$156 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

3 stars
135 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
72 reviews
Great hotel.

We had a wonderful time here. It's in a central location and lot's to do within walking distance. See full review

  • LL17
  • Aug 14, 2014
very nice

everything was great, no regrets, I even printed a boarding pass for free. I appreciated having... See full review

  • blueaqula
  • Aug 8, 2014
The Latham Hotel's turn-of-the-century facade and huge glass door open to high ceilings and parlors lined with monochrome photos of classic movie stars. Planted on the National Register of Historic Places, the hotel was built on the site of university founder William Bucknell's home, but is now thoroughly modern in its amenities, from the free in-room Wi-Fi to the fitness room with its Walnut Street panoramas. The atmosphere is still decidedly boutique with the wine bar, craft beers and rustic Mediterranean-style bites at the Urban Enoteca restaurant - check in for happy hour from 5:00pm until 7:00pm, and enjoy a discount cocktail.
Key facts
  • 139 guestrooms and suites
  • Restaurant/bar: Urban Enoteca
  • Fully-equipped fitness center
  • Chauffeured car services
  • In-room dining services
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Fitness center
  • Pets allowed (dogs only, under 30lbs, fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The Latham sets you down in the Downtown area of Philadelphia, right around the corner from Rittenhouse Square stores and restaurants and on the same thoroughfare as Walnut Street Theatre. Explore the city's celebrated past by visiting the National Constitution Center and the Liberty Bell, both of which are located only a few minutes' walk away. Or follow the Avenue of the Arts on and around nearby Broad Street, for local galleries, performance centers, and the ornate architecture of the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts.
Hints and tips
If you're after a stay with a conscience, the hotel is part of the Clean the World Program and recycles bath soaps, distributed globally to those in need.

Don't miss out on experiencing the neighborhood in style, with a cruise in the hotel's chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan - it's first come, first served, but completely free.
Policies and fees
The Latham Hotel  welcomes well-mannered dogs 30 lbs. or less. Guests bringing pets will be charged a one-time $75 fee for the first three nights, and a $25 fee for each night thereafter. Room type and location restrictions apply.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9501 -75.1689
Area served
Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International
Area description
Within 5-15 minute walk or taxi from all of Philly's most popular attractions. Liberty Bell, Independence Mall, Art Museum, Franklin Institute Science Museum, National Constitution Center, Please Touch Children's Musuem, Philadelphia Zoo, Wachovia Center, Lincoln Financial Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe King Accessible with Roll in Shower
Our Deluxe King Accessible guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe King Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe King guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe Two Double Non-Smoking
Our Deluxe Two Double Bed guest room design provides a contemporary modern decor' complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.7 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

Urban Enoteca Restaurant and Wine Bar
With its enticing menu and a coveted corner location overlooking Rittenhouse Square, Urban Enoteca has emerged as a hotspot among Rittenhouse Square restaurants. This stylish neighborhood restaurant and wine bar blends urban vintage charm with a touch of modern sophistication and always delivers a memorable culinary experience. Start your day with our hearty and healthy breakfast options, followed by an All Day Menu perfect for business lunches, romantic dinners in Rittenhouse Square or wine sampling with friends after a day of sightseeing. Urban Enoteca features one of only two 24-bottle Cruvinet systems in the city of Philadelphia, ensuring your wine is poured at the proper temperature while eliminating impurities. In addition to wines by bottle or the glass, our chic downtown restaurant also features seasonal draft craft beers and an extensive cocktail menu with fresh herbs and juices. Experience innovative dining in Philadelphia's Rittenhouse Square at Urban Enoteca

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Latham Hotel is the perfect setting for small business meetings and events. The Hotel is located just a stroll away from many of Philadelphia's most prestigious corporate offices and renown attractions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LL17
New York
Aug 14, 2014

Great hotel.

