$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

3 stars
100 North Christopher Columbus Blvd, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
36 reviews
Awesome hotel

Very close to historical attractions as well as night life entertainment See full review

  • Traveler for fun 12256
  • Jun 2, 2014
Great Location & Value

Stayed here on a weekday. Close to the subway and nightlife. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room... See full review

  • sports fan025
  • Mar 30, 2014
Hotel in Penn's Landing playground with free shuttle to city hotspots

Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing is located on North Christopher Columbus Boulevard in Penn's Landing neighborhood of Philadelphia, adjacent to the Delaware River and directly off of Interstate 95. The Historic District is less than a mile from the hotel, and a complimentary shuttle provided by Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing that will take guests to attractions within a 20-block radius. Additional amenities include a free full breakfast buffet, complimentary high-speed Internet access, weekday newspapers and a fitness room. Parking is also available for an added fee.

Highlights
  • Complimentary shuttle will take guests to attractions within a 20-block radius of the hotel
  • A free full breakfast buffet is served daily
  • Excellent views of the Delaware River from upper floors of the hotel
Rooms
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing has 184 guest rooms with insulated windows and other features to lessen the noise of traffic from Interstate 95. All rooms include complimentary high-speed Internet access, coffee-makers, hair-dryers, irons/ironing boards and safes. The hotel offers both smoking and nonsmoking rooms, some with whirlpool baths. Microwave and refrigerator rental is available upon request and for a nightly fee. Views from Eastern-facing, higher-floor rooms have excellent river views.
Features

The Penn's Landing location of the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia provides access to many nearby attractions, including the Independence Seaport Museum, an outdoor ice rink and the International Sculpture Garden, which features a 106-foot monument to Christopher Columbus. At the Penn's Landing Marina, visitors will find the Olympia warship cruiser and the Becuna submarine. Duck boat and helicopter tours can also be found at Penn's Landing, as well as many restaurants and events throughout the year.


Patrons can work out at a small on-site fitness room that provides cardiovascular equipment.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Penn's Landing Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (5 mi/8 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Complimentary hotel shuttle to attractions within 20 block radius
Attractions
  • Independence Seaport Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Historic District (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Professional sports/concert venues (5 mi/8 km)
  • Sesame Place (15 mi/24.1 km)
Business
  • 24-hour front desk
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Business services
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service
  • Small meeting room (250 square feet)
Policies and Fees
  • Parking is available for $25.00 per night with in/out privileges until 4pm on the departure date. (rates subject to change without notice)
  • Microwave and refrigerator rental is available for $10.00/night/item

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9517 -75.1405
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 12.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Dining
Continental breakfast
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.4 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.8 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.4 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eleanorgj
Scranton, PA
Aug 18, 2014

Average, basic hotel

There was nothing terribly wrong about this old town modern hotel, but then there was nothing perfectly right about it either. Located right slap bang on the expressway, it was close to Old town, but not immediately accessible. We had to walk--and I like walking, but if I were on my own at 1am, it would have been creepy--along the expressway to the Seaport Museum before we could find a staircase to takes us to the bridge and cross in Old Town, Philly. So location-wise it wasn't the best. The room was modern and clean, the breakfast was fine. Checking in was a bit of a cluster, but I have no real complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vnester
Marylsnd
Aug 15, 2014

Good stay

Pretty good stay for the price. A little expensive but considering your in Philadelphia that's what u pay for. Beds were comfy room was clean. Only on 2nd floor so only view was bush. Didn't eat free breakfast. We were in hurry and was crowded. I would stay again. Downfall was you had to pay 25.00 to park. But agIn I knew that going in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KZ katy
denver Pa.
Aug 9, 2014

very nice affordable hotel

We were in town for a music festival across the river in Camden. The hotel was a short walk to the ferry Our room was nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was very impressive. They had everything from fruit and cereal to make your own pancakes and all kinds of breakfast sandwiches. I would recommend to friends and family..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

best Philly cheesesteak. a little bit of a wait, but well worth it.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nicolaus
Shanghai, Volksrepublik China
Jun 26, 2014

nearby the old city

near the old city, walk to subway station several minutes. it's okay to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler for fun 12256
Springfield, il
Jun 2, 2014

