$133 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

3 stars
135 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
72 reviews
Great hotel.

We had a wonderful time here. It's in a central location and lot's to do within walking distance. See full review

  • LL17
  • Aug 14, 2014
very nice

everything was great, no regrets, I even printed a boarding pass for free. I appreciated having... See full review

  • blueaqula
  • Aug 8, 2014
The Latham Hotel's turn-of-the-century facade and huge glass door open to high ceilings and parlors lined with monochrome photos of classic movie stars. Planted on the National Register of Historic Places, the hotel was built on the site of university founder William Bucknell's home, but is now thoroughly modern in its amenities, from the free in-room Wi-Fi to the fitness room with its Walnut Street panoramas. The atmosphere is still decidedly boutique with the wine bar, craft beers and rustic Mediterranean-style bites at the Urban Enoteca restaurant - check in for happy hour from 5:00pm until 7:00pm, and enjoy a discount cocktail.
Key facts
  • 139 guestrooms and suites
  • Restaurant/bar: Urban Enoteca
  • Fully-equipped fitness center
  • Chauffeured car services
  • In-room dining services
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Fitness center
  • Pets allowed (dogs only, under 30lbs, fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The Latham sets you down in the Downtown area of Philadelphia, right around the corner from Rittenhouse Square stores and restaurants and on the same thoroughfare as Walnut Street Theatre. Explore the city's celebrated past by visiting the National Constitution Center and the Liberty Bell, both of which are located only a few minutes' walk away. Or follow the Avenue of the Arts on and around nearby Broad Street, for local galleries, performance centers, and the ornate architecture of the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts.
Hints and tips
If you're after a stay with a conscience, the hotel is part of the Clean the World Program and recycles bath soaps, distributed globally to those in need.

Don't miss out on experiencing the neighborhood in style, with a cruise in the hotel's chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan - it's first come, first served, but completely free.
Policies and fees
The Latham Hotel  welcomes well-mannered dogs 30 lbs. or less. Guests bringing pets will be charged a one-time $75 fee for the first three nights, and a $25 fee for each night thereafter. Room type and location restrictions apply.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9501 -75.1689
Area served
Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International
Area description
Within 5-15 minute walk or taxi from all of Philly's most popular attractions. Liberty Bell, Independence Mall, Art Museum, Franklin Institute Science Museum, National Constitution Center, Please Touch Children's Musuem, Philadelphia Zoo, Wachovia Center, Lincoln Financial Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe King Accessible with Roll in Shower
Our Deluxe King Accessible guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe King Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe King guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe Two Double Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe Two Double Bed guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.7 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Latham Hotel is the perfect setting for small business meetings and events. The Hotel is located just a stroll away from many of Philadelphia's most prestigious corporate offices and renown attractions.

Dining

Urban Enoteca Restaurant and Wine Bar
With its enticing menu and a coveted corner location overlooking Rittenhouse Square, Urban Enoteca has emerged as a hotspot among Rittenhouse Square restaurants. This stylish neighborhood restaurant and wine bar blends urban vintage charm with a touch of modern sophistication and always delivers a memorable culinary experience. Start your day with our hearty and healthy breakfast options, followed by an All Day Menu perfect for business lunches, romantic dinners in Rittenhouse Square or wine sampling with friends after a day of sightseeing. Urban Enoteca features one of only two 24-bottle Cruvinet systems in the city of Philadelphia, ensuring your wine is poured at the proper temperature while eliminating impurities. In addition to wines by bottle or the glass, our chic downtown restaurant also features seasonal draft craft beers and an extensive cocktail menu with fresh herbs and juices. Experience innovative dining in Philadelphia's Rittenhouse Square at Urban Enoteca

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chriswalks
Lansdale, PA
Jan 2, 2013

Great hotel to end 2012 and welcome 2013!

This hotel was perfect for a one night getway to celebrate NYE with some freinds. I live right outside Philly and hate having to pay for a hotel in the city but sometimes it's neccessary. I was greeted at the door and walked right up to the front desk. It's a small desk with two clerks but everytime I walked past they were both there and no line. Check in was quick and I was in my room within 10 minutes of walking in. The room was well beyond what I had expected. It was a nice size room with two double beds. Since it was an old building in Philly, I was expecting a small room. All the linens were clean and crisp. The entire room was extremely neat and well kept. I had to call the front desk for ice since there is no ice on any floor. It was delivered to my room within 5 minutes. In room was complemetary water and a Keurig with 6 K cups for coffee in the morning. It was an incredible stay for such a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whit NY
NY, NY
Apr 29, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

This hotel was well-located and clean. The bed as one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TakT
Virginia
Apr 21, 2014

