$108 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

3 stars
View map of 100 North Christopher Columbus Blvd, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ElkaLee
Business
Philadelphia Pa
Nov 19, 2013

No Power

We decided to go to Philly just for a night, and to meet with my sister. Upon checking in and being charged for the room, they told us they had no power. It was like 4-5 hours before we had power. The hotel did nothing to compensate us since we couldn't see in our room. This was our first time at this hotel, and it will be our last. The staff was nice, but the maids were rude. They knocked on our door at 9 AM and asked us when we were going to check out. When we checked into the room, the girl at the front desk guarenteed the room would be done by 4 o'clock, but it wasn't. My sister came to visit us, but we had to take her to a restaurant, since you couldn't see. Cost us more money then we wanted to pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

SugarHouse Casino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NYCJon
Business
New York City
Nov 12, 2013

Not worth the money - even for as cheap as it is

This hotel was so bad I did something I have never done before - left before even sleeping in the room. I was in Philadelphia to go to a wedding and made the mistake of selecting a national brand hotel based on value rather than actually researching deeply, so this is all my fault I understand. Anyway, the details from my experience are as follows. I entered the hotel to see a line 15 deep just to check in. After waiting in line for 45 minutes and still being 5 people away from reaching the front desk my traveling partner and I were already considering trying to cancel and were on the phone with this site to figure out a way to get our money back. When we finally got to the front desk, we were informed that our room wasn't ready yet and that it would be at least an hour until it was. Please note, check in time there is 4 PM and by the time we got to the front of the line it was 5:30. And this was not just a problem i had to deal with. The lobby was filled with at least 25 guests whose rooms were also not yet ready, indicating that their cleaning staff was ill equipped to handle the job of cleaning rooms in a timely manner. The gentleman at the front desk, to his credit did offer us a full refund if we called this site and had them call the hotel to have the reservation canceled. As we waited in the lobby while I was on the phone with this site, three sets of guests came down to the lobby to complain about the state of their apparently "cleaned" rooms. Complaints ranged from unmade beds to trash on the floor to being given keys to rooms that were already occupied. Then, while working with the agent from this site who was assisting me on the phone as I was trying to cancel our reservation and get a refund my guest and I overheard the front desk manager (not the same person who offered us a refund) on the phone with the agent who was attempting to assist us. I must say I have never heard someone speak so rudely on the phone while in public and who was in a customer facing job. The front desk manager loudly used expletives on the phone to the agent who was trying to assist us in canceling our reservation in spite of having guests (including children) within earshot of him. Then, when my traveling partner attempted to intervene and explain that the agent on the phone was calling on behalf of us, he began to curse at her. It wasnt until his partner behind the counter who initially offered us a refund stepped in did the front desk manager finally relent and tell the agent we would get a full refund. Long and short, this hotel is grossly understaffed, those who do interface with guests on a daily basis are, in large part, unqualified to do so, and not worth the money at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gknee
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 6, 2013

Loud people, Kara is rude, everything else was great

There was a problem with other guests being incredibly loud for long periods of time between 10pm and 5am. We had a great view and the shuttle driver was fantastic. The front staff was great except Kara, she was rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LenaLuvsLife
Business
Seattle, Wa
Nov 4, 2013

Not impressed and never returning to this location.

