$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

3 stars
135 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
57 reviews
Convenient, Comfortable & Friendly Stay

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at the Latham hotel in Philly. The room was clean, comfortable,... See full review

  • clarinetmj
  • Jul 18, 2014
Great mid-week getaway.

Prime location, friendly helpful staff, great room. And parking in center city is free aftyer 5pm... See full review

  • amy impulse traveler
  • Jul 11, 2014
The Latham Hotel's turn-of-the-century facade and huge glass door open to high ceilings and parlors lined with monochrome photos of classic movie stars. Planted on the National Register of Historic Places, the hotel was built on the site of university founder William Bucknell's home, but is now thoroughly modern in its amenities, from the free in-room Wi-Fi to the fitness room with its Walnut Street panoramas. The atmosphere is still decidedly boutique with the wine bar, craft beers and rustic Mediterranean-style bites at the Urban Enoteca restaurant - check in for happy hour from 5:00pm until 7:00pm, and enjoy a discount cocktail.
Key facts
  • 139 guestrooms and suites
  • Restaurant/bar: Urban Enoteca
  • Fully-equipped fitness center
  • Chauffeured car services
  • In-room dining services
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Fitness center
  • Pets allowed (dogs only, under 30lbs, fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The Latham sets you down in the Downtown area of Philadelphia, right around the corner from Rittenhouse Square stores and restaurants and on the same thoroughfare as Walnut Street Theatre. Explore the city's celebrated past by visiting the National Constitution Center and the Liberty Bell, both of which are located only a few minutes' walk away. Or follow the Avenue of the Arts on and around nearby Broad Street, for local galleries, performance centers, and the ornate architecture of the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts.
Hints and tips
If you're after a stay with a conscience, the hotel is part of the Clean the World Program and recycles bath soaps, distributed globally to those in need.

Don't miss out on experiencing the neighborhood in style, with a cruise in the hotel's chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan - it's first come, first served, but completely free.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe King Accessible with Roll in Shower
The design elements will provide for contemporary modern sophistication complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe King Non-Smoking
The design elements will provide for contemporary modern sophistication complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking
Deluxe Two Double Non-Smoking
The design elements will provide for contemporary modern sophistication complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. Two double beds, non smoking

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9501 -75.1689
Area served
Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International
Area description
Within 5-15 minute walk or taxi from all of Philly's most popular attractions. Liberty Bell, Independence Mall, Art Museum, Franklin Institute Science Museum, National Constitution Center, Please Touch Children's Musuem, Philadelphia Zoo, Wachovia Center, Lincoln Financial Field.

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.7 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Latham Hotel is the perfect setting for small business meetings and events. The Hotel is located just a stroll away from many of Philadelphia's most prestigious corporate offices and renown attractions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chriswalks
Lansdale, PA
Jan 2, 2013

Great hotel to end 2012 and welcome 2013!

This hotel was perfect for a one night getway to celebrate NYE with some freinds. I live right outside Philly and hate having to pay for a hotel in the city but sometimes it's neccessary. I was greeted at the door and walked right up to the front desk. It's a small desk with two clerks but everytime I walked past they were both there and no line. Check in was quick and I was in my room within 10 minutes of walking in. The room was well beyond what I had expected. It was a nice size room with two double beds. Since it was an old building in Philly, I was expecting a small room. All the linens were clean and crisp. The entire room was extremely neat and well kept. I had to call the front desk for ice since there is no ice on any floor. It was delivered to my room within 5 minutes. In room was complemetary water and a Keurig with 6 K cups for coffee in the morning. It was an incredible stay for such a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy traveler Amy
Baltimore, Maryland
Mar 11, 2013

Great weekend away!

The hotel staff was fantastic...allowed for a super early check-in and couldn't be more friendly. The hotel bar/restaurant was wonderful and the room itself was a great deal...modern and comfortable and clean!!! highly recommend this hotel and would visit again anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cc1236
Beijing
Mar 4, 2013

Great experience!

A wonderful room and big bed, unforgettable experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H0tchildinthecity
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 18, 2013

Good rooms & location, Poor customer service

I would definitely stay here again, but mostly because the location is great and the rooms are nice, especially for the price. The staff, while nice, was just not that competent. We waited in line to check in at 11 pm on a friday for around 20 minutes while one of the front desk people socialized with other guests. She could sense our irritation and gave us a free breakfast which was nice. When we checked out, they told us there was a complimentary car service to the art museum, but after waiting 45 minutes for our ride (that was only supposed to be a 10 minute wait) we gave up and took a cab. Despite the terrible customer service, I would still stay here again, since the room was really nice and the price was great. I would just know to avoid relying on the staff for anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

On Chestnut and 20th there is an awesome cocktail bar called Tippling Room, which I would highly recommend.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Born.in.Philly
Delaware
Feb 13, 2013

Philly Phun

Great location in center city, walking distance to everything!! Comfy room with a great view (9th floor room) of 17th and Walnut Street shopping... cant beat the quality for the price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda Super Shopper
Hershey, PA
Feb 6, 2013

Location, location, location!

This hotel is an absolute gem! It is in the heart of Philly and it could not be any more convenient. It is newly renovated and super clean and comfortable. I stay here every time I visit my daughter in college in Philly. The food at their new restaurant, Urban Enoteca, is fabulous. I ate the best new york strip steak and the service was very good. I will not hesitate to return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't forget that the hotel has a 2 mile chauffeur service!

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chriswalks
Lansdale, PA
Jan 2, 2013

Great hotel to end 2012 and welcome 2013!

This hotel was perfect for a one night getway to celebrate NYE with some freinds. I live right outside Philly and hate having to pay for a hotel in the city but sometimes it's neccessary. I was greeted at the door and walked right up to the front desk. It's a small desk with two clerks but everytime I walked past they were both there and no line. Check in was quick and I was in my room within 10 minutes of walking in. The room was well beyond what I had expected. It was a nice size room with two double beds. Since it was an old building in Philly, I was expecting a small room. All the linens were clean and crisp. The entire room was extremely neat and well kept. I had to call the front desk for ice since there is no ice on any floor. It was delivered to my room within 5 minutes. In room was complemetary water and a Keurig with 6 K cups for coffee in the morning. It was an incredible stay for such a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat from NJ
Business
NYC
Nov 16, 2012

Business trip

Great 2 night stay in November at a perfect location on 17th street. Didn't have time to use then fitness center, but the restaurant was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dinojr
Easton PA
Oct 29, 2012

Had a great stay

perfect for us - the staff/service was exceptional

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynn the artist
South Glastonbury, CT
Oct 21, 2012

WONDERFUL GET A WAY

Arrival was a pleasant experience, centrally located near , shopping, restaurants, was a very pleasant experience- room was beautiful, comfortable, linens were very nice. The restaurant was so fantastic that we ate there two nights in a row. The chef was wonderful and the menu was to die for. Valet service was great, get car anytime needed. Perfect little botique hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top