We had a wonderful time here. It's in a central location and lot's to do within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hoya Lawya
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 8, 2014

Great Location

This hotel is in a great location. The rooms are a little oddly shaped and not super big and there was no tub in my room. But overall it was pretty nice and clean. Additionally, all of the staff that work there are really friendly and helpful. I would probably stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
blueaqula
Business
miami, fl
Aug 8, 2014

very nice

everything was great, no regrets, I even printed a boarding pass for free. I appreciated having complementary wi-fi and WATER. Maybe have the breakfast complementary, too, but it is not a big deal for single travelers like me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Small Town City Lover
Salida, CO
Aug 2, 2014

Philly- Great Stay in Center City

The Latham is our favorite place to stay in downtown Philly. It's central to many restaurants, shops, and parks, and it's only a short cab ride from the airport. They've refurbished the rooms since we've been staying there and now they have a combination of antique furniture and sleek modern furniture and fixtures. It feels like we're staying in a historical site with modern comforts. If your room is on the street-side of the hotel there is great people-watching from the higher floors! I'll definitely keep going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many great restaurants and diners within just a few blocks walk. Across from Rittenhouse square are a number of restaurants with outdoor seating and fantastic food. Reading Terminal Market is a longer walk away, but it has amazing baked goods, meals, shops, and it's a slice of the "real" Philly (fresh canolli, Philly cheese-steak...).

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gyulnara
Pooler GA
Jul 31, 2014

family getaway

Everything was great from quality and price to the hotel services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cintron
Alexandria, VA
Jul 27, 2014

Good deal - Great location

Great location, affordable rates. Unfortunately they don't have sleepers or roll aways so accommodating a kid for us meant having him sleep with us in bed and we all know thats never a good night's sleep. I made the reservation checking off 3 persons and called hours earlier to be assure that accommodations can be made. Was told it wouldn't be a problem and that they would probably switch us to a double bed rather than queen, which was a fine solution. But alas, when we checked in this wasn't an option as they were sold out on doubles. I was not afraid to vocalize my annoyance when i discovered this without being mean and their Friendly staff did show concern and gave us complimentary breakfast vouchers, which was nice but did not solve the situation. Rooms are on the small side which is to be expected in this area but comfortable enough! Very nicely decorated, clean. Would stay again only if just me or the two of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jswizzle1
Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Jul 23, 2014

Weekend Getaway

I was thoroughly happy with this hotel. It was in the center of everything. The staff was extremely friendly. The room was neat and clean. The bed was also very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen37
Boston, MA
Jul 21, 2014

Great experience!

I stayed at this hotel for a trip that was unfortunately not a fun one- visiting a family member in a nearby hospital. Upon check-in, I was informed that the hotel has a complimentary driver who will bring you and pick you up anywhere within a 2 mile radius!! In such a stressful time, it really helped us not to have to think about transportation, and it saved us a ton on taxi rides for the week we stayed there. All the staff were extremely helpful and professional. I thought the room was clean enough and the beds were comfy. The complimentary water with lemons, limes and oranges in the lobby was a nice touch too! I lucked out and got great deal on the hotel through ($130) orherwise it would be out of my budget, but it was worth more than I spent for sure! Maybe not $299, but I don't think I'd pay that for any hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JasmineKardelen
Gaithersburg
Jul 21, 2014

Good hotel in perfect location

Except the high parking rate, which you could avoid by simply parking at nearby parking lots, everything was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yo Adrienne
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jul 21, 2014

Great overnight stay

Staff was most friendly and helpful. Room clean with all of the right amenities. Centrally located so convenient to restaurants and shopping. Park nearby as well so easy for walking dog. Only issue was corner room located on street so heard traffic at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Always as the doorman or front desk staff to recommend a place where locals would eat and that is convenient.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle Andy 62
Business
Brighton, Michigan
Jul 19, 2014

Good

I have begun to look for CountryYards by Marriot, They have always been a great place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clarinetmj
New Fairfied, CT
Jul 18, 2014

Convenient, Comfortable & Friendly Stay

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at the Latham hotel in Philly. The room was clean, comfortable, and the staff was very efficient and friendly. Though we had to use a nearby parking garage, we found that the complimentary car service the hotel provided to us more than made up for the parking fee. We were able to see much of Philly with no waste of time due to the wonderful informative drivers. We will definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Panini's or Effie's for lunch or dinner.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amy impulse traveler
rebersburg, pa
Jul 11, 2014

Great mid-week getaway.

