$133 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

3 stars
135 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
67 reviews
Great hotel.

We had a wonderful time here. It's in a central location and lot's to do within walking distance. See full review

  • LL17
  • Aug 14, 2014
family getaway

Everything was great from quality and price to the hotel services. See full review

  • Gyulnara
  • Jul 31, 2014
The Latham Hotel's turn-of-the-century facade and huge glass door open to high ceilings and parlors lined with monochrome photos of classic movie stars. Planted on the National Register of Historic Places, the hotel was built on the site of university founder William Bucknell's home, but is now thoroughly modern in its amenities, from the free in-room Wi-Fi to the fitness room with its Walnut Street panoramas. The atmosphere is still decidedly boutique with the wine bar, craft beers and rustic Mediterranean-style bites at the Urban Enoteca restaurant - check in for happy hour from 5:00pm until 7:00pm, and enjoy a discount cocktail.
Key facts
  • 139 guestrooms and suites
  • Restaurant/bar: Urban Enoteca
  • Fully-equipped fitness center
  • Chauffeured car services
  • In-room dining services
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Fitness center
  • Pets allowed (dogs only, under 30lbs, fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The Latham sets you down in the Downtown area of Philadelphia, right around the corner from Rittenhouse Square stores and restaurants and on the same thoroughfare as Walnut Street Theatre. Explore the city's celebrated past by visiting the National Constitution Center and the Liberty Bell, both of which are located only a few minutes' walk away. Or follow the Avenue of the Arts on and around nearby Broad Street, for local galleries, performance centers, and the ornate architecture of the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts.
Hints and tips
If you're after a stay with a conscience, the hotel is part of the Clean the World Program and recycles bath soaps, distributed globally to those in need.

Don't miss out on experiencing the neighborhood in style, with a cruise in the hotel's chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan - it's first come, first served, but completely free.
Policies and fees
The Latham Hotel  welcomes well-mannered dogs 30 lbs. or less. Guests bringing pets will be charged a one-time $75 fee for the first three nights, and a $25 fee for each night thereafter. Room type and location restrictions apply.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9501 -75.1689
Area served
Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International
Area description
Within 5-15 minute walk or taxi from all of Philly's most popular attractions. Liberty Bell, Independence Mall, Art Museum, Franklin Institute Science Museum, National Constitution Center, Please Touch Children's Musuem, Philadelphia Zoo, Wachovia Center, Lincoln Financial Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe King Accessible with Roll in Shower
Our Deluxe King Accessible guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe King Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe King guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe Two Double Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe Two Double Bed guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.7 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

Urban Enoteca Restaurant and Wine Bar
With its enticing menu and a coveted corner location overlooking Rittenhouse Square, Urban Enoteca has emerged as a hotspot among Rittenhouse Square restaurants. This stylish neighborhood restaurant and wine bar blends urban vintage charm with a touch of modern sophistication and always delivers a memorable culinary experience. Start your day with our hearty and healthy breakfast options, followed by an All Day Menu perfect for business lunches, romantic dinners in Rittenhouse Square or wine sampling with friends after a day of sightseeing. Urban Enoteca features one of only two 24-bottle Cruvinet systems in the city of Philadelphia, ensuring your wine is poured at the proper temperature while eliminating impurities. In addition to wines by bottle or the glass, our chic downtown restaurant also features seasonal draft craft beers and an extensive cocktail menu with fresh herbs and juices. Experience innovative dining in Philadelphia's Rittenhouse Square at Urban Enoteca

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Latham Hotel is the perfect setting for small business meetings and events. The Hotel is located just a stroll away from many of Philadelphia's most prestigious corporate offices and renown attractions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 67
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunny0205
Glen Mills, PA
Mar 30, 2013

