention center... perfect location right accross the street , near market... best stay ever... will book here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go into the market street area for breakfast at the amish counter... $5. great meal and best fresh OJ i ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Maine
Mar 1, 2010

Wonderful accomodations

Our room was clean and good sized. We stayed during recent snowstorm and found the hotel staff to be friendly and very accomodating despite the weather. Pool and business center are rather small for size of hotel. Restaurant on site was very nice and restaurant staff were excellent. Location is perfect for visitors to historic district - you can walk to it all. Very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of small, eclectic, restaurants within short walk or drive - check with conscierge about what is in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LSC
Business
East Longmeadow, MA
Feb 24, 2010

Loews Review

This property could not have been located any better for our stay in Philadelphia. The staff was friendly, polite and extremely accommodating. The interior of the Hotel is scrupulously maintained with all the amenities one could possibly hope for. This place is a Gem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located about a block from Reading Terminal market which is always a fun place to visit. Also, China Town is a 5 min walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike & Monica
Business
Willow Grove Pa
Jan 25, 2010

Great location to stay!!

The hotel is in a perfect location for sight seeing Philadelphia. The staff was very good. Just a wonderfull hotel to stay at. Our window views day and night were great (20th floor) WE will be back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mlinz
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 24, 2010

historic treasure

excellent service. the PSFS building is wonderful and i'm so glad that Loew's is using it as a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of great Philly restaurants within 3-5 blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 12, 2010

Loews

Great place, great location, views from the hotel are awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arlene - Super Satisfied
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 2, 2010

Wonderful 3 Day Sightseeing Trip

My Mom & I have asthma and needed non-smoking room. In addition, my mother was in a wheelchair. We received outstanding accommodations! We were given a non-smoking & wheelchair accessible room which was so roomy and wonderful to move around with the wheelchair! The bathroom was spacious and the most wheelchair friendly one I have ever been in! The hotel staff were friendly. The room was beautiful, well decorated, had a small refrigerator (which meant a lot as I was a diabetic and helped greatly for snacks and breakfast)! The location was wonderful. Easy to get there from airport and so many places within walking distance and/or by city transit! Reading Terminal Market (old Reading Railroad train terminal), Mint Building, Liberty Bell, and the Big Bus Company Tour and double decker buses around Philadelphia were all right there! The hotel staff and concierge were excellent and very helpful in sharing easiest way to get where we wanted to go and also contacted airport shuttle (very reasonable)for our transportation back and forth. Hotel even had rooms for people with pets! Older hotel set-up but room was very clean, spacious, modern decor and room furniture, easy to get back and forth -- perfect location for sightseeing downtown Philadelphia and hotel room price very reasonable! If you want to see the main historical sights in Philadelphia, this hotel location is perfect! I would highly recommend to all and would definitely go back to this hotel again! [...] Was awesome! - Hotel also offered free warm-freshly baked cookies and freshly squeezed lemonade refreshments in the lobby each evening between 4 - 6 p.m. for the guests as they went up to their rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market - (with various deli's and food offerings, such as hot dogs, beef, buffet, sandwiches, grocery market, souvenirs, etc.), Starbuck's, Little Italy and Hard Rock Cafe within 2 blocks of hotel. Hotel does have a restaurant - we didn't use. We were on a budget and was a little higher priced than we preferred. Restaurant/Lounge was a well known night scene in the area and had a lot of outsiders visit especially in evening. (Not sure if they had dancing but did have fancy dining and cocktails which may have included some entertainment)in evenings. Hotel had room service and same restaurant/lounge above had breakfast in the morning and maybe lunch too. No other restaurants in hotel, except this one. Didn't use, only walked by and saw fancy menu's and noticed large group of people in evening in hallway waiting to enter lounge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top