$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

3 stars
135 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
54 reviews
Beautiful Hotel

This hotel was well-located and clean. The bed as one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on.... See full review

  • Whit NY
  • Apr 29, 2014
Great place

Perfect Center City location, friendly staff, and nice sized rooms. What more could you ask for? See full review

  • ApacheExRacer
  • Apr 20, 2014
The Latham Hotel's turn-of-the-century facade and huge glass door open to high ceilings and parlors lined with monochrome photos of classic movie stars. Planted on the National Register of Historic Places, the hotel was built on the site of university founder William Bucknell's home, but is now thoroughly modern in its amenities, from the free in-room Wi-Fi to the fitness room with its Walnut Street panoramas. The atmosphere is still decidedly boutique with the wine bar, craft beers and rustic Mediterranean-style bites at the Urban Enoteca restaurant - check in for happy hour from 5:00pm until 7:00pm, and enjoy a discount cocktail.
Key facts
  • 139 guestrooms and suites
  • Restaurant/bar: Urban Enoteca
  • Fully-equipped fitness center
  • Chauffeured car services
  • In-room dining services
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Fitness center
  • Pets allowed (dogs only, under 30lbs, fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The Latham sets you down in the Downtown area of Philadelphia, right around the corner from Rittenhouse Square stores and restaurants and on the same thoroughfare as Walnut Street Theatre. Explore the city's celebrated past by visiting the National Constitution Center and the Liberty Bell, both of which are located only a few minutes' walk away. Or follow the Avenue of the Arts on and around nearby Broad Street, for local galleries, performance centers, and the ornate architecture of the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts.
Hints and tips
If you're after a stay with a conscience, the hotel is part of the Clean the World Program and recycles bath soaps, distributed globally to those in need.

Don't miss out on experiencing the neighborhood in style, with a cruise in the hotel's chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan - it's first come, first served, but completely free.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9501 -75.1689
Area served
Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International
Area description
Within 5-15 minute walk or taxi from all of Philly's most popular attractions. Liberty Bell, Independence Mall, Art Museum, Franklin Institute Science Museum, National Constitution Center, Please Touch Children's Musuem, Philadelphia Zoo, Wachovia Center, Lincoln Financial Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe King Accessible with Roll in Shower
The design elements will provide for contemporary modern sophistication complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe King Non-Smoking
The design elements will provide for contemporary modern sophistication complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking
Deluxe Two Double Non-Smoking
The design elements will provide for contemporary modern sophistication complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. Two double beds, non smoking

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.7 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Latham Hotel is the perfect setting for small business meetings and events. The Hotel is located just a stroll away from many of Philadelphia's most prestigious corporate offices and renown attractions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chriswalks
Lansdale, PA
Jan 2, 2013

Great hotel to end 2012 and welcome 2013!

This hotel was perfect for a one night getway to celebrate NYE with some freinds. I live right outside Philly and hate having to pay for a hotel in the city but sometimes it's neccessary. I was greeted at the door and walked right up to the front desk. It's a small desk with two clerks but everytime I walked past they were both there and no line. Check in was quick and I was in my room within 10 minutes of walking in. The room was well beyond what I had expected. It was a nice size room with two double beds. Since it was an old building in Philly, I was expecting a small room. All the linens were clean and crisp. The entire room was extremely neat and well kept. I had to call the front desk for ice since there is no ice on any floor. It was delivered to my room within 5 minutes. In room was complemetary water and a Keurig with 6 K cups for coffee in the morning. It was an incredible stay for such a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaveR VA
Arlington, Virginia
Apr 29, 2014

Great Location, Good Value

The hotel was situated in the perfect spot for our downtown activities and their rates beat everyone else in the area. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the free car service was a great perk too! The room was on the smaller side, but that was not a big deal. My only (minor) complaints were the lack of drinking glasses in the room and the iron was not very user-friendly (nearly all of the markings were worn off, so I couldn't tell what setting it was on). Overall though, we were very happy with our 1-night stay at the Latham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free car service at the hotel- save yourself a cab ride and go in style!

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen World Traveler
WA state
Jun 16, 2013

Stopover from European holiday

I too missed the glasses in the bathroom! I used the Latham as a one night stopover from my European holiday. Both leaving and returning to the US. A great relaxing room. Philadelphia is a great city. Hope to do the same thing in a couple of years and stay at the Latham. I did use the airport shuttle they recommended and had great service there too. I made my own reservations so I knew they were made!! Just schedule a little extra time especially during rush hour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
occabat
NY
Mar 30, 2013

Clean, great location

Very clean room. Accommodating and friendly staff. Great location--close to restaurants and about a 30 min. walk to Philadelphia Museum Of Art. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jesse010302
NYC
Jul 13, 2013

Nice Spot

The Latham hotel was a comfortable, clean spot, with a good location. We were pleased with the room, amenities, and service. While not mind blowing, our stay was well balanced between comfort and cost. Given the opportunity we'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner was a great beer bar/take out shop. The food looked good too, but we didn't try it. This style of shop seems to be a thing in this city, as I noticed a few. The selection was really amazing, if a bit pricey. The hotel staff directed us there, I'm sure they can do the same again.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Highlander
Pa
May 16, 2013

Great Hotel and location

The Latham is a great value for the money. The rooms are well appointed albeit small. Great pillow/bedding. Good location for proximity to center city Phila. You've got to check out Alma de Cuba restaurant just around the corner from hotel. Incredible food and service...Highly recommend the Vaca Frita steak and don't even get me started on the petite dinner rolls! WOW! I want the recipe and whatever you do, do not pass up on a "Chocolate Cigar" for dessert! Complimentary Car Service to 30th St Station was a very nice touch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alma de Cuba - around the corner......

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfredito
New York, NY
Jun 10, 2013

Great urban experience

Our stay at the Latham Hotel put us right in the middle of everything. We could walk anywhere and comfortably explore the city by foot. The staff was friendly and accommodating .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
husband and wife stay
new jersey
Apr 3, 2013

great price and location

perfect for a quick getaway. right in the heart of center city. great shops and restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kitty D.
Rochester NY
Mar 25, 2013

Great Hotel in a Great Location!

This was my first time staying at the Latham, but I'll be back. Staff was helpful and I found the room to be very nice. Room service was fine also. I plan on staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weaver Carol
Washington DC
Apr 8, 2013

Anniversary trip

The hotel worked out just right for us. We were able to walk to most of what we wanted to do and when we couldn't, the complimentary car was available. The staff was helpful, the room was attractive and the location couldn't have been better. The weather was good for walking, so we enjoyed walks to the Historic District and to the new Barnes Foundation Museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top