Prime location, friendly helpful staff, great room. And parking in center city is free aftyer 5pm on Wednesday, if you are lucky enough to get a spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Free on street parking after 5pm on wednesday in center city.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bermuda Dave
Bermuda
Jul 7, 2014

Great location, great staff

Booked this hotel on short notice, and was not disappointed. The location was excellent, with easy access to almost anywhere you wish to go in the city. The staff were very attentive and made our stay worth it. If I do visit Philly again, this is where I'll stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many options near the hotel.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAW9
Business
Hopkinton, MA
May 22, 2014

An overnight

The Latham Hotel is in a great location in the Rittenhouse Square area - shopping and good restaurants close by. Valet parking, check-in/out were quick and easy. Staff was welcoming and helpful. The room (King rm) on 12th floor was nicely appointed, comfortable, and quiet. Electrical receptacles were in a good location, where it was easy to plug in my laptop and work at the desk with plenty of room. Bathroom was very clean, contemporary, and comfortable. While just there for an overnight on business, it would have been very comfortable to stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I like the Devon restaurant on Rittenhouse Square.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SiouxsieSiouxBklyn
Brooklyn, NY
May 6, 2014

great location...not sure if I'd stay there again

The positives: it's a really great location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed, pillows and linens, and nice Keurig, although they were a little chincy on the sweeteners and cups! The negatives: the room we had on the 2nd floor had a pretty small television (30-odd inches) and it was an analog signal which added to the disappointment. The digital clock provided was very dimly lit and looked a bit beat-up. The shower had a semi-scraped label stuck on it from the manufacturer. The sink had shelves beneath it for towels; when you bent down to take a towel, you can see the sink pipe. The small table by the closet was a little dusty. We don't stay in hotels that often, so I was hoping it would've felt a little more luxurious. I would recommend to a friend for one or two nights because it's a central location but I would probably try another hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Johnson
New York, NY
May 5, 2014

Awesome location!!!

We had a great weekend in Philly!! The Latham hotel was conveniently located in the heart of Center City. Lots of shopping and great food!! We utilized the free car service which was perfect for getting to our dinner reservations!! I highly recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monk's Cafe is a short walk away!!! Great beer and mussels!!

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Creative Iatrogenist
Business
Denver
May 3, 2014

Three-star acts like a four-star

Wonderful restored and updated gem a few blocks off Rittenhouse Square. Short walk to everything in Center City. Clean as a whistle (thanks, Barbara). Crisp sheets. Spacious rooms. Wonderful architecture. Updated and modern old school building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All of Center City is less than a 15-20 minute walk

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaveR VA
Arlington, Virginia
Apr 29, 2014

Great Location, Good Value

The hotel was situated in the perfect spot for our downtown activities and their rates beat everyone else in the area. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the free car service was a great perk too! The room was on the smaller side, but that was not a big deal. My only (minor) complaints were the lack of drinking glasses in the room and the iron was not very user-friendly (nearly all of the markings were worn off, so I couldn't tell what setting it was on). Overall though, we were very happy with our 1-night stay at the Latham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free car service at the hotel- save yourself a cab ride and go in style!

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whit NY
NY, NY
Apr 29, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

This hotel was well-located and clean. The bed as one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TakT
Virginia
Apr 21, 2014

Nice downtown place

Nice, clean hotel, breakfest in restarant is just acceptable and will cost $10-$20 per person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Timbo B
pa
Apr 21, 2014

Fancy Name but not fancy

Hotel has a fancy name and is in a fantastic location but after that its very ordinary Room was small for US standard. More a London sized room and view was of a big brick wall Bed was comfortable but rest of amenieties were average. I got the room on a reasonable deal but if I'd paid normal rate it would have been disappointing Oh and having prepaid, I got a bill through the door in the morning as another booking for less than I'd paid. Of course when I questioned they said throw bill away - Pre booking was correct price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dandelion for great beer and food Max Brenner for breakfast and chocolate heaven

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ApacheExRacer
New Jersey
Apr 20, 2014

Great place

Perfect Center City location, friendly staff, and nice sized rooms. What more could you ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Half Man Half Amazing
Rotterdam NY
Feb 25, 2014

Amazing

This hotel was incredible. The staff was great and everything was so accommodating. One of the drivers of the complimentary Car was just awesome. Roman was his name. He gave us insight on the history of the city as well as had good conversation and was incredibly friendly. He really made the trip enjoyable. Room service was great and the food was excellent. I am thoroughly impressed with The Latham Hotel and will absolutely be back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alma de Cuba

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PleazBuyMeThings
Philadelphia
Dec 26, 2013

Relaxing, luxurious hotel in the most exciting part of Philly

I'm a Philadelphia resident but occasionally like to spend some bones on a fancy hotel in Center City. This is one of the best deals in the city I've found and the location is perfection if your a tourist coming to town for shopping and dining or just don't want to drive home to the outskirts after a night of debauchery. The staff is super sweet and you have access to some of the best room service in the city. I'd highly recommend this to anyone who loves a personal, boutique hotel close to some of the best restaurants in the world and coolest shops. toodles & toddies