The hotel is located right next to the Ben Franklin Bridge and has a beautiful view. The room we had was a double queen with very saggy, uncomfortable beds and pillows that were way too hard and firm. Any of the rooms situated on the street side are very noisy from traffic. Which was where we were located. We were disappointed they didn't offer a mini fridge to store a little food/beverage in it. I guess that shouldn't matter anyway because when we went to the vending (drinks only) machine on the 6th and 10th floor (they don't offer them on all floors), both machines were out of order. Then we got a bucket of ice and it was full of black mildew/dirt chunks. Gross! Tried to utilize their free breakfast, but my god it was a cluster! There were so many people, not enough room to walk and food that was worse than any fast food dive you can think of. The only saving grace was there pancake machine. So, we didn't end up eating there but the one time. So, when you look at this hotel and are thinking you'll save money by eating breakfast there...think twice. The first night we were there the hotel was loaded with 20 somethings coming up and down the elevator drunk with cases of beer and the lobby was a full on party with no where to sit or relax. So, there was a lot of partying going on. Also, the elevators broke down the second morning we were there and we had to walk down and up from the 4th floor. We opened the door to the stairs and two hung over idiots were lounging in their PJ's smoking in the stairway. I'm not a smoker. So that really stunk. Also, something else they don't advertise, they charge $25 per day to park in their lot. There is no valet offered at that price. So, that was a total rip off as well. The only redeeming quality to this hotel was their front desk staff who were doing their best to help with what they had to work with and the location was great for walking and public transit. Lastly, upon check out they offer a business center with two computers and printers. Both computers froze up while I was trying to print. Nobody at the front desk could assist. So, we got shafted once again with amenities that really didn't function! We would never return here because there were too many negatives to try and overcome. The city of Philly is the best though! We give the city 5 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Since this establishment offers little to no food or beverage we found other places to purchase snacks. We found that the Wawa just up the way was open 24/7 and had lots to offer. The only issue is there was no small fridge to put our food or drinks in. They also offered a delivery service and we tried them once and they were okay. Can't remember the name of the place but the hotel offers their information in your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blind Dave
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 3, 2013

Really great hotel overlooking the river.

We had a very pleasant stay. The view from our room overlooking the river and the bridge were really great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jack Doe
Business
Prince Frederick, MD
Nov 3, 2013

Noisy

The location is great in relation to sightseeing; however, it is right next to a very busy freeway and, therefore, very noisy even with the air-conditioner going full tilt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
April in Paris
Business
New Orleans, LA
Oct 23, 2013

Comfortable, convenient, and we will return

We stayed four days visiting with our daughter who is in college in Philly. Even though there were conventions, an Eagles game, and homecoming for colleges with tons of people checking in, asking questions, and the usual chaos, the staff was always friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was always delicious with plenty of choices. The room was super clean and the view was wonderful. We highly recommend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It actually was not a very, very long walk, but attractions weren't just around the block. If the weather is good, the walk is exhilarating and there are tons of good restaurants and places to go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
To The T
Business
New Jersey
Sep 7, 2013

First time in town for the Budweiser M.I.A. Festival

This is my first time staying at a Holiday Inn Express. The only reason I gave this hotel 3-stars instead of 5 is because of their check-in policy & coordination. This was my first time in town for the Budweiser Made in America Festival. The check-in time is at 4 p.m. and it should be thoroughly & repeatedly noted. Do not try to leave your phone number & have them call you as soon as a/your room is available (They'll just pussyfoot around and not call). And you cannot even downgrade your room to check in sooner. YOU CANNOT CHECK IN BEFORE 4 P.M.!!! So if you have to attend a concert on the same day as your check in date, please be aware of that (Try to check in the day before or plan to check-in after the festival). Unfortunately, myself and several others learned the hard way.,,, Lesson learned. Otherwise, the hotel was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you have an event to attend on the same day as your check-in date, be prepared to check-in NO EARLIER than 4 P.M.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SK On Vacation
Business
Tennessee
Aug 12, 2013

Great Staff

Staff was great. Breakfast was simple but very good. Those breakfast folks worked hard to keep everybody happy. We did not have a car but bus and hotel van got us everywhere we wanted to go. I would not drive to this location. Hotel parking was always full and seemed difficult to find empty spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food close by. Go to Market Sheet and search. Chart house (on the river) is way overpriced for what they serve and despite what the hotel manager says, you need a reservation to skip the 45 minute wait where they send you downstairs to have overpriced drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlabamaGirl2013
Business
Philadelphia
Jun 4, 2013

Good

The rooms were nice with comfortable bed. However, the wheelchair accessible shower left the whole floor wet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top