$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

3 stars
100 North Christopher Columbus Blvd, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
30 reviews
Awesome hotel

Very close to historical attractions as well as night life entertainment See full review

  • Traveler for fun 12256
  • Jun 2, 2014
Great Location & Value

Stayed here on a weekday. Close to the subway and nightlife. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room... See full review

  • sports fan025
  • Mar 30, 2014
Hotel in Penn's Landing playground with free shuttle to city hotspots

Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing is located on North Christopher Columbus Boulevard in Penn's Landing neighborhood of Philadelphia, adjacent to the Delaware River and directly off of Interstate 95. The Historic District is less than a mile from the hotel, and a complimentary shuttle provided by Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing that will take guests to attractions within a 20-block radius. Additional amenities include a free full breakfast buffet, complimentary high-speed Internet access, weekday newspapers and a fitness room. Parking is also available for an added fee.

Highlights
  • Complimentary shuttle will take guests to attractions within a 20-block radius of the hotel
  • A free full breakfast buffet is served daily
  • Excellent views of the Delaware River from upper floors of the hotel
Rooms
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing has 184 guest rooms with insulated windows and other features to lessen the noise of traffic from Interstate 95. All rooms include complimentary high-speed Internet access, coffee-makers, hair-dryers, irons/ironing boards and safes. The hotel offers both smoking and nonsmoking rooms, some with whirlpool baths. Microwave and refrigerator rental is available upon request and for a nightly fee. Views from Eastern-facing, higher-floor rooms have excellent river views.
Features

The Penn's Landing location of the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia provides access to many nearby attractions, including the Independence Seaport Museum, an outdoor ice rink and the International Sculpture Garden, which features a 106-foot monument to Christopher Columbus. At the Penn's Landing Marina, visitors will find the Olympia warship cruiser and the Becuna submarine. Duck boat and helicopter tours can also be found at Penn's Landing, as well as many restaurants and events throughout the year.


Patrons can work out at a small on-site fitness room that provides cardiovascular equipment.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Penn's Landing Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (5 mi/8 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Complimentary hotel shuttle to attractions within 20 block radius
Attractions
  • Independence Seaport Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Historic District (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Professional sports/concert venues (5 mi/8 km)
  • Sesame Place (15 mi/24.1 km)
Business
  • 24-hour front desk
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Business services
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service
  • Small meeting room (250 square feet)
Policies and Fees
  • Parking is available for $25.00 per night with in/out privileges until 4pm on the departure date. (rates subject to change without notice)
  • Microwave and refrigerator rental is available for $10.00/night/item

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9517 -75.1405
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 12.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.4 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.8 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.4 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.6 mi

Dining

Dave & Busters
Full service restaurant with a bar and large arcade. Pay to park in their parking lot after 4pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 30
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler for fun 12256
Springfield, il
Jun 2, 2014

Awesome hotel

Very close to historical attractions as well as night life entertainment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The shuttle is very convenient

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MFree
PA
Mar 28, 2014

Smart Choice

Smart choice to stay in and see historic Philadelphia. Highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express brand of hotels. Always good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brewpuck
Jersey Shore
Mar 25, 2014

No hot water

Surprised to find out that hotel guests have to pay $25 to park on a Sunday night. Then woke up at 5:00 am to find that we did not have any hot water. Staff was average at best. We were in Philadelphia for surgery on Monday morning no time to wait for somebody to fix the water problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allie mae chelton
Philadelphia, Pa
Mar 14, 2014

perfect setting

The only thing that was missing was a mini fridge the shower was awesome but hot water is off and on and the noise from 95 is a lil loud but works as a sleeping tool ir you like a lil noise when you sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

about a 3miles from historic Philly

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gymbuddy
North Carolina
Dec 28, 2013

Christmas visit

Good breakfast! Hours for breakfast was convenient. Fireplace made Christmas Day seem like home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pyro photography
Riverside, California
Dec 8, 2013

Good and clean room

Good and clean room. excellent breakfast good for a long walking day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ElkaLee
Philadelphia Pa
Nov 19, 2013

No Power

We decided to go to Philly just for a night, and to meet with my sister. Upon checking in and being charged for the room, they told us they had no power. It was like 4-5 hours before we had power. The hotel did nothing to compensate us since we couldn't see in our room. This was our first time at this hotel, and it will be our last. The staff was nice, but the maids were rude. They knocked on our door at 9 AM and asked us when we were going to check out. When we checked into the room, the girl at the front desk guarenteed the room would be done by 4 o'clock, but it wasn't. My sister came to visit us, but we had to take her to a restaurant, since you couldn't see. Cost us more money then we wanted to pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

SugarHouse Casino

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NYCJon
New York City
Nov 12, 2013

Not worth the money - even for as cheap as it is

This hotel was so bad I did something I have never done before - left before even sleeping in the room. I was in Philadelphia to go to a wedding and made the mistake of selecting a national brand hotel based on value rather than actually researching deeply, so this is all my fault I understand. Anyway, the details from my experience are as follows. I entered the hotel to see a line 15 deep just to check in. After waiting in line for 45 minutes and still being 5 people away from reaching the front desk my traveling partner and I were already considering trying to cancel and were on the phone with this site to figure out a way to get our money back. When we finally got to the front desk, we were informed that our room wasn't ready yet and that it would be at least an hour until it was. Please note, check in time there is 4 PM and by the time we got to the front of the line it was 5:30. And this was not just a problem i had to deal with. The lobby was filled with at least 25 guests whose rooms were also not yet ready, indicating that their cleaning staff was ill equipped to handle the job of cleaning rooms in a timely manner. The gentleman at the front desk, to his credit did offer us a full refund if we called this site and had them call the hotel to have the reservation canceled. As we waited in the lobby while I was on the phone with this site, three sets of guests came down to the lobby to complain about the state of their apparently "cleaned" rooms. Complaints ranged from unmade beds to trash on the floor to being given keys to rooms that were already occupied. Then, while working with the agent from this site who was assisting me on the phone as I was trying to cancel our reservation and get a refund my guest and I overheard the front desk manager (not the same person who offered us a refund) on the phone with the agent who was attempting to assist us. I must say I have never heard someone speak so rudely on the phone while in public and who was in a customer facing job. The front desk manager loudly used expletives on the phone to the agent who was trying to assist us in canceling our reservation in spite of having guests (including children) within earshot of him. Then, when my traveling partner attempted to intervene and explain that the agent on the phone was calling on behalf of us, he began to curse at her. It wasnt until his partner behind the counter who initially offered us a refund stepped in did the front desk manager finally relent and tell the agent we would get a full refund. Long and short, this hotel is grossly understaffed, those who do interface with guests on a daily basis are, in large part, unqualified to do so, and not worth the money at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top