$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

3 stars
View map of 135 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivy
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Apr 20, 2008

Great location, good value, average decor and amenities.

The Latham Hotel in Center City Philadelphia is located in the heart of the action. Within walking distance (1-30 minutes) of everything you could ask for, restaurants, shopping, arts district, theatres, parks and museums. The decor is outdated, the rooms a bit small (but clean) and the amenities very average, but the hotel makes up for its shortcomings in its value and location. If you are planning on spending most of your time out and about, and are looking for a reasonable price, I would suggest this hotel. If you are looking for finer accommodations, more space or an upscale experience, I suggest that you look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

For fantastic, imaginative mexican food and the best margarita's in town try Lolita's. It is about a 10-15 min walk from The Latham, in the East of broad area. Just remember to BYOB to add to the margaritas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Pennsylvania
Mar 28, 2010

Nice Hotel, polite staff, great location

Wasn't there very much, only for sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

I enjoy walking, did that mostly, when tired - hop on public transportaion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Naptown Rambler
Business
Annapolis, MD
May 8, 2010

Looking for the "wow" factor?

If you want the "wow" factor, look elsewhere. But for a clean, quiet room smack dab in the middle of downtown, you could do a lot worse than this old gem. Excellent restaurants in walking distance - try Miel Patisserie for coffee and croissants, Mi Lanh (vegetarian) for lunch, and Bellini Grill (Italian - good for omnivores, but fine for us herbivores, too!) for dinner. Almost non-existent lobby a little off-putting at first, but hey - we're not the type to sit around in a hotel lobby anyway... The shower was great, the AirCon/Heater unit worked well, and the window actually opened! Only quibble? One leg of the bed was slightly out of whack, so that corner was about 2" higher than the rest of the bed. We'll definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Many restaurants in Philly are bring-your-own-bottle establishments due to liquor licensing restrictions. If you like wine with your meals, check the policy of any restaurants you call. Some who don't have wine sale licenses have a practice of giving a complimentary glass to those who come empty-handed; i.e., they can't sell it, but they can give it away. If they do, be cool - don't ask for two or three glasses...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Scoops
Business
Northern Virginia
Nov 30, 2009

Don't second guess- it's great!

Perfect location for touring around Philadelphia on foot. Right in the middle of shopping and within walking distance (with good walking shoes) of art museum, South Street, Liberty Bell. Let them know we were newlyweds and they upgraded us for free! Also let us store our bags after we checked out so we could continue sight-seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Half Man Half Amazing
Business
Rotterdam NY
Feb 25, 2014

Amazing

This hotel was incredible. The staff was great and everything was so accommodating. One of the drivers of the complimentary Car was just awesome. Roman was his name. He gave us insight on the history of the city as well as had good conversation and was incredibly friendly. He really made the trip enjoyable. Room service was great and the food was excellent. I am thoroughly impressed with The Latham Hotel and will absolutely be back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alma de Cuba

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ApacheExRacer
Business
New Jersey
Apr 20, 2014

Great place

Perfect Center City location, friendly staff, and nice sized rooms. What more could you ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whit NY
Business
NY, NY
Apr 29, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

This hotel was well-located and clean. The bed as one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynn the artist
Business
South Glastonbury, CT
Oct 21, 2012

WONDERFUL GET A WAY

Arrival was a pleasant experience, centrally located near , shopping, restaurants, was a very pleasant experience- room was beautiful, comfortable, linens were very nice. The restaurant was so fantastic that we ate there two nights in a row. The chef was wonderful and the menu was to die for. Valet service was great, get car anytime needed. Perfect little botique hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda Super Shopper
Business
Hershey, PA
Feb 6, 2013

Location, location, location!

This hotel is an absolute gem! It is in the heart of Philly and it could not be any more convenient. It is newly renovated and super clean and comfortable. I stay here every time I visit my daughter in college in Philly. The food at their new restaurant, Urban Enoteca, is fabulous. I ate the best new york strip steak and the service was very good. I will not hesitate to return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't forget that the hotel has a 2 mile chauffeur service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cc1236
Business
Beijing
Mar 4, 2013

Great experience!

A wonderful room and big bed, unforgettable experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top