$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Loews Philadelphia Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1200 Market St, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shivaskitten
Australia
Jan 12, 2013

Bliss

I had the most beautiful stay. Coming from NYC to this hotel was a very nice surprise! Staff were consistently amazing and friendly and the room was almost perfect. The only things that would have made it better are a working safe and an option for some brighter light. Plus, doors tend to slam, making it a little noisy at times. The gym was too standard too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfect location as you can walk everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coachholl
Business
Ormond Beach, FL
Jan 11, 2011

Great Location & Staff!

The Loew's Hotel is right on Market Street in the heart of Center City. The Old City is 10 blocks east, and the Franklin Institute area 10 blocks west. You can easily walk to many dining places and nightclubs as well as historic sites. The hotel staff were among the friendliest and most helpful we've ever met, anywhere. They gave us directions, dining suggestions, and accommodated us in every way. The only drawbacks: (1) that we felt the room - a king bed - was a little on the small side; and (2) the fitness center and spa left a lot to be desired: absolutely no hot water in the showers, a steam room very much had a bad odor, and no water to toss on the stones in the sauna.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Terminal Market is just one block away, and features many places to eat and buy meats, fruits, vegetables and baked goods. Very convenient!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wash DC
Jan 1, 2011

Spa weekend

Convenient location with quality resaurant and terrific bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best Indian Cuizine---9th and Chestnut--Palace @ the Ben

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VERY DISSATIFIED GRANDMOTHER
Business
ALLENTOWN, PA
Dec 28, 2010

GRANDDAUGHTER'S BIRTHDAY PRESENT

WE WERE TAKING OUR GRANDDAUGHTER TO PHILADELPIA FOR HER 11TH BIRTHDAY AND STAYED AT LOEWS. I RESERVED THE HOTEL FOR TWO NIGHTS. WE WERE DELAYED GETTING THERE ON SATURDAY SO I CALLED AND TOLD THE HOTEL THAT WE MIGHT NOT GET IN UNTIL SUNDAY MORNING BUT TO PLEASE HOLD OUR ROOM SO WE COULD GET INTO IT UPON ARRIVAL BECAUSE MY HUSBAND HAS PARKINSON'S DISEASE AND NEEDS TO REST WHEN WE GET THERE. WE DID NOT MAKE IT UNTIL 10 AM SUNDAY MORNING AND THE HOTEL HAD GIVEN OUR ROOM AWAY AND WE COULOD NOT GET IN UNTIL 4:00 PM. WE HAD RESERVATIONS AT THE CLEOPATRA EXHIBIT AT THE FRANKLIN INSTITUTE AT 1 PM SO WE HAD TO STORE OUR LUGGAGE AND MY HUSBAND HAD TO GO WITHOUT RESTING FIRST. THIS CAUSED HIM TO BE OVERFATIGUED AND CREATED A MEDICAL PROBLEM FOR HIM. SINCE I PAID FOR TWO NIGHTS AND CALLED AHEAD TO REQUEST THAT THE ROOM BE READY UPON OUR ARRIVAL - WHENEVER THAT WOULD BE - I AM VERY UPSET THAT IT WASN'T HELD AND I WOULD NEVER USE LOEWS AGAIN OR SUGGEST IT TO ANYONE ELSE. ALSO, THE ROOM WE GOT HAD ONLY A SPACE IN THE BATHROOM WITH A SHOWER CURTAIN AROSS IT AND A SHOWER HEAR. IT WAS NOT ENCLOSED IT WAS ON THE SAME LEVEL AS THE REST OF THE FLOOR. IT WAS NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE. AND PLEASE MAKE SURE NOT TO CHARGE ME FOR TWO NIGHTS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth, MI
Dec 6, 2010

Good value for the money

The actual rating is 3.5 - 4.0. We paid $135 for the room in December and for that price it was a very good value and we will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Reading terminal market! It's not for the Michelin megastar diners, but it has a fantastic array of food. I could eat there for a month straight. It's only about 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ahend
Business
philadelphia, pa
Nov 30, 2010

beautiful

hotel was beautiful, parking was expensive, $43 once taxes are applied. We booked a room with 2 doubles and received a room with a King.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Nov 14, 2010

excellent

I would recomend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Nov 12, 2010

Four Star - not really

I would not rate this as a four star hotel. The room was clean, furnishings were old. They advertise that the views from your room are great, the view was poor and looked onto a rooftop and office cubes in another building. The rugs in the hall and elevator bank area were torn. Must have been a few weddings or parties and it was noisey throughout the night - shouting in hallways. Room service - left dirty dishes and the sheets were never changed the entire 5 days I was there. Staff was very friendly and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Number of convenient locations for dining/entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.B. Hawaii island Hopper
Business
Canton Ohio
Oct 27, 2010

Weekend Business Trip

This was a great Hotel, perfect location to take a walk in the city. Although the lobby was pretty busy Friday afternoon and the hotel desk clerk told me they couldnt get my room ready till after 3pm, he manage to get me a room right away. This is a very busy Hotel oon the weekends, lots of weddings and events however my room was sound proof. I had no problem sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philly
Oct 15, 2010

first class

Location was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Illinois
Oct 5, 2010

Outstanding hotel, perfect location

My stay at the Loews in Philadelphia was one of the most pleasant I've ever had at a big-city hotel. The hotel has a gorgeous but compact lobby (no need to walk a half-mile to find elevators) and a super-friendly and helpful staff. My room was huge and spotless with every amenity, including a mini-fridge and gourmet coffee -- all at a very competitive rate. This is one of the few area hotels that still cater to pet owners and smokers. Great location, too -- a half-block from the train station and a short walk to the historic sites and Rittenhouse Square. The only minus was the exorbitant charge for an in-room Internet connection. If Loews would offer free wireless, it would be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't pay for a cab to the airport. The Loews is just steps from the Market East metro station, which offers two trains each hour to the airport (they leave at :25 and :55 after the hour). Fare is $7 for the 25-minute trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top