$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hyatt at The Bellevue

4 stars
200 South Broad St, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
47 reviews
Center city ease

Great location. Was able to walk to my business events. Excellent room service , healthy fare. Gear... See full review

  • Midlantic beach comber
  • Aug 17, 2014
Young couple into fitness

Our stay in this hotel was excellent. Their gym is amazing, with a basketball court, pool, sauna,... See full review

  • Shantal1109
  • Jun 16, 2014
The Grand Dame of Broad Street boasts 100 years of historic elegance

The Hyatt at The Bellevue occupies the original building of the Bellevue-Stratford, which opened in 1904 and has been described as the most luxurious hotel in the nation. The spacious guest rooms are located on floors 12 through 17, and the first floor houses high-end retailers and restaurants. The hotel also boasts one of the best health clubs in the city and a 19th-floor restaurant with spectacular views. In the heart of the Cultural District, the Hyatt is ideally located and has hosted many of the world's rich and famous.

Highlights
  • Nicknamed the "Grand Dame of Broad Street" and registered as a National Historic Landmark
  • Hotel's restaurant, XIX (Nineteen), offers unmatched views of the city and a seasonally changing seafood menu
  • The complimentary Michael Graves-designed health club offers 93,000 square feet of state-of-the art amenities
Rooms

The Hyatt at The Bellevue's 172 rooms, including 16 suites and 13 rooms with balconies, occupy the 12th through 17th floors. All guest rooms are spacious at more than 800 square feet, and they feature ornate architectural moldings reproduced from original designs. Beds are covered in plush down duvets, and bathrooms are marble with luxury toiletries and bathrobes. Guests also enjoy a roomy work area and wireless high-speed Internet (fees apply), an iHome with iPod docking station and an LCD flat screen television.

 

Features

The Sporting Club at The Hyatt at The Bellevue provides state-of-the-art strength training and cardiovascular equipment, an indoor running track, a full-size basketball gymnasium and racquetball and squash courts. A junior Olympic-size indoor pool, whirlpools, steam rooms and saunas are also available. Specialty facilities include a yoga room, Pilates studio and boxing equipment.

The Hyatt provides a total of 30,000 square feet of function space, including the Grand Ballroom, a two-tiered balconied room with original lighting designed by Thomas Edison, and a grand marble and hand-worked iron elliptical staircase. The Conservatory Room features a seven-story atrium.

 

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (next-door)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)

 

Attractions

  • Academy of Music (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Historic District (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)

 

Business
  • 30,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • Professional meeting Concierge
  • Audiovisual services
  • Valet parking
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Event catering

Hotel Map

39.949 -75.1646
Nearby airports
Philadelphia Intl Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt at The Bellevue also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hyatt at The Bellevue Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Concierge
Description not provided
Deluxe
1 King or 2 Double beds
Standard
City or Atrium view:High speed internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Night club
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Racquetball courts
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Bidet
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.8 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.9 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.8 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.9 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.3 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.4 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.5 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

XIX
A Cafe, Bar and Restaurant featuring sweeping views of the city's skyline. The restaurant will offer guests a seafood centric menu of new American dishes in a stylish atmosphere that combines the 100 year old building's architectural elements with a warm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt at The Bellevue

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 47
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
murphys law
Salem, OR
Mar 27, 2010

Not even close

[...] this hotel is NOTHING like the description. First, it's not a Park Hyatt. We found out after we got there that it had been downgraded to a regular Hyatt. No big deal except the whole reason I chose this hotel was for the amenities. There hasn't been any renovation. It looks like it did 100 years ago. I love old architecture and this hotel has a lot of character but I want what I was promised. We had a pipe break and water pour into our room while we were there. Again, we could deal, things happen - until we were told that we couldn't be moved because they were "sold out" (which was not even close to the truth) but they would discount our room. We in no uncertain terms told them they either moved us or gave us our money back. After more complaining, we finally got a new room and no discount for the hassle. For the most part the staff was nice (except for that situation) and the beds are super comfy. Aside from that, there isn't a marble tub, robes, airport shuttle or anything else [...] - except for the fitness club, which was nice. Seriously, this was a joke and I CANNOT RECOMMEND this hotel [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining and shopping options right around here. Close walk to Love park, city hall and subway access.

Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Suburbs of Philadelphia
Nov 27, 2010

Overnight stay downtown

A convenient place to stay after a downtown party allowing us to avoid having to drive home late at night. The hotel was two blocks from the party and was hugely convenient. Latge comfy bed, large room, TV with all the little amenities one expects. The Bellevue (I like the old name. I'm a Philadelphian) has great bones, nice big room, high ceiling, wide hall, wide stair, etc though it shows its age, I still like it. Wallpaper needs replacing. Bathroom has good water and amenities. Can't get two at the sink at the same time though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJO5
Wilkes Barre, PA
Feb 15, 2014

Very comfortable stay centrally located

This hotel is a favorite of ours as it is in the heart of Philadelphia and within walking distance of may attractions. The rooms are extremely large and comfortable. We have stayed here at least 6 times in the last two years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
State College, PA
Aug 1, 2010

Old World Elegance

We enjoyed the spacious well decorated room,a very comfy king bed, and a restaurant with a wonderful view of the cityscape. Close to museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The chef at The XIX restaurant on the 19th floor served up some wonderful seafood. The wine list is decent, with good by-the-glass offerings. The night view of the tops of surrounding buildings is first rate.

Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juan P
Butler, Maryland
May 12, 2014

Gracious

Very comfortable room. Staff particularly helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
artist city lover
new york
Feb 19, 2013

art viewing getaway

Great service, the front desk even brought up toothbrushes and silverware upon request! Awesome accommodations and really lovely rooms. The hotel itself is beautiful! Recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
York, PA
Jul 6, 2010

Central Location

We wanted to experience some of the older architecture and got what we expected. It was very comfortable and central to many of the areas that we wanted to walk to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelerLiberty 2012
Scranton
Nov 18, 2012

Downtown Philadelphia Weekend

Very nice and great location. Easy access to the sports stadiums and rittenhouse square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Woo
Herndon, VA
May 20, 2014

One night, but a delight

We only stayed for one night after our daughter's graduation from Wharton, but the staff was very nice and accommodating. The hotel is lovely and the bar and restaurant at XIX was wonderful. The Bellevue is in a great location and it's lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lin from Asheville
Asheville, NC
Jul 4, 2009

Wonderful experience

Beautiful hotel with good shopping, restaurants, museums, and historic sites within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search