$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

3 stars
View map of 135 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
88 reviews
Weekend Getaway

We arrived early to hotel and were able to check in. The hotel had a car that provided us... See full review

  • Ron L.
  • Feb 17, 2015
Awesome

nice location, I like shopping and it located at shopping street. nice staff, I really enjoy it. by... See full review

  • Edward Lu
  • Jan 15, 2015
The Latham Hotel's turn-of-the-century facade and huge glass door open to high ceilings and parlors lined with monochrome photos of classic movie stars. Planted on the National Register of Historic Places, the hotel was built on the site of university founder William Bucknell's home, but is now thoroughly modern in its amenities, from the free in-room Wi-Fi to the fitness room with its Walnut Street panoramas. The atmosphere is still decidedly boutique with the wine bar, craft beers and rustic Mediterranean-style bites at the Urban Enoteca restaurant - check in for happy hour from 5:00pm until 7:00pm, and enjoy a discount cocktail.
Key facts
  • 139 guestrooms and suites
  • Restaurant/bar: Urban Enoteca
  • Fully-equipped fitness center
  • Chauffeured car services
  • In-room dining services
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Fitness center
  • Pets allowed (dogs only, under 30lbs, fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The Latham sets you down in the Downtown area of Philadelphia, right around the corner from Rittenhouse Square stores and restaurants and on the same thoroughfare as Walnut Street Theatre. Explore the city's celebrated past by visiting the National Constitution Center and the Liberty Bell, both of which are located only a few minutes' walk away. Or follow the Avenue of the Arts on and around nearby Broad Street, for local galleries, performance centers, and the ornate architecture of the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts.
Hints and tips
If you're after a stay with a conscience, the hotel is part of the Clean the World Program and recycles bath soaps, distributed globally to those in need.

Don't miss out on experiencing the neighborhood in style, with a cruise in the hotel's chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan - it's first come, first served, but completely free.
Policies and fees
The Latham Hotel  welcomes well-mannered dogs 30 lbs. or less. Guests bringing pets will be charged a one-time $75 fee for the first three nights, and a $25 fee for each night thereafter. Room type and location restrictions apply.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe King Accessible with Roll in Shower
Our Deluxe King Accessible guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe King Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe King guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe Two Double Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe Two Double Bed guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.7 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Latham Hotel is the perfect setting for small business meetings and events. The Hotel is located just a stroll away from many of Philadelphia's most prestigious corporate offices and renown attractions.

Dining

Urban Enoteca Restaurant and Wine Bar
With its enticing menu and a coveted corner location overlooking Rittenhouse Square, Urban Enoteca has emerged as a hotspot among Rittenhouse Square restaurants. This stylish neighborhood restaurant and wine bar blends urban vintage charm with a touch of modern sophistication and always delivers a memorable culinary experience. Start your day with our hearty and healthy breakfast options, followed by an All Day Menu perfect for business lunches, romantic dinners in Rittenhouse Square or wine sampling with friends after a day of sightseeing. Urban Enoteca features one of only two 24-bottle Cruvinet systems in the city of Philadelphia, ensuring your wine is poured at the proper temperature while eliminating impurities. In addition to wines by bottle or the glass, our chic downtown restaurant also features seasonal draft craft beers and an extensive cocktail menu with fresh herbs and juices. Experience innovative dining in Philadelphia's Rittenhouse Square at Urban Enoteca

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat from NJ
Business
NYC
Nov 16, 2012

Business trip

Great 2 night stay in November at a perfect location on 17th street. Didn't have time to use then fitness center, but the restaurant was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chriswalks
Business
Lansdale, PA
Jan 2, 2013

Great hotel to end 2012 and welcome 2013!

This hotel was perfect for a one night getway to celebrate NYE with some freinds. I live right outside Philly and hate having to pay for a hotel in the city but sometimes it's neccessary. I was greeted at the door and walked right up to the front desk. It's a small desk with two clerks but everytime I walked past they were both there and no line. Check in was quick and I was in my room within 10 minutes of walking in. The room was well beyond what I had expected. It was a nice size room with two double beds. Since it was an old building in Philly, I was expecting a small room. All the linens were clean and crisp. The entire room was extremely neat and well kept. I had to call the front desk for ice since there is no ice on any floor. It was delivered to my room within 5 minutes. In room was complemetary water and a Keurig with 6 K cups for coffee in the morning. It was an incredible stay for such a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Born.in.Philly
Business
Delaware
Feb 13, 2013

Philly Phun

Great location in center city, walking distance to everything!! Comfy room with a great view (9th floor room) of 17th and Walnut Street shopping... cant beat the quality for the price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kitty D.
Business
Rochester NY
Mar 25, 2013

Great Hotel in a Great Location!

This was my first time staying at the Latham, but I'll be back. Staff was helpful and I found the room to be very nice. Room service was fine also. I plan on staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RogBox
Business
Boston
Mar 27, 2013

Great for College Visit

Great hotel, great location. We stayed while we were looking at schools, Drexel & Temple so it was a good location. Nice pub, The Black Sheep about two blocks away. My one complaint was the room next door was loud at 3 am with some rowdy kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
occabat
Business
NY
Mar 30, 2013

Clean, great location

Very clean room. Accommodating and friendly staff. Great location--close to restaurants and about a 30 min. walk to Philadelphia Museum Of Art. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
husband and wife stay
Business
new jersey
Apr 3, 2013

great price and location

perfect for a quick getaway. right in the heart of center city. great shops and restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J night away
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 8, 2013

Staff provides Amazing customer service!

I needed a night away from my house. So I went on my mobile phone and went through a travel website. and got a decent price at a local hotel. The hotel is elegant, clean and the lady at the front desk went above and beyond and turned my much needed night away a extravagant evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Rittenhouse Sq park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weaver Carol
Business
Washington DC
Apr 8, 2013

Anniversary trip

The hotel worked out just right for us. We were able to walk to most of what we wanted to do and when we couldn't, the complimentary car was available. The staff was helpful, the room was attractive and the location couldn't have been better. The weather was good for walking, so we enjoyed walks to the Historic District and to the new Barnes Foundation Museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dawn NYC
Business
New York, NY
Apr 14, 2013

Nice, convenient

Stylish and quaint. If you're just staying a few nights in the city and want to be in the middle of everything, this is a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top