$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

3 stars
View map of 135 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
84 reviews
Awesome location!!!

This hotel was clean, in an amazing location and the staff was very friendly!! See full review

  • Jaclyn S.
  • Aug 14, 2015
Awesome

nice location, I like shopping and it located at shopping street. nice staff, I really enjoy it. by... See full review

  • Edward Lu
  • Jan 15, 2015
The Latham Hotel's turn-of-the-century facade and huge glass door open to high ceilings and parlors lined with monochrome photos of classic movie stars. Planted on the National Register of Historic Places, the hotel was built on the site of university founder William Bucknell's home, but is now thoroughly modern in its amenities, from the free in-room Wi-Fi to the fitness room with its Walnut Street panoramas. The atmosphere is still decidedly boutique with the wine bar, craft beers and rustic Mediterranean-style bites at the Urban Enoteca restaurant - check in for happy hour from 5:00pm until 7:00pm, and enjoy a discount cocktail.
Location
The Latham sets you down in the Downtown area of Philadelphia, right around the corner from Rittenhouse Square stores and restaurants and on the same thoroughfare as Walnut Street Theatre. Explore the city's celebrated past by visiting the National Constitution Center and the Liberty Bell, both of which are located only a few minutes' walk away. Or follow the Avenue of the Arts on and around nearby Broad Street, for local galleries, performance centers, and the ornate architecture of the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts.
Highlights
  • 139 guestrooms and suites
  • Restaurant/bar: Urban Enoteca
  • Fully-equipped fitness center
  • Chauffeured car services
  • In-room dining services
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Fitness center
  • Pets allowed (dogs only, under 30lbs, fees may apply)
Fees
The Latham Hotel  welcomes well-mannered dogs 30 lbs. or less. Guests bringing pets will be charged a one-time $75 fee for the first three nights, and a $25 fee for each night thereafter. Room type and location restrictions apply.
Policies
If you're after a stay with a conscience, the hotel is part of the Clean the World Program and recycles bath soaps, distributed globally to those in need.

Don't miss out on experiencing the neighborhood in style, with a cruise in the hotel's chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan - it's first come, first served, but completely free.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

★★★
$87
4.0 / 5 667 reviews
★★★★
$115
3.7 / 5 149 reviews
★★★★
$260
4.2 / 5 19 reviews
★★★★
$98
4.4 / 5 96 reviews
★★★
$129
4.0 / 5 240 reviews
★★★★
$153
4.4 / 5 195 reviews
★★★★
$136
4.2 / 5 60 reviews
★★★★
$139
3.9 / 5 81 reviews
★★★★
$152
4.2 / 5 45 reviews

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe King Accessible with Roll in Shower
Our Deluxe King Accessible guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe King Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe King guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe Two Double Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe Two Double Bed guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.7 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Latham Hotel is the perfect setting for small business meetings and events. The Hotel is located just a stroll away from many of Philadelphia's most prestigious corporate offices and renown attractions.

Dining

Urban Enoteca Restaurant and Wine Bar
With its enticing menu and a coveted corner location overlooking Rittenhouse Square, Urban Enoteca has emerged as a hotspot among Rittenhouse Square restaurants. This stylish neighborhood restaurant and wine bar blends urban vintage charm with a touch of modern sophistication and always delivers a memorable culinary experience. Start your day with our hearty and healthy breakfast options, followed by an All Day Menu perfect for business lunches, romantic dinners in Rittenhouse Square or wine sampling with friends after a day of sightseeing. Urban Enoteca features one of only two 24-bottle Cruvinet systems in the city of Philadelphia, ensuring your wine is poured at the proper temperature while eliminating impurities. In addition to wines by bottle or the glass, our chic downtown restaurant also features seasonal draft craft beers and an extensive cocktail menu with fresh herbs and juices. Experience innovative dining in Philadelphia's Rittenhouse Square at Urban Enoteca

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynn the artist
Couples
South Glastonbury, CT
Oct 21, 2012

WONDERFUL GET A WAY

Arrival was a pleasant experience, centrally located near , shopping, restaurants, was a very pleasant experience- room was beautiful, comfortable, linens were very nice. The restaurant was so fantastic that we ate there two nights in a row. The chef was wonderful and the menu was to die for. Valet service was great, get car anytime needed. Perfect little botique hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
31415
Family
Beijing
May 24, 2013

Family of three, stayed for one night

Could not sleep well because of the really loud noise from AC/ventilation fans on neighboring roofs. Also, the wifi signal was weak and the speed was the slowest I've ever seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's garage parking one street down south for $21 a day, about 50% cheaper than the hotel's valet parking

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SiouxsieSiouxBklyn
Couples
Brooklyn, NY
May 6, 2014

great location...not sure if I'd stay there again

The positives: it's a really great location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed, pillows and linens, and nice Keurig, although they were a little chincy on the sweeteners and cups! The negatives: the room we had on the 2nd floor had a pretty small television (30-odd inches) and it was an analog signal which added to the disappointment. The digital clock provided was very dimly lit and looked a bit beat-up. The shower had a semi-scraped label stuck on it from the manufacturer. The sink had shelves beneath it for towels; when you bent down to take a towel, you can see the sink pipe. The small table by the closet was a little dusty. We don't stay in hotels that often, so I was hoping it would've felt a little more luxurious. I would recommend to a friend for one or two nights because it's a central location but I would probably try another hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H0tchildinthecity
Friends
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 18, 2013