Nice downtown place

Nice, clean hotel, breakfest in restarant is just acceptable and will cost $10-$20 per person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Timbo B
pa
Apr 21, 2014

Fancy Name but not fancy

Hotel has a fancy name and is in a fantastic location but after that its very ordinary Room was small for US standard. More a London sized room and view was of a big brick wall Bed was comfortable but rest of amenieties were average. I got the room on a reasonable deal but if I'd paid normal rate it would have been disappointing Oh and having prepaid, I got a bill through the door in the morning as another booking for less than I'd paid. Of course when I questioned they said throw bill away - Pre booking was correct price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dandelion for great beer and food Max Brenner for breakfast and chocolate heaven

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ApacheExRacer
New Jersey
Apr 20, 2014

Great place

Perfect Center City location, friendly staff, and nice sized rooms. What more could you ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Half Man Half Amazing
Rotterdam NY
Feb 25, 2014

Amazing

This hotel was incredible. The staff was great and everything was so accommodating. One of the drivers of the complimentary Car was just awesome. Roman was his name. He gave us insight on the history of the city as well as had good conversation and was incredibly friendly. He really made the trip enjoyable. Room service was great and the food was excellent. I am thoroughly impressed with The Latham Hotel and will absolutely be back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alma de Cuba

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PleazBuyMeThings
Philadelphia
Dec 26, 2013

Relaxing, luxurious hotel in the most exciting part of Philly

I'm a Philadelphia resident but occasionally like to spend some bones on a fancy hotel in Center City. This is one of the best deals in the city I've found and the location is perfection if your a tourist coming to town for shopping and dining or just don't want to drive home to the outskirts after a night of debauchery. The staff is super sweet and you have access to some of the best room service in the city. I'd highly recommend this to anyone who loves a personal, boutique hotel close to some of the best restaurants in the world and coolest shops. toodles & toddies

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit DiBruno brothers' Chestnut Street location and let the cheesemongers and charcuterie experts lead the way.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BerkeleyTraveller
Berkeley, CA
Dec 1, 2013

Great room; great staff; but very noisy Sat. night

Our family stayed in two very nice rooms on the Saturday of Thanksgiving weekend (2013). Both of our rooms were clean and well appointed. The only detraction was that the street noise coming from bar/club hopping people was intense until almost 2:30 in the morning (we're not early to bed types or light sleepers, so believe me this was fairly extreme). There was really nothing the very pleasant staff could do about this since it was purely a locational issues that likely affects all hotels in the Rittenhouse Square area. So, while I'd happily return, I would think twice before staying on another Saturday (and probably Friday) night, unless, of course, I was one of the revelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Di Bruno Bros Italian gourmet grocery 1730 Chestnut (@17th). Nice gourmet foods, including prepared foods and breakfast items--open early for quick eats.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hot Mama Deb
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 30, 2013

Love this hotel!

Awesome location! Excellent restaurants all around. The entire hotel staff is wonderful. I love that they give you bottled water (as much as you want), and continental breakfast is included. We got a great deal, therefore, parking wasn't included, which is costly ($39/ day); however, that is the going rate of the neighborhood garages. You don't need a car, as everything is walking distance and trains are nearby. Also, one of my favorite features is the free car service! The driver in a beautiful black sedan took us to the movies and picked us up when we called! Everyone was so gracious and accommodating! I highly recommend The Latham and would stay there again when I return to Philly!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean Prime is a delicious nearby restaurant that is expensive, but worth it and very family friendly. Kids get to pick from a box of little toys, and there is a super reasonable kid's menu ($10 for a 5 oz. filet and a side). The food was amazing!!! Service was excellent!

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CGsquared
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 3, 2013

Top notch except one key failure

Top notch in every respect except one. I checked in at about 7:30 pm and was told the restaurant was open until 11:00 pm. The hotel amenities book says it is open until 11:00 pm and that all day dining/dinner room service is available until 11:00 pm. At 9:30 pm, I called to order room service and was told that the restaurant kitchen had closed because it wasn't that busy. I was disappointed but asked to order from the late night room service menu. I was told that would not be available until 11:00 pm becasue the kitchen would not reopen for the late night service until 11:00 pm. A hotel cannot be 5-star with this kind of gap in performance and availablility of a key promised amenity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
special tea
langhorne, pa
Oct 29, 2013

Girls Weekend

Had a great getaway with longstanding friends! Location was prime and we walked to our two evening destinations-Del Frisco's Double Eagle Steakhouse on Chestnut and Duels Piano Bar on Locust.Room decor was sophisticated and comfortable with a modern marble bathroom. However, the room and definately the elevator were somewaht tight. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would have been wonderful if a continental breakfast was included. The check out time of 12:00 was appreciated! WE would like to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search