Awesome hotel

Very close to historical attractions as well as night life entertainment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The shuttle is very convenient

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wunderwoman
Redondo Beach, California
Apr 13, 2014

Family Trip

This was the only hotel I could find in our budget. The area is not great and the room was quite dirty but it worked for us to visit Philly with the family. The shuttle dropped us off on the historic district. We had to cab back because the shuttle does not operate during the middle of the day (before 4) and we had to get back to make it to a Phillies game. The breakfast is ample but very crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sports fan025
Bethlehem,PA
Mar 30, 2014

Great Location & Value

Stayed here on a weekday. Close to the subway and nightlife. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was nice and clean. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're interested in going out on the town, There's a pedestrian walkway to get to Market street about a block away from the hotel

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mayster
Nc
Mar 30, 2014

Great Location

You usually can't go wrong at a HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS. Staff is always friendly, breakfast is always good with a very nice selection. Only reason I knocked off a star is because of the $25 parking fee and also the rooms facing the highway are very noisy from traffic noise, even in the middle of the night you could hear the loud tractor trailers going past, that compiled with the fact that our room was also located behind the elevate made for a very noisy night. Stay here for sure but don't let them give you one of the rooms near the elevator or facing the highway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Great place to stay if your seeing any shows and Johnny Brenda's or want to check out Penn Landing and South St.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MFree
PA
Mar 28, 2014

Smart Choice

Smart choice to stay in and see historic Philadelphia. Highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express brand of hotels. Always good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brewpuck
Jersey Shore
Mar 25, 2014

No hot water

Surprised to find out that hotel guests have to pay $25 to park on a Sunday night. Then woke up at 5:00 am to find that we did not have any hot water. Staff was average at best. We were in Philadelphia for surgery on Monday morning no time to wait for somebody to fix the water problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allie mae chelton
Philadelphia, Pa
Mar 14, 2014

perfect setting

The only thing that was missing was a mini fridge the shower was awesome but hot water is off and on and the noise from 95 is a lil loud but works as a sleeping tool ir you like a lil noise when you sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

about a 3miles from historic Philly

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
goepunkt
berlin, germany
Feb 25, 2014

we had a nice staz....

except that we had to pay an extra fee of 25$ for the parking lot evering was perfekt! the hotel is located in walking distance to the city center and the park across the street right under the bridge is beautiful with sunlight. for breakfast they had pancakes, bagel, cereals, joghurt, cheese-omlette and more... i would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jaryn
Business
Dallas
Jan 31, 2014

Avoid like the plague

From the very start I requested toothpaste from the very first night I stayed as my bags were lost from the plane and I had no toiletries. I was told they they were out and they provided me with mouthwash instead. I got to my room that was on the side opposition the Ben Franklin bridge near the highway and the noise level was unbearable to the point I request a move of rooms to concentrate on work and to not lay awake in the bed due to the noise all night. I was told they can not do anything that night and I was moved to the other side of the building for the next 3 nights of my stay. I requested toothpaste and other toiletries over 3 times to the end of my stay the fourth night and they were still out of stock and I was told I could buy some on market street. On the 3rd and 4th nights the staff did NOT clean my room. We requested a room clean and towels because they were dirty and we were only brought towels by a staff member and was told that someone would be there soon to resolve the room. (Nobody ever came) By then I did not even try to call the front desk as we had already determined that the staff does not communicate with each other and they are incompetent to take care of simple customer requests and run a premium hotel. Staff members also knocked on our door twice while the do not disturb sign was up on my door. This was during times I had not requested they clean or maintain the room and this was done always around 9am-10am. The staff was not customer friendly and considering to customer needs. When I checked out I was not addressed to how my stay was until I let the agent know I was very unhappy as I had also told the front desk this same statement I'm giving to this survey several times. I told the agent that I would be leaving a poor survey and only then that she said she would get her manager. I waited for the manager only for her to come out and tell me that they would be refunding one night of the stay and that I booked though ****** I would have to contact them. I was not happy and wanted to be compensated more for then what was offered. By this time I was wondering why the manager in the back did not come out and handle the situation as the agent had to go back a couple of times to get solutions to what I was requesting. They processed my refund for one night in the amount of around $100 dollars but I am still very mad that this was all that was offered as I am a member of the rewards club and that is why I'm writing this survey today. This is the WORST hotel I have ever stayed at and I have already shared my experience with co workers, family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Mac's Tavern