Good rooms & location, Poor customer service

I would definitely stay here again, but mostly because the location is great and the rooms are nice, especially for the price. The staff, while nice, was just not that competent. We waited in line to check in at 11 pm on a friday for around 20 minutes while one of the front desk people socialized with other guests. She could sense our irritation and gave us a free breakfast which was nice. When we checked out, they told us there was a complimentary car service to the art museum, but after waiting 45 minutes for our ride (that was only supposed to be a 10 minute wait) we gave up and took a cab. Despite the terrible customer service, I would still stay here again, since the room was really nice and the price was great. I would just know to avoid relying on the staff for anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

On Chestnut and 20th there is an awesome cocktail bar called Tippling Room, which I would highly recommend.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunny0205
Couples
Glen Mills, PA
Mar 30, 2013

Expected More

We stayed at the Latham for a night getaway from the kids. We were really excited to see it had been renovated but to our surprise, the rooms felt smaller. You open the door and almost hit the nightstand! The bathroom is very tiny but nicely updated. The location was awesome, we could walk anywhere in town ...and Butcher and Singer was the best part of the evening...steak was incredible! The hotel bar is small and drinks are very expensive. They said they had a happy hour but when we go there, no snacks or half price drinks. When we checked in for the night, it was fairly quiet however the morning noise was awful. We were forced to wake at 8am with all of the construction, and garbage trucks. We didn't have breakfast there but walked to a bagel shop, and checked out. It took a good while for them to get our car. It was very busy and the bell boy seems a bit frazzled. I hate to be so negative but i feel for the money you spend for this hotel..you should have a little bit more for your buck! Slightly dissapointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cintron
Family
Alexandria, VA
Jul 27, 2014

Good deal - Great location

Great location, affordable rates. Unfortunately they don't have sleepers or roll aways so accommodating a kid for us meant having him sleep with us in bed and we all know thats never a good night's sleep. I made the reservation checking off 3 persons and called hours earlier to be assure that accommodations can be made. Was told it wouldn't be a problem and that they would probably switch us to a double bed rather than queen, which was a fine solution. But alas, when we checked in this wasn't an option as they were sold out on doubles. I was not afraid to vocalize my annoyance when i discovered this without being mean and their Friendly staff did show concern and gave us complimentary breakfast vouchers, which was nice but did not solve the situation. Rooms are on the small side which is to be expected in this area but comfortable enough! Very nicely decorated, clean. Would stay again only if just me or the two of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NFSHRI
Family
San José, CA USA
Aug 29, 2014

Location, location, location

The best thing about this boutique hotel is being located in the middle of all the cultural and historical part of Philly. Otherwise, it's just an average 3-star hotel. One negative is that the car parking costs an arm and a leg ( over $40/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the garage at Chancellor Street if you won't be using your car during your stay.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rk25
Friends
Portland
Dec 29, 2014

Great location but wouldn't stay here again

The hotel is located right in the heart of Rittenhouse Square and is within walking distance (more than a few blocks- roughly a 5 minute walk) to the Suburban Square station. They also have a free town car service which provides free transport within a mile of the hotel. Philly is pretty central (at least the parts of town you want to hang in) so this is a big bonus. As for the room itself, I appreciated the free water but found the room to be very small, we had a lovely "view" of the backsides of some old brick buildings and the room seemed a bit old (i.e. needed a fresh coat of paint). The room certainly wasn't cheap so I would think twice about staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rk25
Friends
Portland
Dec 22, 2014

Great location but wouldn't stay here again

The hotel is located right in the heart of Rittenhouse Square and is within walking distance (more than a few blocks- roughly a 5 minute walk) to the Suburban Square station. They also have a free town car service which provides free transport within a mile of the hotel. Philly is pretty central (at least the parts of town you want to hang in) so this is a big bonus. As for the room itself, I appreciated the free water but found the room to be very small, we had a lovely "view" of the backsides of some old brick buildings and the room seemed a bit old (i.e. needed a fresh coat of paint). The room certainly wasn't cheap so I would think twice about staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TakT
Couples
Virginia
Apr 21, 2014

Nice downtown place

Nice, clean hotel, breakfest in restarant is just acceptable and will cost $10-$20 per person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaveR VA
Couples
Arlington, Virginia
Apr 29, 2014

Great Location, Good Value

The hotel was situated in the perfect spot for our downtown activities and their rates beat everyone else in the area. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the free car service was a great perk too! The room was on the smaller side, but that was not a big deal. My only (minor) complaints were the lack of drinking glasses in the room and the iron was not very user-friendly (nearly all of the markings were worn off, so I couldn't tell what setting it was on). Overall though, we were very happy with our 1-night stay at the Latham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free car service at the hotel- save yourself a cab ride and go in style!

Back to menu Return to top