$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

Loews Philadelphia Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1200 Market St, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
189 out of 189
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Mar 8, 2010

A Quiet Hotel

I was attending a conference across the street. You are within walking distance to the historic sites. The Loews staff was very friendly and courteous. The king bedroom was large and well appointed. My only reservation was the housekeeping staff never swept the floor. I spotted a dead leaf in front of the TV the first night. It was still there 5 days later. A food wrapper from a previous occupant had dropped to the floor between the desk and TV cabinet. It was also still there 5 days later. I couldn't help but wonder what else wasn't being cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The indoor Reading Terminal Farm Market is a block away. It is a great place to find something to eat. They have every type of food possible except for high end fine dining. Many of the booths are run by Amish vendors, and it is a fun place to people watch.

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Apr 22, 2010

Good for a conference

The hotel itself was very nice and provided nice amenities for a conference hosted there. Housekeeping was very slow a few days (room wasn't made up until 3 p.m. or later) but the comfortable bedding and bathrobes made up for it. Also, for business travelers: They are sticklers on the Internet access. It's free only on Floors 1 and 5, and it's not available all-hours in your room, even if you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JacksonvilleDan
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Great Location!

I really enjoyed staying at the Loews Hotel. Walking distance to many trendy areas and the staff was great. The quality of the room was average but nice considering how old and significant the building is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I went to Zavino's wine bar and pizzeria. It was great. I also checked out Morimoto's. It was good but very pricey. Both are within walking distance and Zavino's is in a great area, just around the block.

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane, WA
Apr 6, 2010

Easter Weekend in Philadelphia

A very nice weekend in Philadelphia. Front desk was helpful, room was a bit "worn out," lounge staff was fun, and in general everyone was more than pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

A cheesesteak is a must so head to "Jim's." Pat's and Geno's are more well known, but if you want the best value, i.e. lots of meat, then head to Jim's. Expect a line of 20 - 30 minutes (not atypical at any of the good places), but definitely worth the wait.

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Foxridge, MD
Sep 6, 2010

September in Philly

Very friendly, professional and knowledgeable staff. Everthing is within walking or a bus ride away. Had a ball. We are planning to bring the family soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coachholl
Business
Ormond Beach, FL
Jan 11, 2011

Great Location & Staff!

The Loew's Hotel is right on Market Street in the heart of Center City. The Old City is 10 blocks east, and the Franklin Institute area 10 blocks west. You can easily walk to many dining places and nightclubs as well as historic sites. The hotel staff were among the friendliest and most helpful we've ever met, anywhere. They gave us directions, dining suggestions, and accommodated us in every way. The only drawbacks: (1) that we felt the room - a king bed - was a little on the small side; and (2) the fitness center and spa left a lot to be desired: absolutely no hot water in the showers, a steam room very much had a bad odor, and no water to toss on the stones in the sauna.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Terminal Market is just one block away, and features many places to eat and buy meats, fruits, vegetables and baked goods. Very convenient!

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xspilsx
Business
Jacksonville, Fl
Jul 28, 2009

Going Back

The staff was great,they were ready to help with every thing,i really enjoy my stay, one of the best hotel i have be in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

China Town great food lol

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 5, 2010

Highs and Loews in Philadelphia!

We were greeted with a welcoming smile at check-in and whisked to our room (early!) by [...] the friendly page. The restaurant manager went out of her way to make sure we had a lovely dinner with our family during our stay - and even bought us a round of drinks! We were disappointed to find out upon check-in that the pool was empty and being repaired. Worse than that, housekeeping missed cleaning our room on one of the days - turned out to be very inconvenient as we missed our afternoon showers and then only received a minimally-bussed room later that evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try their Philly cheesesteak - one of the best in town!

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business/Pleasure Traveller
Business
Lexington, KY
May 9, 2010

Excellent location, excellent staff.

I was in town for a conference, and stayed for the weekend afterwards. The Loews was located perfectly for me (close to my conference, close to historical sites, close to shopping, close to bars and restaurants). I had one minor issue (lightbulb out in the bathroom) that was fixed within an hour of calling the front desk. Awesome views of the city from both my room and the Boardroom on the 33rd floor. Every staff person I ran across was extremely friendly and helpful, something you don't often find these days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of trendy bars and restaurants just a few blocks away.

Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Jan 31, 2011

Another Successful Stay

Awesome, tasteful modern design... Great amenities (pool & spa), large suite with roomy bathroom... Happy, helpful staff... parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Sabrina's Cafe or Honey's Sit -n- Eat for Brunch, and Pietro's Coal Oven Pizzeria for dinner.

Back to menu Return to top