$133 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

3 stars
135 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
67 reviews
Great hotel.

We had a wonderful time here. It's in a central location and lot's to do within walking distance. See full review

  • LL17
  • Aug 14, 2014
family getaway

Everything was great from quality and price to the hotel services. See full review

  • Gyulnara
  • Jul 31, 2014
The Latham Hotel's turn-of-the-century facade and huge glass door open to high ceilings and parlors lined with monochrome photos of classic movie stars. Planted on the National Register of Historic Places, the hotel was built on the site of university founder William Bucknell's home, but is now thoroughly modern in its amenities, from the free in-room Wi-Fi to the fitness room with its Walnut Street panoramas. The atmosphere is still decidedly boutique with the wine bar, craft beers and rustic Mediterranean-style bites at the Urban Enoteca restaurant - check in for happy hour from 5:00pm until 7:00pm, and enjoy a discount cocktail.
Key facts
  • 139 guestrooms and suites
  • Restaurant/bar: Urban Enoteca
  • Fully-equipped fitness center
  • Chauffeured car services
  • In-room dining services
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Fitness center
  • Pets allowed (dogs only, under 30lbs, fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The Latham sets you down in the Downtown area of Philadelphia, right around the corner from Rittenhouse Square stores and restaurants and on the same thoroughfare as Walnut Street Theatre. Explore the city's celebrated past by visiting the National Constitution Center and the Liberty Bell, both of which are located only a few minutes' walk away. Or follow the Avenue of the Arts on and around nearby Broad Street, for local galleries, performance centers, and the ornate architecture of the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts.
Hints and tips
If you're after a stay with a conscience, the hotel is part of the Clean the World Program and recycles bath soaps, distributed globally to those in need.

Don't miss out on experiencing the neighborhood in style, with a cruise in the hotel's chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan - it's first come, first served, but completely free.
Policies and fees
The Latham Hotel  welcomes well-mannered dogs 30 lbs. or less. Guests bringing pets will be charged a one-time $75 fee for the first three nights, and a $25 fee for each night thereafter. Room type and location restrictions apply.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9501 -75.1689
Area served
Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International
Area description
Within 5-15 minute walk or taxi from all of Philly's most popular attractions. Liberty Bell, Independence Mall, Art Museum, Franklin Institute Science Museum, National Constitution Center, Please Touch Children's Musuem, Philadelphia Zoo, Wachovia Center, Lincoln Financial Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe King Accessible with Roll in Shower
Our Deluxe King Accessible guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe King Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe King guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe Two Double Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe Two Double Bed guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.7 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

Urban Enoteca Restaurant and Wine Bar
With its enticing menu and a coveted corner location overlooking Rittenhouse Square, Urban Enoteca has emerged as a hotspot among Rittenhouse Square restaurants. This stylish neighborhood restaurant and wine bar blends urban vintage charm with a touch of modern sophistication and always delivers a memorable culinary experience. Start your day with our hearty and healthy breakfast options, followed by an All Day Menu perfect for business lunches, romantic dinners in Rittenhouse Square or wine sampling with friends after a day of sightseeing. Urban Enoteca features one of only two 24-bottle Cruvinet systems in the city of Philadelphia, ensuring your wine is poured at the proper temperature while eliminating impurities. In addition to wines by bottle or the glass, our chic downtown restaurant also features seasonal draft craft beers and an extensive cocktail menu with fresh herbs and juices. Experience innovative dining in Philadelphia's Rittenhouse Square at Urban Enoteca

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Latham Hotel is the perfect setting for small business meetings and events. The Hotel is located just a stroll away from many of Philadelphia's most prestigious corporate offices and renown attractions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda Super Shopper
Hershey, PA
Feb 6, 2013

Location, location, location!

This hotel is an absolute gem! It is in the heart of Philly and it could not be any more convenient. It is newly renovated and super clean and comfortable. I stay here every time I visit my daughter in college in Philly. The food at their new restaurant, Urban Enoteca, is fabulous. I ate the best new york strip steak and the service was very good. I will not hesitate to return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't forget that the hotel has a 2 mile chauffeur service!

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a12344
Boston, MA
Apr 24, 2013

nicely furnished room

room looked luxurious, clean, nicely furnished. the room was slightly smaller than i expected but the decor made up for it. Good TV, relatively quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Born.in.Philly
Delaware
Feb 13, 2013

Philly Phun

Great location in center city, walking distance to everything!! Comfy room with a great view (9th floor room) of 17th and Walnut Street shopping... cant beat the quality for the price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MinneapolisTraveller
Minneapolis
Aug 23, 2013

Amazing value, well appointed, great location

This is a nice boutique hotel in a great location. I stayed here on my own dime at the end of a work trip. The hotel I had been staying at for work was much more expensive, but I would have overwhelmingly preferred to stay at the Latham for the whole trip had I known better. My room was very clean and well appointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Those are the pros. I can't think of any cons!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The gray gang
Boston, MA
May 3, 2013

Classy decorated hotel

I stayed 2 nights at the Latham which is located in th Rittenhouse square area. Great shopping, close to many fine restaurants and Rittenhouse park. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room itself was elegantly decorated,-one of the most tastefully updated hotels I've stayed in. One downside was the free courtesy van was not available although advertised to offer free transportation anywhere within a two mile radius. Taxi service to art museum, Barnes etc added a little extra cost to our budget. On the whole, however, very pleased with our stay and will book again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business Savvy Modern Gal
Business
New Jersey
Jun 6, 2013

Posh Spot in perfect area

This hotel is located in a wonderful area of Philadelphia. Within walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel has a wonderful selection of drinks and food.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat from NJ
Business
NYC
Nov 16, 2012

Business trip

Great 2 night stay in November at a perfect location on 17th street. Didn't have time to use then fitness center, but the restaurant was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Creative Iatrogenist
Business
Denver
May 3, 2014

Three-star acts like a four-star

Wonderful restored and updated gem a few blocks off Rittenhouse Square. Short walk to everything in Center City. Clean as a whistle (thanks, Barbara). Crisp sheets. Spacious rooms. Wonderful architecture. Updated and modern old school building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All of Center City is less than a 15-20 minute walk

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J night away
Philadelphia
Apr 8, 2013

Staff provides Amazing customer service!

I needed a night away from my house. So I went on my mobile phone and went through a travel website. and got a decent price at a local hotel. The hotel is elegant, clean and the lady at the front desk went above and beyond and turned my much needed night away a extravagant evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Rittenhouse Sq park

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston Jess
Boston, MA
Jun 5, 2013

Great location

I stayed in this hotel for one night, but it was great. They let me check in extra early (8am), and it was in a great location in the city. The only problems that I had were the AC was not working properly, and the valet services takes a very long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CGsquared
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 3, 2013

Top notch except one key failure

Top notch in every respect except one. I checked in at about 7:30 pm and was told the restaurant was open until 11:00 pm. The hotel amenities book says it is open until 11:00 pm and that all day dining/dinner room service is available until 11:00 pm. At 9:30 pm, I called to order room service and was told that the restaurant kitchen had closed because it wasn't that busy. I was disappointed but asked to order from the late night room service menu. I was told that would not be available until 11:00 pm becasue the kitchen would not reopen for the late night service until 11:00 pm. A hotel cannot be 5-star with this kind of gap in performance and availablility of a key promised amenity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search