$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

3 stars
135 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
75 reviews
Wedding Partier

Great Room to rest your head after a long wedding party. Even late at night the staff was helpful... See full review

  • SirWilliam the Romantic
  • Sep 29, 2014
Exceptional!

We had the best time in Philly, and a major part is in due to the Latham Hotel. Their staff was... See full review

  • Karina Bean
  • Sep 9, 2014
The Latham Hotel's turn-of-the-century facade and huge glass door open to high ceilings and parlors lined with monochrome photos of classic movie stars. Planted on the National Register of Historic Places, the hotel was built on the site of university founder William Bucknell's home, but is now thoroughly modern in its amenities, from the free in-room Wi-Fi to the fitness room with its Walnut Street panoramas. The atmosphere is still decidedly boutique with the wine bar, craft beers and rustic Mediterranean-style bites at the Urban Enoteca restaurant - check in for happy hour from 5:00pm until 7:00pm, and enjoy a discount cocktail.
Key facts
  • 139 guestrooms and suites
  • Restaurant/bar: Urban Enoteca
  • Fully-equipped fitness center
  • Chauffeured car services
  • In-room dining services
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Fitness center
  • Pets allowed (dogs only, under 30lbs, fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The Latham sets you down in the Downtown area of Philadelphia, right around the corner from Rittenhouse Square stores and restaurants and on the same thoroughfare as Walnut Street Theatre. Explore the city's celebrated past by visiting the National Constitution Center and the Liberty Bell, both of which are located only a few minutes' walk away. Or follow the Avenue of the Arts on and around nearby Broad Street, for local galleries, performance centers, and the ornate architecture of the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts.
Hints and tips
If you're after a stay with a conscience, the hotel is part of the Clean the World Program and recycles bath soaps, distributed globally to those in need.

Don't miss out on experiencing the neighborhood in style, with a cruise in the hotel's chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan - it's first come, first served, but completely free.
Policies and fees
The Latham Hotel  welcomes well-mannered dogs 30 lbs. or less. Guests bringing pets will be charged a one-time $75 fee for the first three nights, and a $25 fee for each night thereafter. Room type and location restrictions apply.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9501 -75.1689
Area served
Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International
Area description
Within 5-15 minute walk or taxi from all of Philly's most popular attractions. Liberty Bell, Independence Mall, Art Museum, Franklin Institute Science Museum, National Constitution Center, Please Touch Children's Musuem, Philadelphia Zoo, Wachovia Center, Lincoln Financial Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe King Accessible with Roll in Shower
Our Deluxe King Accessible guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe King Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe King guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe Two Double Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe Two Double Bed guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.7 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

Urban Enoteca Restaurant and Wine Bar
With its enticing menu and a coveted corner location overlooking Rittenhouse Square, Urban Enoteca has emerged as a hotspot among Rittenhouse Square restaurants. This stylish neighborhood restaurant and wine bar blends urban vintage charm with a touch of modern sophistication and always delivers a memorable culinary experience. Start your day with our hearty and healthy breakfast options, followed by an All Day Menu perfect for business lunches, romantic dinners in Rittenhouse Square or wine sampling with friends after a day of sightseeing. Urban Enoteca features one of only two 24-bottle Cruvinet systems in the city of Philadelphia, ensuring your wine is poured at the proper temperature while eliminating impurities. In addition to wines by bottle or the glass, our chic downtown restaurant also features seasonal draft craft beers and an extensive cocktail menu with fresh herbs and juices. Experience innovative dining in Philadelphia's Rittenhouse Square at Urban Enoteca

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Latham Hotel is the perfect setting for small business meetings and events. The Hotel is located just a stroll away from many of Philadelphia's most prestigious corporate offices and renown attractions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 75
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SirWilliam the Romantic
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 29, 2014

Wedding Partier

Great Room to rest your head after a long wedding party. Even late at night the staff was helpful to get us to our rooms quickly and quietly. We are very thankful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Old City Bar district I's amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler Viv
Business
New York, NY
Sep 24, 2014