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit DiBruno brothers' Chestnut Street location and let the cheesemongers and charcuterie experts lead the way.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BerkeleyTraveller
Berkeley, CA
Dec 1, 2013

Great room; great staff; but very noisy Sat. night

Our family stayed in two very nice rooms on the Saturday of Thanksgiving weekend (2013). Both of our rooms were clean and well appointed. The only detraction was that the street noise coming from bar/club hopping people was intense until almost 2:30 in the morning (we're not early to bed types or light sleepers, so believe me this was fairly extreme). There was really nothing the very pleasant staff could do about this since it was purely a locational issues that likely affects all hotels in the Rittenhouse Square area. So, while I'd happily return, I would think twice before staying on another Saturday (and probably Friday) night, unless, of course, I was one of the revelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Di Bruno Bros Italian gourmet grocery 1730 Chestnut (@17th). Nice gourmet foods, including prepared foods and breakfast items--open early for quick eats.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hot Mama Deb
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 30, 2013

Love this hotel!

Awesome location! Excellent restaurants all around. The entire hotel staff is wonderful. I love that they give you bottled water (as much as you want), and continental breakfast is included. We got a great deal, therefore, parking wasn't included, which is costly ($39/ day); however, that is the going rate of the neighborhood garages. You don't need a car, as everything is walking distance and trains are nearby. Also, one of my favorite features is the free car service! The driver in a beautiful black sedan took us to the movies and picked us up when we called! Everyone was so gracious and accommodating! I highly recommend The Latham and would stay there again when I return to Philly!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean Prime is a delicious nearby restaurant that is expensive, but worth it and very family friendly. Kids get to pick from a box of little toys, and there is a super reasonable kid's menu ($10 for a 5 oz. filet and a side). The food was amazing!!! Service was excellent!

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CGsquared
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 3, 2013

Top notch except one key failure

Top notch in every respect except one. I checked in at about 7:30 pm and was told the restaurant was open until 11:00 pm. The hotel amenities book says it is open until 11:00 pm and that all day dining/dinner room service is available until 11:00 pm. At 9:30 pm, I called to order room service and was told that the restaurant kitchen had closed because it wasn't that busy. I was disappointed but asked to order from the late night room service menu. I was told that would not be available until 11:00 pm becasue the kitchen would not reopen for the late night service until 11:00 pm. A hotel cannot be 5-star with this kind of gap in performance and availablility of a key promised amenity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
special tea
langhorne, pa
Oct 29, 2013

Girls Weekend

Had a great getaway with longstanding friends! Location was prime and we walked to our two evening destinations-Del Frisco's Double Eagle Steakhouse on Chestnut and Duels Piano Bar on Locust.Room decor was sophisticated and comfortable with a modern marble bathroom. However, the room and definately the elevator were somewaht tight. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would have been wonderful if a continental breakfast was included. The check out time of 12:00 was appreciated! WE would like to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ambioris Marte
Business
washington Dc
Sep 23, 2013

This is the best hotel in Philadelpjia

The staff was the best and the service is outstanding

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the shop was near the hotel

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
caro123
Singapore
Sep 15, 2013

Fantastic Experience

Had a fantastic stay at the Latham. Room was clean and well maintained. Staff are very helpful. The chauffeur service was a pleasant surprise. I would highly recommend the Latham to anyone staying in philly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MinneapolisTraveller
Minneapolis
Aug 23, 2013

Amazing value, well appointed, great location

This is a nice boutique hotel in a great location. I stayed here on my own dime at the end of a work trip. The hotel I had been staying at for work was much more expensive, but I would have overwhelmingly preferred to stay at the Latham for the whole trip had I known better. My room was very clean and well appointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Those are the pros. I can't think of any cons!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Josh farnsworth
Atlanta, ga
Aug 11, 2013

Great hotel in a great area

Great staff, location, room, etc! Would come back and stay there in a heartbeat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Pete's is a great diner experience! Unexpected but a goid experience! Rangoon in china town off 9th street too! Two good places that won't break your bank

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jesse010302
NYC
Jul 13, 2013

