$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

3 stars
135 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
78 reviews
Great Location: Friendly staff

The location was great and staff were very friendly. The room had modern amenities. It was clean... See full review

  • Boston ASN Traveler
  • Nov 17, 2014
Wedding Partier

Great Room to rest your head after a long wedding party. Even late at night the staff was helpful... See full review

  • SirWilliam the Romantic
  • Sep 29, 2014
The Latham Hotel's turn-of-the-century facade and huge glass door open to high ceilings and parlors lined with monochrome photos of classic movie stars. Planted on the National Register of Historic Places, the hotel was built on the site of university founder William Bucknell's home, but is now thoroughly modern in its amenities, from the free in-room Wi-Fi to the fitness room with its Walnut Street panoramas. The atmosphere is still decidedly boutique with the wine bar, craft beers and rustic Mediterranean-style bites at the Urban Enoteca restaurant - check in for happy hour from 5:00pm until 7:00pm, and enjoy a discount cocktail.
Key facts
  • 139 guestrooms and suites
  • Restaurant/bar: Urban Enoteca
  • Fully-equipped fitness center
  • Chauffeured car services
  • In-room dining services
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Fitness center
  • Pets allowed (dogs only, under 30lbs, fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The Latham sets you down in the Downtown area of Philadelphia, right around the corner from Rittenhouse Square stores and restaurants and on the same thoroughfare as Walnut Street Theatre. Explore the city's celebrated past by visiting the National Constitution Center and the Liberty Bell, both of which are located only a few minutes' walk away. Or follow the Avenue of the Arts on and around nearby Broad Street, for local galleries, performance centers, and the ornate architecture of the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts.
Hints and tips
If you're after a stay with a conscience, the hotel is part of the Clean the World Program and recycles bath soaps, distributed globally to those in need.

Don't miss out on experiencing the neighborhood in style, with a cruise in the hotel's chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan - it's first come, first served, but completely free.
Policies and fees
The Latham Hotel  welcomes well-mannered dogs 30 lbs. or less. Guests bringing pets will be charged a one-time $75 fee for the first three nights, and a $25 fee for each night thereafter. Room type and location restrictions apply.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe King Accessible with Roll in Shower
Our Deluxe King Accessible guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe King Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe King guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe Two Double Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe Two Double Bed guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.7 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

Urban Enoteca Restaurant and Wine Bar
With its enticing menu and a coveted corner location overlooking Rittenhouse Square, Urban Enoteca has emerged as a hotspot among Rittenhouse Square restaurants. This stylish neighborhood restaurant and wine bar blends urban vintage charm with a touch of modern sophistication and always delivers a memorable culinary experience. Start your day with our hearty and healthy breakfast options, followed by an All Day Menu perfect for business lunches, romantic dinners in Rittenhouse Square or wine sampling with friends after a day of sightseeing. Urban Enoteca features one of only two 24-bottle Cruvinet systems in the city of Philadelphia, ensuring your wine is poured at the proper temperature while eliminating impurities. In addition to wines by bottle or the glass, our chic downtown restaurant also features seasonal draft craft beers and an extensive cocktail menu with fresh herbs and juices. Experience innovative dining in Philadelphia's Rittenhouse Square at Urban Enoteca

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Latham Hotel is the perfect setting for small business meetings and events. The Hotel is located just a stroll away from many of Philadelphia's most prestigious corporate offices and renown attractions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Highlander
Business
Pa
May 16, 2013

Great Hotel and location

The Latham is a great value for the money. The rooms are well appointed albeit small. Great pillow/bedding. Good location for proximity to center city Phila. You've got to check out Alma de Cuba restaurant just around the corner from hotel. Incredible food and service...Highly recommend the Vaca Frita steak and don't even get me started on the petite dinner rolls! WOW! I want the recipe and whatever you do, do not pass up on a "Chocolate Cigar" for dessert! Complimentary Car Service to 30th St Station was a very nice touch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alma de Cuba - around the corner......

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen World Traveler
Business
WA state
Jun 16, 2013

Stopover from European holiday

I too missed the glasses in the bathroom! I used the Latham as a one night stopover from my European holiday. Both leaving and returning to the US. A great relaxing room. Philadelphia is a great city. Hope to do the same thing in a couple of years and stay at the Latham. I did use the airport shuttle they recommended and had great service there too. I made my own reservations so I knew they were made!! Just schedule a little extra time especially during rush hour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JustMyOpinion
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 17, 2013

Perfect location

A block from Rittenhouse Square in one direction and Starbux in the other. Clean nice sized room which is well appointed but for the absence of drinking glasses/cups. Registration wasn't expecting us and blamed this web site for not contacting them re: several pre-paid reservations like mine... which was remarkably inexpensive. Maid was shouting to her coworker from right outside our door as my wife was sleeping in. When "outed" she was appropriately apologetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel has a car and driver for distances <2 miles. Of course, it may not be available exactly when you are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kunicky
Business
Wilmington, DE
Jul 8, 2013

Charming Values

The Latham became an instant favorite this weekend. My wife and I were greeted by a very friendly doorman and the gentleman at the front desk extended courtesy even further. Was well within walking distance to everything we had planned and more. We are looking to our next weekend in Philly at the Latham!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jesse010302
Business
NYC
Jul 13, 2013

Nice Spot

The Latham hotel was a comfortable, clean spot, with a good location. We were pleased with the room, amenities, and service. While not mind blowing, our stay was well balanced between comfort and cost. Given the opportunity we'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner was a great beer bar/take out shop. The food looked good too, but we didn't try it. This style of shop seems to be a thing in this city, as I noticed a few. The selection was really amazing, if a bit pricey. The hotel staff directed us there, I'm sure they can do the same again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston Jess
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 5, 2013

Great location

I stayed in this hotel for one night, but it was great. They let me check in extra early (8am), and it was in a great location in the city. The only problems that I had were the AC was not working properly, and the valet services takes a very long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business Savvy Modern Gal
Business
New Jersey
Jun 6, 2013

Posh Spot in perfect area

This hotel is located in a wonderful area of Philadelphia. Within walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel has a wonderful selection of drinks and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfredito
Business
New York, NY
Jun 10, 2013

Great urban experience

Our stay at the Latham Hotel put us right in the middle of everything. We could walk anywhere and comfortably explore the city by foot. The staff was friendly and accommodating .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MinneapolisTraveller
Business
Minneapolis
Aug 23, 2013

Amazing value, well appointed, great location

This is a nice boutique hotel in a great location. I stayed here on my own dime at the end of a work trip. The hotel I had been staying at for work was much more expensive, but I would have overwhelmingly preferred to stay at the Latham for the whole trip had I known better. My room was very clean and well appointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Those are the pros. I can't think of any cons!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
special tea
Business
langhorne, pa
Oct 29, 2013

Girls Weekend

Had a great getaway with longstanding friends! Location was prime and we walked to our two evening destinations-Del Frisco's Double Eagle Steakhouse on Chestnut and Duels Piano Bar on Locust.Room decor was sophisticated and comfortable with a modern marble bathroom. However, the room and definately the elevator were somewaht tight. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would have been wonderful if a continental breakfast was included. The check out time of 12:00 was appreciated! WE would like to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top