Great Location, Staff & Beds

The staff, everyone from the front desk to the doormen, was great and efficient. Beds are super plush and comfortable, and the room was large and spacious. The bathroom seems to be brand new, and was great for a bath or showers. Nice touch with the organic toiletries. It's around the corner from Federal Donuts, and Dizengoff, legitimately the best hummus place in maybe the entire Northeast, so it could not be more central. Would definitely stay here again for a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must try Dizengoff for breakfast or afternoon snack. They close after 5pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annab322
Business
West Chester, PA
Sep 15, 2014

Fantastic Anniversary Weekend

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for our anniversary weekend and had a great time! The hotel is in a prime location in walking distance to many restaurants and bars in the center city area. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean and well decorated; a little on the small side but for the price and location it was nothing to complain about. We also enjoyed the restaurant located in the hotel. They offered a variety of delicious and unique drinks during happy hour and the bartender was very friendly! We would definitely recommend this to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars and restaurants in the center city and rotten house area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewAdvent
Business
Fairfax, VA
Aug 30, 2014

Nice

Stayed her 2 nights: Pros: Everything, Staff (especially the valet staff was quick) Clean room Large bathrooms Beautiful view from room (13th floor) Cons: Valet parking fee $40 per night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LSNJ
Business
Cherry Hill,NJ
Aug 25, 2014

Great place to stay.

One could not find a better location in center city Philadelphia. The hotel staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. I would not think twice about staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LL17
Business
New York
Aug 14, 2014

Great hotel.

We had a wonderful time here. It's in a central location and lot's to do within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Small Town City Lover
Business
Salida, CO
Aug 2, 2014

Philly- Great Stay in Center City

The Latham is our favorite place to stay in downtown Philly. It's central to many restaurants, shops, and parks, and it's only a short cab ride from the airport. They've refurbished the rooms since we've been staying there and now they have a combination of antique furniture and sleek modern furniture and fixtures. It feels like we're staying in a historical site with modern comforts. If your room is on the street-side of the hotel there is great people-watching from the higher floors! I'll definitely keep going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many great restaurants and diners within just a few blocks walk. Across from Rittenhouse square are a number of restaurants with outdoor seating and fantastic food. Reading Terminal Market is a longer walk away, but it has amazing baked goods, meals, shops, and it's a slice of the "real" Philly (fresh canolli, Philly cheese-steak...).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SiouxsieSiouxBklyn
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 6, 2014

great location...not sure if I'd stay there again

The positives: it's a really great location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed, pillows and linens, and nice Keurig, although they were a little chincy on the sweeteners and cups! The negatives: the room we had on the 2nd floor had a pretty small television (30-odd inches) and it was an analog signal which added to the disappointment. The digital clock provided was very dimly lit and looked a bit beat-up. The shower had a semi-scraped label stuck on it from the manufacturer. The sink had shelves beneath it for towels; when you bent down to take a towel, you can see the sink pipe. The small table by the closet was a little dusty. We don't stay in hotels that often, so I was hoping it would've felt a little more luxurious. I would recommend to a friend for one or two nights because it's a central location but I would probably try another hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Johnson
Business
New York, NY
May 5, 2014

Awesome location!!!

We had a great weekend in Philly!! The Latham hotel was conveniently located in the heart of Center City. Lots of shopping and great food!! We utilized the free car service which was perfect for getting to our dinner reservations!! I highly recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monk's Cafe is a short walk away!!! Great beer and mussels!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaveR VA
Business
Arlington, Virginia
Apr 29, 2014

Great Location, Good Value

The hotel was situated in the perfect spot for our downtown activities and their rates beat everyone else in the area. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the free car service was a great perk too! The room was on the smaller side, but that was not a big deal. My only (minor) complaints were the lack of drinking glasses in the room and the iron was not very user-friendly (nearly all of the markings were worn off, so I couldn't tell what setting it was on). Overall though, we were very happy with our 1-night stay at the Latham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free car service at the hotel- save yourself a cab ride and go in style!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top