Nice Spot

The Latham hotel was a comfortable, clean spot, with a good location. We were pleased with the room, amenities, and service. While not mind blowing, our stay was well balanced between comfort and cost. Given the opportunity we'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner was a great beer bar/take out shop. The food looked good too, but we didn't try it. This style of shop seems to be a thing in this city, as I noticed a few. The selection was really amazing, if a bit pricey. The hotel staff directed us there, I'm sure they can do the same again.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kunicky
Wilmington, DE
Jul 8, 2013

Charming Values

The Latham became an instant favorite this weekend. My wife and I were greeted by a very friendly doorman and the gentleman at the front desk extended courtesy even further. Was well within walking distance to everything we had planned and more. We are looking to our next weekend in Philly at the Latham!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KJBriggs
Florida Keys
Jul 8, 2013

Outstanding in every way!

Room was comfy, clean and had a great view. Staff went above and beyond for even the simplest requests. This is a gem! I had spent the previous 5 nights at a nearby "big name" hotel for almost twice the price and wish I'd known about this hotel prior to my booking at the other hotel!!! No risk in making your reservation with this hotel; you will be pleased!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JustMyOpinion
Seattle, WA
Jun 17, 2013

Perfect location

A block from Rittenhouse Square in one direction and Starbux in the other. Clean nice sized room which is well appointed but for the absence of drinking glasses/cups. Registration wasn't expecting us and blamed this web site for not contacting them re: several pre-paid reservations like mine... which was remarkably inexpensive. Maid was shouting to her coworker from right outside our door as my wife was sleeping in. When "outed" she was appropriately apologetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel has a car and driver for distances <2 miles. Of course, it may not be available exactly when you are.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen World Traveler
WA state
Jun 16, 2013

Stopover from European holiday

I too missed the glasses in the bathroom! I used the Latham as a one night stopover from my European holiday. Both leaving and returning to the US. A great relaxing room. Philadelphia is a great city. Hope to do the same thing in a couple of years and stay at the Latham. I did use the airport shuttle they recommended and had great service there too. I made my own reservations so I knew they were made!! Just schedule a little extra time especially during rush hour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angel5
Business
Mississippi
Jun 14, 2013

Memorable mini vacation

Was a little anxious after reading reviews. Everything was fabulous from the first step into the lobby thru the entire stay. Access to the hotel car was a plus. Very close to any shops and restaurants and a wonderful park just down the street. Will definitely stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful park

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LRohlehr
New York, NY
Jun 11, 2013

Memorial Day in Philly

Amenities - Clean Quiet Comfy Room, Gym, Car Service a big plus! Nice sized room for the area with older buildings. Unlimited Water, Free Wifi. These things are not luxury but they definitely make the stay more pleasant. Wall inking distance to all 4 quadrants of Philly. Friendly staff. Did I mention car service in a nice Audi. Lol Would recommend to friends and family and go back myself again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfredito
New York, NY
Jun 10, 2013

Great urban experience

Our stay at the Latham Hotel put us right in the middle of everything. We could walk anywhere and comfortably explore the city by foot. The staff was friendly and accommodating .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business Savvy Modern Gal
Business
New Jersey
Jun 6, 2013

Posh Spot in perfect area

This hotel is located in a wonderful area of Philadelphia. Within walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel has a wonderful selection of drinks and food.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston Jess
Boston, MA
Jun 5, 2013

Great location

I stayed in this hotel for one night, but it was great. They let me check in extra early (8am), and it was in a great location in the city. The only problems that I had were the AC was not working properly, and the valet services takes a very long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
31415
Beijing
May 24, 2013

Family of three, stayed for one night

Could not sleep well because of the really loud noise from AC/ventilation fans on neighboring roofs. Also, the wifi signal was weak and the speed was the slowest I've ever seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's garage parking one street down south for $21 a day, about 50% cheaper than the hotel's valet parking

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TonyW
Business
Melbourne, Australia
May 23, 2013

Excellent location; charming room

Convenient for everything. Felt at home. Maybe a vending machine for jetlagged nighttime hunger?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VILLANOVA PHD MOM
WEST VIRGINIA
May 20, 2013

GRADUATION WEEKEND

We were happy with the Latham. It was centrally located, walking distance to the train and restaurants, and the staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Highlander
Pa
May 16, 2013

Great Hotel and location

The Latham is a great value for the money. The rooms are well appointed albeit small. Great pillow/bedding. Good location for proximity to center city Phila. You've got to check out Alma de Cuba restaurant just around the corner from hotel. Incredible food and service...Highly recommend the Vaca Frita steak and don't even get me started on the petite dinner rolls! WOW! I want the recipe and whatever you do, do not pass up on a "Chocolate Cigar" for dessert! Complimentary Car Service to 30th St Station was a very nice touch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alma de Cuba - around the corner......

