$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

3 stars
4200 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
23 reviews
supreme comfort

We had just spent two days at a different hotel for approximately the same price and it had no... See full review

  • Jackie mow lawn
  • Nov 1, 2013
solid.

stayed at the homewood suites on city ave for one night before the philadelphia marathon. location... See full review

  • collects tiny shampoos
  • Nov 24, 2014

Set apart from the busy Philadelphia center among quiet lawns, patios and flowerbeds, the Homewood Suites Hotel does the 'home away from home' thing very well. Cook your own cuisine in-room, grill outside with the barbecue and picnic area in the courtyard, or float on your back in the warm indoor pool. Shuttles will transport you anywhere within a five-mile radius of the hotel steps, and evening food and drink arrives compliments of the house during the week.

Key facts

  • Fully-equipped kitchen in rooms
  • Separate sleeping and living areas
  • Free high-speed Internet throughout hotel
  • Local area transportation
  • Laundry/Valet service
  • Workout room and swimming pool
  • Complimentary full hot breakfast
  • Free dinner and drinks Monday-Thursday
  • Courtyard with grills and picnic tables
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
  • Business center with free printing

Neighborhood

The Homewood Suites Hotel Philadelphia is about 25 miles from Center City, Philadelphia, and about the same distance from Philadelphia International Airport (PHL). The peaceful Great Valley-Malvern area is first-rate for anyone attending events at the Oaks Expo Center or academic conferences at Immaculata or Penn State Universities. Walk to Valley Creek Park for a blast of fresh air amongst the trees, with tennis courts and hiking trails in abundance.

Hints and tips

Don't miss the chance to make your own fresh waffles at breakfast.
If you need to stock up your suite for the weekend, there's a small mall called Great Valley Center a short drive away, home to local grocery stores, takeout joints and drugstores.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Please Touch Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 3.4 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 3.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 3.6 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 3.8 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 3.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 3.9 mi
  • The Palestra: 4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 4.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 4.5 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 4.6 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 3.4 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 3.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 3.6 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 3.8 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 3.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 3.9 mi
  • The Palestra: 4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 4.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 4.5 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 4.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 4.6 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 4.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 4.8 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 4.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 5.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 5.2 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 5.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 5.3 mi
  • Independence Hall: 5.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 5.4 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 5.4 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 5.5 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 7.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 7.6 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 7.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 7.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,453.5 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 30, 2007

Philly is Brotherly Love

Can't say enough about the service the assistance and the treatment we received at the Homewood. Really a pleasure and the rooms were clean and the breakfast was great. Nice location and easy to ride the public transportation or just walk the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 23, 2007

Very Friendly

This hotel was very clean a very very helpful and friendly staff, a little bit far from the city but over all a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across from Saks fifth ave

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
Jul 30, 2010

homewood hilton

everyone was super friendly. Rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was a great bonus as well as dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tar Heel Guy
Business
Columbus, OH
Jan 4, 2012

Wonderful Hotel

Stayed for 2 weeks on business. I travel ~ 120 nights per year. This is easily my favorite hotel. Facilities are first-class. Staff is outstanding and make me feel welcome every time I'm there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you go toward St Joseph's Univ, you will find lots of places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jackie mow lawn
Business
Meadville,PA
Nov 1, 2013

supreme comfort

We had just spent two days at a different hotel for approximately the same price and it had no microwave or refrigerator. The beds were not nearly as comfoftable. This place was a wonderful change. We will look for Homewood Suites whenever we travel from now on!! Beautifully appointed rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
howard, pa
Jun 26, 2011

fantastic time

Went to our daughters graduation from her resident program and they were really good with us from the time we entered the hotel till we left

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Trenton, NJ
Sep 19, 2009

Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia

Very comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nanny
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Wonderful stay!

My husband and I have stayed at many hotels throughout the years, however, this one was exceptional! From the moment we checked in the staff was there to make our stay a memorable one. Robert, the manager, could not have been kinder. The entire staff went beyond what most other hotels offer. The breakfast was very good and the presentation was beautiful. The mini dinner that was offered Monday thru Thursday was unbelievable. It was a like a full dinner and delicious. We most definitely will return to the Homewood Suites. The entire staff worked like a family unit, which was nice to see. Thanks guys for everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is just minutes from downtown Philadelphia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 30, 2007

Pleasantly suprised.

We have never stayed at a Homewood Suites Hotel before, but we were very pleased with the value we got for our money. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the features of the room including the kitchen were very nice and the breakfasts we had were excellent. If I was in the area again I would definitely stay there. If I had friends or family staying in the area I would definitely recommend the hotel to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to stay outside of Philadelphia, but be able to enjoy what the city has to offer, I would recommend Homewood Suites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
whiteiiris787
Business
Rochester, NY
Jun 2, 2009

Would stay here again

Friendly staff. Used the valet service at the adjacent Hilton which was worth the $10 fee due to twice going in and out. Bed was comfy. We did not utilize the kitchen area but it was nice to have the fridge and coffee maker. A great place to stay for 2 or more days. Convenient to RT 76 and there is a Chilis restaurant right across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Steak house next door at the Hilton or Chilis restaurant across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top