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sculptect
Business
Yorktown, NY
Jan 27, 2014

Perfect hotel for a business trip

Very helpful staff and a shuttle that takes you to and from the convention center at regular intervals. A decent breakfast gets you on the road faster. I would definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to everything, dining, shopping and the convention center.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savan
Business
Detroit, MI
Jan 12, 2014

Overall Nice place to stay

Positives: recently renovated (was a dirty comfort inn previously) so nice and new for the most part. Some things like door frames, etc you can tell wasn't updated. Good value. The breakfast buffet a huge positive for me. The cinnamon rolls were excellent! Negatives: this is subjective but it was right by the Ben franklin bridge and other major highways so you could hear cars go by. I didn't mind it because I am a city guy so I felt right at home. Also parking is $25 but I think any hotel in the area is similar. Overall: very nice stay for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CutePooh
Philadelpia
Jan 2, 2014

It was okay

Everything was fine Except one thing they didn't clean the coffee film. If u have a car it is good location and good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

They have a good view and location

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jackson Stol
West Chester, PA
Dec 29, 2013

Great for night out in Old City

This hotel is located only blocks from the heart of Old City Philadelphia. The room was comfortable and the staff was great. Great value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gymbuddy
North Carolina
Dec 28, 2013

Christmas visit

Good breakfast! Hours for breakfast was convenient. Fireplace made Christmas Day seem like home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will business
Business
conn
Dec 11, 2013

good stay

I really like the inside rooms very spacious n lovely set up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pyro photography
Riverside, California
Dec 8, 2013

Good and clean room

Good and clean room. excellent breakfast good for a long walking day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jr Nugget
Business
Bellefonte PA
Nov 26, 2013

Staff very helpful

It was a pleasant experience and better than I anticipated. Staff was very helpful and responsive. The shuttle was a great addition. Got us where we needed to go without hassle. For the money this hotel is a hidden gem. It was a short half mile from old city aand lots of fun activities. Would definitely stay here in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Supper Club. Great food and entertaining with the waitstaff singing as well as waiting.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Swmbkrun
Business
Ohio
Nov 26, 2013

Noise

Great location for access to the Philadelphia airport. Room was comfortable, clean, and well appointeted. The big problem though... The hotel is located right along a major freeway which also parallels a train line. The road and train noise was so loud that I could hear it even while in the shower with the water running! I could not sleep what so ever that night. Great price on the room but bring your earplugs!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
runnersbug
philly
Nov 20, 2013

could off bee better

the start was ok. until after we were ready and almost as sleep when we got an unexpected guest. contacted the front desk and they changed the room, but after that the rest of the stay was not as relaxing as I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ElkaLee
Philadelphia Pa
Nov 19, 2013

No Power

We decided to go to Philly just for a night, and to meet with my sister. Upon checking in and being charged for the room, they told us they had no power. It was like 4-5 hours before we had power. The hotel did nothing to compensate us since we couldn't see in our room. This was our first time at this hotel, and it will be our last. The staff was nice, but the maids were rude. They knocked on our door at 9 AM and asked us when we were going to check out. When we checked into the room, the girl at the front desk guarenteed the room would be done by 4 o'clock, but it wasn't. My sister came to visit us, but we had to take her to a restaurant, since you couldn't see. Cost us more money then we wanted to pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

