$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

3 stars
View map of 135 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
83 reviews
Awesome

nice location, I like shopping and it located at shopping street. nice staff, I really enjoy it. by... See full review

  • Edward Lu
  • Jan 15, 2015
Family Weekend Visit at Local College

This hotel we stayed at met our expectations. We usually stay at chain hotel that we have our... See full review

  • JN.137
  • Jan 15, 2015
The Latham Hotel's turn-of-the-century facade and huge glass door open to high ceilings and parlors lined with monochrome photos of classic movie stars. Planted on the National Register of Historic Places, the hotel was built on the site of university founder William Bucknell's home, but is now thoroughly modern in its amenities, from the free in-room Wi-Fi to the fitness room with its Walnut Street panoramas. The atmosphere is still decidedly boutique with the wine bar, craft beers and rustic Mediterranean-style bites at the Urban Enoteca restaurant - check in for happy hour from 5:00pm until 7:00pm, and enjoy a discount cocktail.
Location
The Latham sets you down in the Downtown area of Philadelphia, right around the corner from Rittenhouse Square stores and restaurants and on the same thoroughfare as Walnut Street Theatre. Explore the city's celebrated past by visiting the National Constitution Center and the Liberty Bell, both of which are located only a few minutes' walk away. Or follow the Avenue of the Arts on and around nearby Broad Street, for local galleries, performance centers, and the ornate architecture of the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts.
Highlights
  • 139 guestrooms and suites
  • Restaurant/bar: Urban Enoteca
  • Fully-equipped fitness center
  • Chauffeured car services
  • In-room dining services
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Fitness center
  • Pets allowed (dogs only, under 30lbs, fees may apply)
Fees
The Latham Hotel  welcomes well-mannered dogs 30 lbs. or less. Guests bringing pets will be charged a one-time $75 fee for the first three nights, and a $25 fee for each night thereafter. Room type and location restrictions apply.
Policies
If you're after a stay with a conscience, the hotel is part of the Clean the World Program and recycles bath soaps, distributed globally to those in need.

Don't miss out on experiencing the neighborhood in style, with a cruise in the hotel's chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan - it's first come, first served, but completely free.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe King Accessible with Roll in Shower
Our Deluxe King Accessible guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe King Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe King guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe Two Double Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe Two Double Bed guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.7 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Latham Hotel is the perfect setting for small business meetings and events. The Hotel is located just a stroll away from many of Philadelphia's most prestigious corporate offices and renown attractions.

Dining

Urban Enoteca Restaurant and Wine Bar
With its enticing menu and a coveted corner location overlooking Rittenhouse Square, Urban Enoteca has emerged as a hotspot among Rittenhouse Square restaurants. This stylish neighborhood restaurant and wine bar blends urban vintage charm with a touch of modern sophistication and always delivers a memorable culinary experience. Start your day with our hearty and healthy breakfast options, followed by an All Day Menu perfect for business lunches, romantic dinners in Rittenhouse Square or wine sampling with friends after a day of sightseeing. Urban Enoteca features one of only two 24-bottle Cruvinet systems in the city of Philadelphia, ensuring your wine is poured at the proper temperature while eliminating impurities. In addition to wines by bottle or the glass, our chic downtown restaurant also features seasonal draft craft beers and an extensive cocktail menu with fresh herbs and juices. Experience innovative dining in Philadelphia's Rittenhouse Square at Urban Enoteca

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 83
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeB.
Business
N/A
Feb 19, 2015

Very Nice

No Mini Bar. But everything else was nice. Didn't wow me with over the top ammenities but didn't do anything wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edward Lu
Business
Reading
Jan 15, 2015

Awesome

nice location, I like shopping and it located at shopping street. nice staff, I really enjoy it. by the way, this is my third time I live Latham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JN.137
Business
Upton
Jan 15, 2015

Family Weekend Visit at Local College

This hotel we stayed at met our expectations. We usually stay at chain hotel that we have our rewards program with, however, they were all booked up for "Family Weekend" at a local university. We were pleasantly surprised at the Latham. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. We didn't interact much with hotel staff other than checking in and checking out, but the register staff were extremely friendly and pleasant to work with. Like with any other city hotel, parking is either valet or you have to find a parking garage on your own. We found a parking garage right around the corner from the hotel (4 min. walk). Much cheaper than valet parking through the hotel. I will say we got good value for the money for this stay on this particular weekend only because we found a deal on-line probably several weeks earlier before our trip. Otherwise, the normal price per night is fairly steep. So shop around well ahead of time for better pricing. The hotel was very close to shops and restaurants so that was convenient. Very close to all the local colleges as well. We enjoyed the Latham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Redding Market is a short walk away. This marketplace is wonderful for fresh deli foods, veggies and fruit, Amish baked goods and local vendor products.. It has tons of food vendors that you can choose from to try all the local flavors to eat. This place is one huge indoor market that you can spend hours visiting. I highly recommend the fresh squeezed orange juice that is sold in pints, quarts and gallons. Reasonably priced and just delicious.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jonathan B.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

One-Night New Year's Getaway

The location was perfect and the room was clean and comfortable. Upon arrival, checkin was quick and efficient but having our car parked was not. The valet service involved pulling up to the hotel and double-parking on (very busy) 17th st until a member of the staff is able to accommodate you but don't let this discourage you. The hotel gym has a nice view and despite being very minimal it was great to have a free workout. The hotel restaurant/bar was very mediocre the drinks were good but service is slow. Breakfast was expensive and a bagel and muffin took a half hour to prepare (the kitchen was very busy with room service orders). Our server was very friendly and struck our bill, which saved the experience. I would recommend a stay at the Latham - a bit expensive for what it is, but the location is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flyergal94
Business
baltimore,md
Nov 10, 2014

Fun night in the city

Hotel was perfectly situated and great deal...booked for a king bed though and only got a queen (not a huge deal since didn't really need one that large, but just the point)...otherwise, very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SirWilliam the Romantic
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 29, 2014

Wedding Partier

Great Room to rest your head after a long wedding party. Even late at night the staff was helpful to get us to our rooms quickly and quietly. We are very thankful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Old City Bar district I's amazing.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler Viv
Business
New York, NY
Sep 24, 2014

Great Location, Staff & Beds

The staff, everyone from the front desk to the doormen, was great and efficient. Beds are super plush and comfortable, and the room was large and spacious. The bathroom seems to be brand new, and was great for a bath or showers. Nice touch with the organic toiletries. It's around the corner from Federal Donuts, and Dizengoff, legitimately the best hummus place in maybe the entire Northeast, so it could not be more central. Would definitely stay here again for a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must try Dizengoff for breakfast or afternoon snack. They close after 5pm.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annab322
Business
West Chester, PA
Sep 15, 2014

Fantastic Anniversary Weekend

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for our anniversary weekend and had a great time! The hotel is in a prime location in walking distance to many restaurants and bars in the center city area. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean and well decorated; a little on the small side but for the price and location it was nothing to complain about. We also enjoyed the restaurant located in the hotel. They offered a variety of delicious and unique drinks during happy hour and the bartender was very friendly! We would definitely recommend this to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars and restaurants in the center city and rotten house area

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewAdvent
Business
Fairfax, VA
Aug 30, 2014

Nice

Stayed her 2 nights: Pros: Everything, Staff (especially the valet staff was quick) Clean room Large bathrooms Beautiful view from room (13th floor) Cons: Valet parking fee $40 per night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LSNJ
Business
Cherry Hill,NJ
Aug 25, 2014

Great place to stay.

One could not find a better location in center city Philadelphia. The hotel staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. I would not think twice about staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top