$126 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 20, 2014

Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

3 stars
100 North Christopher Columbus Blvd, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
34 reviews
Awesome hotel

Very close to historical attractions as well as night life entertainment See full review

  • Traveler for fun 12256
  • Jun 2, 2014
Great Location & Value

Stayed here on a weekday. Close to the subway and nightlife. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room... See full review

  • sports fan025
  • Mar 30, 2014
Hotel in Penn's Landing playground with free shuttle to city hotspots

Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing is located on North Christopher Columbus Boulevard in Penn's Landing neighborhood of Philadelphia, adjacent to the Delaware River and directly off of Interstate 95. The Historic District is less than a mile from the hotel, and a complimentary shuttle provided by Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing that will take guests to attractions within a 20-block radius. Additional amenities include a free full breakfast buffet, complimentary high-speed Internet access, weekday newspapers and a fitness room. Parking is also available for an added fee.

Highlights
  • Complimentary shuttle will take guests to attractions within a 20-block radius of the hotel
  • A free full breakfast buffet is served daily
  • Excellent views of the Delaware River from upper floors of the hotel
Rooms
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing has 184 guest rooms with insulated windows and other features to lessen the noise of traffic from Interstate 95. All rooms include complimentary high-speed Internet access, coffee-makers, hair-dryers, irons/ironing boards and safes. The hotel offers both smoking and nonsmoking rooms, some with whirlpool baths. Microwave and refrigerator rental is available upon request and for a nightly fee. Views from Eastern-facing, higher-floor rooms have excellent river views.
Features

The Penn's Landing location of the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia provides access to many nearby attractions, including the Independence Seaport Museum, an outdoor ice rink and the International Sculpture Garden, which features a 106-foot monument to Christopher Columbus. At the Penn's Landing Marina, visitors will find the Olympia warship cruiser and the Becuna submarine. Duck boat and helicopter tours can also be found at Penn's Landing, as well as many restaurants and events throughout the year.


Patrons can work out at a small on-site fitness room that provides cardiovascular equipment.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Penn's Landing Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (5 mi/8 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Complimentary hotel shuttle to attractions within 20 block radius
Attractions
  • Independence Seaport Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Historic District (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Professional sports/concert venues (5 mi/8 km)
  • Sesame Place (15 mi/24.1 km)
Business
  • 24-hour front desk
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Business services
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service
  • Small meeting room (250 square feet)
Policies and Fees
  • Parking is available for $25.00 per night with in/out privileges until 4pm on the departure date. (rates subject to change without notice)
  • Microwave and refrigerator rental is available for $10.00/night/item

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9517 -75.1405
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 12.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Dining
Continental breakfast
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.4 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.8 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.4 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 34
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
avsjc
94086
Sep 2, 2014

Had a good stay

Location near Penns Landing and breakfast are really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vnester
Marylsnd
Aug 15, 2014

Good stay

Pretty good stay for the price. A little expensive but considering your in Philadelphia that's what u pay for. Beds were comfy room was clean. Only on 2nd floor so only view was bush. Didn't eat free breakfast. We were in hurry and was crowded. I would stay again. Downfall was you had to pay 25.00 to park. But agIn I knew that going in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KZ katy
denver Pa.
Aug 9, 2014

very nice affordable hotel

We were in town for a music festival across the river in Camden. The hotel was a short walk to the ferry Our room was nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was very impressive. They had everything from fruit and cereal to make your own pancakes and all kinds of breakfast sandwiches. I would recommend to friends and family..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

best Philly cheesesteak. a little bit of a wait, but well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nicolaus
Shanghai, Volksrepublik China
Jun 26, 2014

nearby the old city

near the old city, walk to subway station several minutes. it's okay to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wunderwoman
Redondo Beach, California
Apr 13, 2014

Family Trip

This was the only hotel I could find in our budget. The area is not great and the room was quite dirty but it worked for us to visit Philly with the family. The shuttle dropped us off on the historic district. We had to cab back because the shuttle does not operate during the middle of the day (before 4) and we had to get back to make it to a Phillies game. The breakfast is ample but very crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LenaLuvsLife
Seattle, Wa
Nov 4, 2013

Not impressed and never returning to this location.

The hotel is located right next to the Ben Franklin Bridge and has a beautiful view. The room we had was a double queen with very saggy, uncomfortable beds and pillows that were way too hard and firm. Any of the rooms situated on the street side are very noisy from traffic. Which was where we were located. We were disappointed they didn't offer a mini fridge to store a little food/beverage in it. I guess that shouldn't matter anyway because when we went to the vending (drinks only) machine on the 6th and 10th floor (they don't offer them on all floors), both machines were out of order. Then we got a bucket of ice and it was full of black mildew/dirt chunks. Gross! Tried to utilize their free breakfast, but my god it was a cluster! There were so many people, not enough room to walk and food that was worse than any fast food dive you can think of. The only saving grace was there pancake machine. So, we didn't end up eating there but the one time. So, when you look at this hotel and are thinking you'll save money by eating breakfast there...think twice. The first night we were there the hotel was loaded with 20 somethings coming up and down the elevator drunk with cases of beer and the lobby was a full on party with no where to sit or relax. So, there was a lot of partying going on. Also, the elevators broke down the second morning we were there and we had to walk down and up from the 4th floor. We opened the door to the stairs and two hung over idiots were lounging in their PJ's smoking in the stairway. I'm not a smoker. So that really stunk. Also, something else they don't advertise, they charge $25 per day to park in their lot. There is no valet offered at that price. So, that was a total rip off as well. The only redeeming quality to this hotel was their front desk staff who were doing their best to help with what they had to work with and the location was great for walking and public transit. Lastly, upon check out they offer a business center with two computers and printers. Both computers froze up while I was trying to print. Nobody at the front desk could assist. So, we got shafted once again with amenities that really didn't function! We would never return here because there were too many negatives to try and overcome. The city of Philly is the best though! We give the city 5 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Since this establishment offers little to no food or beverage we found other places to purchase snacks. We found that the Wawa just up the way was open 24/7 and had lots to offer. The only issue is there was no small fridge to put our food or drinks in. They also offered a delivery service and we tried them once and they were okay. Can't remember the name of the place but the hotel offers their information in your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jack Doe
Prince Frederick, MD
Nov 3, 2013

Noisy

The location is great in relation to sightseeing; however, it is right next to a very busy freeway and, therefore, very noisy even with the air-conditioner going full tilt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
April in Paris
New Orleans, LA
Oct 23, 2013

Comfortable, convenient, and we will return

We stayed four days visiting with our daughter who is in college in Philly. Even though there were conventions, an Eagles game, and homecoming for colleges with tons of people checking in, asking questions, and the usual chaos, the staff was always friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was always delicious with plenty of choices. The room was super clean and the view was wonderful. We highly recommend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It actually was not a very, very long walk, but attractions weren't just around the block. If the weather is good, the walk is exhilarating and there are tons of good restaurants and places to go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SK On Vacation
Tennessee
Aug 12, 2013

Great Staff

Staff was great. Breakfast was simple but very good. Those breakfast folks worked hard to keep everybody happy. We did not have a car but bus and hotel van got us everywhere we wanted to go. I would not drive to this location. Hotel parking was always full and seemed difficult to find empty spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food close by. Go to Market Sheet and search. Chart house (on the river) is way overpriced for what they serve and despite what the hotel manager says, you need a reservation to skip the 45 minute wait where they send you downstairs to have overpriced drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top