$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Loews Philadelphia Hotel

4 stars
1200 Market St, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
185 reviews
Business trip

It was very nice Hotel,peoples was very friendly and employees was great too. See full review

  • Soulcoul
  • Dec 24, 2014
Pleasurable experience

I always love the king size beds and comfortable sheets. The whiskey bar downstairs is top notch! See full review

  • Matthew S.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Housed in the Philadelphia Savings Fund Society Building, the Loews Hotel Philadelphia wins big on its minimalist slate-grey style, with touches like the house spirits aging in oak barrels behind the bar at Bank & Bourbon restaurant. Families are taken care of with the Loews Loves Kids program - there are music download cards and a whole library of board games and Gameboys for teens, while little ones will enjoy the books and crayons provided in-room. Parents will also love the 'Kids Closet' supplies, from toys to baby blankets, but probably not as much as they’ll enjoy the body scrubs and steam rooms after escaping to the 12 Fit Spa.

Key facts
  • 581 guestrooms
  • 12 specialty suites
  • 54 concierge club rooms
  • Lap pool
  • Spa
  • Pets allowed (deposit required)
  • Gym
  • 24-hour in-room dining
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Bank & Bourbon restaurant
Neighborhood
Walk out the front of the Loews Hotel Philadelphia, and you're only a short walk away from the historic sights of Philadelphia, such as the Liberty Bell, the Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul, and the grand layer-cake that is Independence Hall. Head over to nearby Rittenhouse Square for the best selection of Italian, American and Asian cuisine, or catch the subway from 11th Street Station to wander even further afield in the City of Brotherly Love.
Hints and tips
If you can't bear to leave your pet behind, don't forget to ask about the special packages (referring to the hotel's pet policy) which not only lend you litter boxes and pet beds, but pet-sitters if you're out all day in meetings. Animal room service is even provided!

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Loews Philadelphia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Loews Philadelphia Hotel Rooms

Premier
All Superior Room amenities plus Concierge Club access including continental breakfast Mon-Fri, free wifi, free 800/local calls, top 3 floors of hotel, spectacular views.
Superior
320 sq ft of comfort. Floors 6,10. Art Deco modern style. Keurig coffee tea, in room safe, iHome docking station, mini-bar, plenty of easily accessible electrical outlets, ergonomic desk chair, 24-hr room service, turndown upon request. Free wifi.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Racquetball courts
Boating
Miniature golf
Steam bath
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.3 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.3 mi

Dining

Bank and Bourbon
Bank and Bourbon offers dishes that have become synonymous with American cuisine. With focus on American classics, the bar features a bourbon barrel-aging program for house-aged cocktails and liquors as well as a curated list of craft beers and wines

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (185)

Ratings and reviews for Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 16, 2010

Fantastic service and great location

Great city center location. The room was very clean and the staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buddakan 325 Chestnut St. The restuarant is very nice and the food is good, however for the price there are probably better options in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Experienced hotel traveler
Business
Philadelphia area
Mar 15, 2010

Not so great this time around

We've booked this hotel on [...]before (a few years ago) and had a great visit. This time around, we chose a King non-smoking room. When we checked in and went to our room, it was right next to the elevators. Too loud. When we asked to switch, they only offered us a similar room on the "pet friendly" floor. This seemed like another noise risk. So they put us in a room with two beds -- no king. Not ideal for our romantic getaway weekend. We were not paying chump change, and this is a hotel with 25+ floors. They were not very accomodating. Also, the room was run-down. Not dirty. Just sad, old wallpaper, shower curtain, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chakeyta
Business
Lehigh Valley, PA
Mar 15, 2010

Not to be Missed

The only thing I was missing was my soft squissy pillow other than that this place was GREAT!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Chris' Jazz Club ask the concierge OMG..... Great live music and well worth the food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL (duh!)
Mar 14, 2010