SugarHouse Casino

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NYCJon
New York City
Nov 12, 2013

Not worth the money - even for as cheap as it is

This hotel was so bad I did something I have never done before - left before even sleeping in the room. I was in Philadelphia to go to a wedding and made the mistake of selecting a national brand hotel based on value rather than actually researching deeply, so this is all my fault I understand. Anyway, the details from my experience are as follows. I entered the hotel to see a line 15 deep just to check in. After waiting in line for 45 minutes and still being 5 people away from reaching the front desk my traveling partner and I were already considering trying to cancel and were on the phone with this site to figure out a way to get our money back. When we finally got to the front desk, we were informed that our room wasn't ready yet and that it would be at least an hour until it was. Please note, check in time there is 4 PM and by the time we got to the front of the line it was 5:30. And this was not just a problem i had to deal with. The lobby was filled with at least 25 guests whose rooms were also not yet ready, indicating that their cleaning staff was ill equipped to handle the job of cleaning rooms in a timely manner. The gentleman at the front desk, to his credit did offer us a full refund if we called this site and had them call the hotel to have the reservation canceled. As we waited in the lobby while I was on the phone with this site, three sets of guests came down to the lobby to complain about the state of their apparently "cleaned" rooms. Complaints ranged from unmade beds to trash on the floor to being given keys to rooms that were already occupied. Then, while working with the agent from this site who was assisting me on the phone as I was trying to cancel our reservation and get a refund my guest and I overheard the front desk manager (not the same person who offered us a refund) on the phone with the agent who was attempting to assist us. I must say I have never heard someone speak so rudely on the phone while in public and who was in a customer facing job. The front desk manager loudly used expletives on the phone to the agent who was trying to assist us in canceling our reservation in spite of having guests (including children) within earshot of him. Then, when my traveling partner attempted to intervene and explain that the agent on the phone was calling on behalf of us, he began to curse at her. It wasnt until his partner behind the counter who initially offered us a refund stepped in did the front desk manager finally relent and tell the agent we would get a full refund. Long and short, this hotel is grossly understaffed, those who do interface with guests on a daily basis are, in large part, unqualified to do so, and not worth the money at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gknee
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 6, 2013

Loud people, Kara is rude, everything else was great

There was a problem with other guests being incredibly loud for long periods of time between 10pm and 5am. We had a great view and the shuttle driver was fantastic. The front staff was great except Kara, she was rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LenaLuvsLife
Seattle, Wa
Nov 4, 2013

Not impressed and never returning to this location.

The hotel is located right next to the Ben Franklin Bridge and has a beautiful view. The room we had was a double queen with very saggy, uncomfortable beds and pillows that were way too hard and firm. Any of the rooms situated on the street side are very noisy from traffic. Which was where we were located. We were disappointed they didn't offer a mini fridge to store a little food/beverage in it. I guess that shouldn't matter anyway because when we went to the vending (drinks only) machine on the 6th and 10th floor (they don't offer them on all floors), both machines were out of order. Then we got a bucket of ice and it was full of black mildew/dirt chunks. Gross! Tried to utilize their free breakfast, but my god it was a cluster! There were so many people, not enough room to walk and food that was worse than any fast food dive you can think of. The only saving grace was there pancake machine. So, we didn't end up eating there but the one time. So, when you look at this hotel and are thinking you'll save money by eating breakfast there...think twice. The first night we were there the hotel was loaded with 20 somethings coming up and down the elevator drunk with cases of beer and the lobby was a full on party with no where to sit or relax. So, there was a lot of partying going on. Also, the elevators broke down the second morning we were there and we had to walk down and up from the 4th floor. We opened the door to the stairs and two hung over idiots were lounging in their PJ's smoking in the stairway. I'm not a smoker. So that really stunk. Also, something else they don't advertise, they charge $25 per day to park in their lot. There is no valet offered at that price. So, that was a total rip off as well. The only redeeming quality to this hotel was their front desk staff who were doing their best to help with what they had to work with and the location was great for walking and public transit. Lastly, upon check out they offer a business center with two computers and printers. Both computers froze up while I was trying to print. Nobody at the front desk could assist. So, we got shafted once again with amenities that really didn't function! We would never return here because there were too many negatives to try and overcome. The city of Philly is the best though! We give the city 5 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Since this establishment offers little to no food or beverage we found other places to purchase snacks. We found that the Wawa just up the way was open 24/7 and had lots to offer. The only issue is there was no small fridge to put our food or drinks in. They also offered a delivery service and we tried them once and they were okay. Can't remember the name of the place but the hotel offers their information in your room.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blind Dave
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 3, 2013