Expected More

We stayed at the Latham for a night getaway from the kids. We were really excited to see it had been renovated but to our surprise, the rooms felt smaller. You open the door and almost hit the nightstand! The bathroom is very tiny but nicely updated. The location was awesome, we could walk anywhere in town ...and Butcher and Singer was the best part of the evening...steak was incredible! The hotel bar is small and drinks are very expensive. They said they had a happy hour but when we go there, no snacks or half price drinks. When we checked in for the night, it was fairly quiet however the morning noise was awful. We were forced to wake at 8am with all of the construction, and garbage trucks. We didn't have breakfast there but walked to a bagel shop, and checked out. It took a good while for them to get our car. It was very busy and the bell boy seems a bit frazzled. I hate to be so negative but i feel for the money you spend for this hotel..you should have a little bit more for your buck! Slightly dissapointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SiouxsieSiouxBklyn
Brooklyn, NY
May 6, 2014

great location...not sure if I'd stay there again

The positives: it's a really great location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed, pillows and linens, and nice Keurig, although they were a little chincy on the sweeteners and cups! The negatives: the room we had on the 2nd floor had a pretty small television (30-odd inches) and it was an analog signal which added to the disappointment. The digital clock provided was very dimly lit and looked a bit beat-up. The shower had a semi-scraped label stuck on it from the manufacturer. The sink had shelves beneath it for towels; when you bent down to take a towel, you can see the sink pipe. The small table by the closet was a little dusty. We don't stay in hotels that often, so I was hoping it would've felt a little more luxurious. I would recommend to a friend for one or two nights because it's a central location but I would probably try another hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JustMyOpinion
Seattle, WA
Jun 17, 2013

Perfect location

A block from Rittenhouse Square in one direction and Starbux in the other. Clean nice sized room which is well appointed but for the absence of drinking glasses/cups. Registration wasn't expecting us and blamed this web site for not contacting them re: several pre-paid reservations like mine... which was remarkably inexpensive. Maid was shouting to her coworker from right outside our door as my wife was sleeping in. When "outed" she was appropriately apologetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel has a car and driver for distances <2 miles. Of course, it may not be available exactly when you are.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dinojr
Easton PA
Oct 29, 2012

Had a great stay

perfect for us - the staff/service was exceptional

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaveR VA
Arlington, Virginia
Apr 29, 2014

Great Location, Good Value

The hotel was situated in the perfect spot for our downtown activities and their rates beat everyone else in the area. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the free car service was a great perk too! The room was on the smaller side, but that was not a big deal. My only (minor) complaints were the lack of drinking glasses in the room and the iron was not very user-friendly (nearly all of the markings were worn off, so I couldn't tell what setting it was on). Overall though, we were very happy with our 1-night stay at the Latham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free car service at the hotel- save yourself a cab ride and go in style!

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jesse010302
NYC
Jul 13, 2013

Nice Spot

The Latham hotel was a comfortable, clean spot, with a good location. We were pleased with the room, amenities, and service. While not mind blowing, our stay was well balanced between comfort and cost. Given the opportunity we'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner was a great beer bar/take out shop. The food looked good too, but we didn't try it. This style of shop seems to be a thing in this city, as I noticed a few. The selection was really amazing, if a bit pricey. The hotel staff directed us there, I'm sure they can do the same again.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfredito
New York, NY
Jun 10, 2013

Great urban experience

Our stay at the Latham Hotel put us right in the middle of everything. We could walk anywhere and comfortably explore the city by foot. The staff was friendly and accommodating .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
husband and wife stay
new jersey
Apr 3, 2013

great price and location

perfect for a quick getaway. right in the heart of center city. great shops and restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Small Town City Lover
Salida, CO
Aug 2, 2014

Philly- Great Stay in Center City

The Latham is our favorite place to stay in downtown Philly. It's central to many restaurants, shops, and parks, and it's only a short cab ride from the airport. They've refurbished the rooms since we've been staying there and now they have a combination of antique furniture and sleek modern furniture and fixtures. It feels like we're staying in a historical site with modern comforts. If your room is on the street-side of the hotel there is great people-watching from the higher floors! I'll definitely keep going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many great restaurants and diners within just a few blocks walk. Across from Rittenhouse square are a number of restaurants with outdoor seating and fantastic food. Reading Terminal Market is a longer walk away, but it has amazing baked goods, meals, shops, and it's a slice of the "real" Philly (fresh canolli, Philly cheese-steak...).

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weaver Carol
Washington DC
Apr 8, 2013

Anniversary trip

The hotel worked out just right for us. We were able to walk to most of what we wanted to do and when we couldn't, the complimentary car was available. The staff was helpful, the room was attractive and the location couldn't have been better. The weather was good for walking, so we enjoyed walks to the Historic District and to the new Barnes Foundation Museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search