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The gray gang
Boston, MA
May 3, 2013

Classy decorated hotel

I stayed 2 nights at the Latham which is located in th Rittenhouse square area. Great shopping, close to many fine restaurants and Rittenhouse park. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room itself was elegantly decorated,-one of the most tastefully updated hotels I've stayed in. One downside was the free courtesy van was not available although advertised to offer free transportation anywhere within a two mile radius. Taxi service to art museum, Barnes etc added a little extra cost to our budget. On the whole, however, very pleased with our stay and will book again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bslp
north jersey
Apr 28, 2013

First time and will return to this hotel

Usually stay at another hotel but it was booked so tried this hotel. I will definitly stay here next time. If you are looking for a spacious room this is not the place. The decor was really nice and the room was immaculant. the bed was very comfortable I slept well thru the whole night. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Karina64
Business
Orange County CA
Apr 25, 2013

Great location!

It was clean and nice and the people were very nice. It was a good value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of great shops right by this hotel!

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a12344
Boston, MA
Apr 24, 2013

nicely furnished room

room looked luxurious, clean, nicely furnished. the room was slightly smaller than i expected but the decor made up for it. Good TV, relatively quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
iheartmiami
Bronx, NY
Apr 15, 2013

The Latham was Great!

Clean, Friendly Staff, Great Location. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dawn NYC
New York, NY
Apr 14, 2013

Nice, convenient

Stylish and quaint. If you're just staying a few nights in the city and want to be in the middle of everything, this is a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J night away
Philadelphia
Apr 8, 2013

Staff provides Amazing customer service!

I needed a night away from my house. So I went on my mobile phone and went through a travel website. and got a decent price at a local hotel. The hotel is elegant, clean and the lady at the front desk went above and beyond and turned my much needed night away a extravagant evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Rittenhouse Sq park

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weaver Carol
Washington DC
Apr 8, 2013

Anniversary trip

The hotel worked out just right for us. We were able to walk to most of what we wanted to do and when we couldn't, the complimentary car was available. The staff was helpful, the room was attractive and the location couldn't have been better. The weather was good for walking, so we enjoyed walks to the Historic District and to the new Barnes Foundation Museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
husband and wife stay
new jersey
Apr 3, 2013

great price and location

perfect for a quick getaway. right in the heart of center city. great shops and restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MI traveler66
Michigan
Apr 2, 2013

Great Hotel & Location!!

First time to Philly and loved the location and great deal on hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
occabat
NY
Mar 30, 2013

Clean, great location

Very clean room. Accommodating and friendly staff. Great location--close to restaurants and about a 30 min. walk to Philadelphia Museum Of Art. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunny0205
Glen Mills, PA
Mar 30, 2013

Expected More

We stayed at the Latham for a night getaway from the kids. We were really excited to see it had been renovated but to our surprise, the rooms felt smaller. You open the door and almost hit the nightstand! The bathroom is very tiny but nicely updated. The location was awesome, we could walk anywhere in town ...and Butcher and Singer was the best part of the evening...steak was incredible! The hotel bar is small and drinks are very expensive. They said they had a happy hour but when we go there, no snacks or half price drinks. When we checked in for the night, it was fairly quiet however the morning noise was awful. We were forced to wake at 8am with all of the construction, and garbage trucks. We didn't have breakfast there but walked to a bagel shop, and checked out. It took a good while for them to get our car. It was very busy and the bell boy seems a bit frazzled. I hate to be so negative but i feel for the money you spend for this hotel..you should have a little bit more for your buck! Slightly dissapointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RogBox
Boston
Mar 27, 2013

Great for College Visit

Great hotel, great location. We stayed while we were looking at schools, Drexel & Temple so it was a good location. Nice pub, The Black Sheep about two blocks away. My one complaint was the room next door was loud at 3 am with some rowdy kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kitty D.
Rochester NY
Mar 25, 2013

Great Hotel in a Great Location!