Really great hotel overlooking the river.

We had a very pleasant stay. The view from our room overlooking the river and the bridge were really great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jack Doe
Prince Frederick, MD
Nov 3, 2013

Noisy

The location is great in relation to sightseeing; however, it is right next to a very busy freeway and, therefore, very noisy even with the air-conditioner going full tilt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants nearby

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
April in Paris
New Orleans, LA
Oct 23, 2013

Comfortable, convenient, and we will return

We stayed four days visiting with our daughter who is in college in Philly. Even though there were conventions, an Eagles game, and homecoming for colleges with tons of people checking in, asking questions, and the usual chaos, the staff was always friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was always delicious with plenty of choices. The room was super clean and the view was wonderful. We highly recommend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It actually was not a very, very long walk, but attractions weren't just around the block. If the weather is good, the walk is exhilarating and there are tons of good restaurants and places to go!

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
To The T
New Jersey
Sep 7, 2013

First time in town for the Budweiser M.I.A. Festival

This is my first time staying at a Holiday Inn Express. The only reason I gave this hotel 3-stars instead of 5 is because of their check-in policy & coordination. This was my first time in town for the Budweiser Made in America Festival. The check-in time is at 4 p.m. and it should be thoroughly & repeatedly noted. Do not try to leave your phone number & have them call you as soon as a/your room is available (They'll just pussyfoot around and not call). And you cannot even downgrade your room to check in sooner. YOU CANNOT CHECK IN BEFORE 4 P.M.!!! So if you have to attend a concert on the same day as your check in date, please be aware of that (Try to check in the day before or plan to check-in after the festival). Unfortunately, myself and several others learned the hard way.,,, Lesson learned. Otherwise, the hotel was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you have an event to attend on the same day as your check-in date, be prepared to check-in NO EARLIER than 4 P.M.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SK On Vacation
Tennessee
Aug 12, 2013

Great Staff

Staff was great. Breakfast was simple but very good. Those breakfast folks worked hard to keep everybody happy. We did not have a car but bus and hotel van got us everywhere we wanted to go. I would not drive to this location. Hotel parking was always full and seemed difficult to find empty spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food close by. Go to Market Sheet and search. Chart house (on the river) is way overpriced for what they serve and despite what the hotel manager says, you need a reservation to skip the 45 minute wait where they send you downstairs to have overpriced drinks.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlabamaGirl2013
Philadelphia
Jun 4, 2013

Good

The rooms were nice with comfortable bed. However, the wheelchair accessible shower left the whole floor wet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jan 11, 2010

Very friendly atmosphere. Reasonably

Very friendly atmosphere. Reasonably close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jul 12, 2009

Good choice in relation to price.

Good choice in relation to price. Despite the central location little bit off-side due to the highway nearby. Still worth to considerate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jul 28, 2009

Abbastanza comodo al centro anche

Abbastanza comodo al centro anche a piedi, buona struttura con annesso parcheggio, stanza spaziosa pulita e nel nostro caso con vista sul bel ponte Franklin, la colazione è un plus, nel complesso ottimo rapporto qualità/prezzo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search