Great--once you make it thru check-in

This is a great hotel in a great location, and it has historical/architectural significance for Philadelphia to boot. Beautiful room, sweet and helpful staff, dynamite location.The one BIG problem was the check-in process. I arrived at 4:00 p.m. on a Saturday. The lobby (which is rather narrow and stretched out) was mobbed with [*], noisy people holding flowers, plants, and leashes attached to dogs. Most strange. It turned out that the Flower Show was going on, and the hotel allows dogs on some floors. [*] I was told that my room was not ready, because the hotel was going from full occupancy to full occupancy. The reception person took my cell number and said he would call when everything was set. Fair enough.After over 45 minutes, I went up to the counter to see what was happening. The new reception person looked me up on the computer, went into a back room for a bit, then came back and said that my room was "waiting for inspection." He said he had another room for me. I said that as long as it was just as nice or better than my original room and not next to the elevator, that would be OK, but I was willing to wait for my original room. He told me the new room was very nice. I got up there, and the room was small and *flush* against the elevators! I went down to speak with him again. While waiting for him to be available, a woman behind the counter offered to check for me. She said that my original room had already been given to someone else (10-15 minutes had passed) and that she had absolutely nothing else available. I finally got to talk to the, well, dishonest staff member, and he fobbed me off onto someone else. This final guy (how I wish I had taken down his name) quickly found me a nice room and told me that it would be ready in a few minutes. He gave me a drink voucher for the restaurant lounge. He called my cell in 5 minutes, and I was in a great room in a flash. (Thanks, dude!) It turned out that my eventual room was exactly one floor above my originally booked room. It was twice the size with twice the window space as the one that the second guy had stuck me in. Realize that I was booked for a SIX-night stay.Loews needs to change this Russian-roulette room assignment set up. I don't really blame the staff, since they are no doubt given orders to book 'em as they come in into whatever is open that precise second, no matter what the booking agreement was. I lucked out because I happened to end up with an understanding, helpful staff member. But I also ran into two Loews employees who in effect lied to my face. That leaves a b-a-d taste in one's mouth.Just to show how much this sort of thing matters: If it had not been for that check-in experience, I would have given this hotel 5 stars. Wake up, Loews!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, NC
Mar 10, 2010

Good business hotel in the Center City.

Loews Philadelphia is a quality hotel with a hint of luxury without being "snooty". A beautiful building with an immaculate decor and comfortable room. The only complaint is the night staff did not pick up my shoes for the complimentary shine offered by the hotel. All else was well to my liking (and I'm very picky!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not use the Business Center to avoid paying the 24-hour Internet connect fee in your room; you'll be charged the same amount to use the Business Center for 20 minutes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Mar 8, 2010

A Quiet Hotel

I was attending a conference across the street. You are within walking distance to the historic sites. The Loews staff was very friendly and courteous. The king bedroom was large and well appointed. My only reservation was the housekeeping staff never swept the floor. I spotted a dead leaf in front of the TV the first night. It was still there 5 days later. A food wrapper from a previous occupant had dropped to the floor between the desk and TV cabinet. It was also still there 5 days later. I couldn't help but wonder what else wasn't being cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The indoor Reading Terminal Farm Market is a block away. It is a great place to find something to eat. They have every type of food possible except for high end fine dining. Many of the booths are run by Amish vendors, and it is a fun place to people watch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
suzle
Business
cape cod ma
Mar 6, 2010

gorgeous classy and great location!

went for a flower show at the convention center... perfect location right accross the street , near market... best stay ever... will book here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go into the market street area for breakfast at the amish counter... $5. great meal and best fresh OJ i ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Maine
Mar 1, 2010

Wonderful accomodations

Our room was clean and good sized. We stayed during recent snowstorm and found the hotel staff to be friendly and very accomodating despite the weather. Pool and business center are rather small for size of hotel. Restaurant on site was very nice and restaurant staff were excellent. Location is perfect for visitors to historic district - you can walk to it all. Very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of small, eclectic, restaurants within short walk or drive - check with conscierge about what is in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LSC
Business
East Longmeadow, MA
Feb 24, 2010

Loews Review

This property could not have been located any better for our stay in Philadelphia. The staff was friendly, polite and extremely accommodating. The interior of the Hotel is scrupulously maintained with all the amenities one could possibly hope for. This place is a Gem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located about a block from Reading Terminal market which is always a fun place to visit. Also, China Town is a 5 min walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike & Monica
Business
Willow Grove Pa
Jan 25, 2010

Great location to stay!!

The hotel is in a perfect location for sight seeing Philadelphia. The staff was very good. Just a wonderfull hotel to stay at. Our window views day and night were great (20th floor) WE will be back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top