This was my first time staying at the Latham, but I'll be back. Staff was helpful and I found the room to be very nice. Room service was fine also. I plan on staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natyelli
Business
Mexico City, Mexico
Mar 25, 2013

Great!

Very clean, very good location, great rooms and great staff! The only one not nice was the young guy serving at the restaurant, he has to improve his service. I'll definitely stay here in my next trip to Phily

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy traveler Amy
Baltimore, Maryland
Mar 11, 2013

Great weekend away!

The hotel staff was fantastic...allowed for a super early check-in and couldn't be more friendly. The hotel bar/restaurant was wonderful and the room itself was a great deal...modern and comfortable and clean!!! highly recommend this hotel and would visit again anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cc1236
Beijing
Mar 4, 2013

Great experience!

A wonderful room and big bed, unforgettable experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H0tchildinthecity
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 18, 2013

Good rooms & location, Poor customer service

I would definitely stay here again, but mostly because the location is great and the rooms are nice, especially for the price. The staff, while nice, was just not that competent. We waited in line to check in at 11 pm on a friday for around 20 minutes while one of the front desk people socialized with other guests. She could sense our irritation and gave us a free breakfast which was nice. When we checked out, they told us there was a complimentary car service to the art museum, but after waiting 45 minutes for our ride (that was only supposed to be a 10 minute wait) we gave up and took a cab. Despite the terrible customer service, I would still stay here again, since the room was really nice and the price was great. I would just know to avoid relying on the staff for anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

On Chestnut and 20th there is an awesome cocktail bar called Tippling Room, which I would highly recommend.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Born.in.Philly
Delaware
Feb 13, 2013

Philly Phun

Great location in center city, walking distance to everything!! Comfy room with a great view (9th floor room) of 17th and Walnut Street shopping... cant beat the quality for the price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda Super Shopper
Hershey, PA
Feb 6, 2013

Location, location, location!

This hotel is an absolute gem! It is in the heart of Philly and it could not be any more convenient. It is newly renovated and super clean and comfortable. I stay here every time I visit my daughter in college in Philly. The food at their new restaurant, Urban Enoteca, is fabulous. I ate the best new york strip steak and the service was very good. I will not hesitate to return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't forget that the hotel has a 2 mile chauffeur service!

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chriswalks
Lansdale, PA
Jan 2, 2013

Great hotel to end 2012 and welcome 2013!

This hotel was perfect for a one night getway to celebrate NYE with some freinds. I live right outside Philly and hate having to pay for a hotel in the city but sometimes it's neccessary. I was greeted at the door and walked right up to the front desk. It's a small desk with two clerks but everytime I walked past they were both there and no line. Check in was quick and I was in my room within 10 minutes of walking in. The room was well beyond what I had expected. It was a nice size room with two double beds. Since it was an old building in Philly, I was expecting a small room. All the linens were clean and crisp. The entire room was extremely neat and well kept. I had to call the front desk for ice since there is no ice on any floor. It was delivered to my room within 5 minutes. In room was complemetary water and a Keurig with 6 K cups for coffee in the morning. It was an incredible stay for such a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat from NJ
Business
NYC
Nov 16, 2012

Business trip

Great 2 night stay in November at a perfect location on 17th street. Didn't have time to use then fitness center, but the restaurant was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dinojr
Easton PA
Oct 29, 2012

Had a great stay

perfect for us - the staff/service was exceptional

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynn the artist
South Glastonbury, CT
Oct 21, 2012

WONDERFUL GET A WAY

Arrival was a pleasant experience, centrally located near , shopping, restaurants, was a very pleasant experience- room was beautiful, comfortable, linens were very nice. The restaurant was so fantastic that we ate there two nights in a row. The chef was wonderful and the menu was to die for. Valet service was great, get car anytime needed. Perfect little botique hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tina B.
Essen
Aug 6, 2013

sehr zentrales Boutique Hotel

Das Hotel an sich hat uns schon angesprochen. Der Empfang war nett und hilfsbereit. Als wir aber unser Zimmer bekamen war es nicht mehr so nett. Das Zimmer war dunkel, selbst bei strahlendem Sonnenschein. Der Grund waren super dreckige Fenster und eine Gasse von ca. 1,50m breite. So schauten wir aus unserem Fenster auf eine Mauer. Leider war das Hotel ausgebucht und wir konnten erst später unser Zimmer tauschen. Für diesen Preis hätte ich nicht so ein Zimmer wie das erste erwartet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search