$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

3 stars
100 North Christopher Columbus Blvd, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
27 reviews
Great Location & Value

Stayed here on a weekday. Close to the subway and nightlife. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room... See full review

  • sports fan025
  • Mar 30, 2014
Christmas visit

Good breakfast! Hours for breakfast was convenient. Fireplace made Christmas Day seem like home. See full review

  • gymbuddy
  • Dec 28, 2013
Hotel in Penn's Landing playground with free shuttle to city hotspots

Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing is located on North Christopher Columbus Boulevard in Penn's Landing neighborhood of Philadelphia, adjacent to the Delaware River and directly off of Interstate 95. The Historic District is less than a mile from the hotel, and a complimentary shuttle provided by Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing that will take guests to attractions within a 20-block radius. Additional amenities include a free full breakfast buffet, complimentary high-speed Internet access, weekday newspapers and a fitness room. Parking is also available for an added fee.

Highlights
  • Complimentary shuttle will take guests to attractions within a 20-block radius of the hotel
  • A free full breakfast buffet is served daily
  • Excellent views of the Delaware River from upper floors of the hotel
Rooms
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing has 184 guest rooms with insulated windows and other features to lessen the noise of traffic from Interstate 95. All rooms include complimentary high-speed Internet access, coffee-makers, hair-dryers, irons/ironing boards and safes. The hotel offers both smoking and nonsmoking rooms, some with whirlpool baths. Microwave and refrigerator rental is available upon request and for a nightly fee. Views from Eastern-facing, higher-floor rooms have excellent river views.
Features

The Penn's Landing location of the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia provides access to many nearby attractions, including the Independence Seaport Museum, an outdoor ice rink and the International Sculpture Garden, which features a 106-foot monument to Christopher Columbus. At the Penn's Landing Marina, visitors will find the Olympia warship cruiser and the Becuna submarine. Duck boat and helicopter tours can also be found at Penn's Landing, as well as many restaurants and events throughout the year.


Patrons can work out at a small on-site fitness room that provides cardiovascular equipment.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Penn's Landing Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (5 mi/8 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Complimentary hotel shuttle to attractions within 20 block radius
Attractions
  • Independence Seaport Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Historic District (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Professional sports/concert venues (5 mi/8 km)
  • Sesame Place (15 mi/24.1 km)
Business
  • 24-hour front desk
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Business services
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service
  • Small meeting room (250 square feet)
Policies and Fees
  • Parking is available for $25.00 per night with in/out privileges until 4pm on the departure date. (rates subject to change without notice)
  • Microwave and refrigerator rental is available for $10.00/night/item

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9517 -75.1405
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 12.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.4 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.8 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.4 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.6 mi

Dining

Dave & Busters
Full service restaurant with a bar and large arcade. Pay to park in their parking lot after 4pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Overall score

3.4 / 5
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
SK On Vacation
Tennessee
Aug 12, 2013

Great Staff

Staff was great. Breakfast was simple but very good. Those breakfast folks worked hard to keep everybody happy. We did not have a car but bus and hotel van got us everywhere we wanted to go. I would not drive to this location. Hotel parking was always full and seemed difficult to find empty spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food close by. Go to Market Sheet and search. Chart house (on the river) is way overpriced for what they serve and despite what the hotel manager says, you need a reservation to skip the 45 minute wait where they send you downstairs to have overpriced drinks.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
Mayster
Nc
Mar 30, 2014

Great Location

You usually can't go wrong at a HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS. Staff is always friendly, breakfast is always good with a very nice selection. Only reason I knocked off a star is because of the $25 parking fee and also the rooms facing the highway are very noisy from traffic noise, even in the middle of the night you could hear the loud tractor trailers going past, that compiled with the fact that our room was also located behind the elevate made for a very noisy night. Stay here for sure but don't let them give you one of the rooms near the elevator or facing the highway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Great place to stay if your seeing any shows and Johnny Brenda's or want to check out Penn Landing and South St.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

5
sports fan025
Bethlehem,PA
Mar 30, 2014

Great Location & Value

Stayed here on a weekday. Close to the subway and nightlife. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was nice and clean. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're interested in going out on the town, There's a pedestrian walkway to get to Market street about a block away from the hotel

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
MFree
PA
Mar 28, 2014

Smart Choice

Smart choice to stay in and see historic Philadelphia. Highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express brand of hotels. Always good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

3
Brewpuck
Jersey Shore
Mar 25, 2014

No hot water

Surprised to find out that hotel guests have to pay $25 to park on a Sunday night. Then woke up at 5:00 am to find that we did not have any hot water. Staff was average at best. We were in Philadelphia for surgery on Monday morning no time to wait for somebody to fix the water problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
Allie mae chelton
Philadelphia, Pa
Mar 14, 2014

perfect setting

The only thing that was missing was a mini fridge the shower was awesome but hot water is off and on and the noise from 95 is a lil loud but works as a sleeping tool ir you like a lil noise when you sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

about a 3miles from historic Philly

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
goepunkt
berlin, germany
Feb 25, 2014

we had a nice staz....

except that we had to pay an extra fee of 25$ for the parking lot evering was perfekt! the hotel is located in walking distance to the city center and the park across the street right under the bridge is beautiful with sunlight. for breakfast they had pancakes, bagel, cereals, joghurt, cheese-omlette and more... i would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

1
Jaryn
Business
Dallas
Jan 31, 2014

Avoid like the plague

From the very start I requested toothpaste from the very first night I stayed as my bags were lost from the plane and I had no toiletries. I was told they they were out and they provided me with mouthwash instead. I got to my room that was on the side opposition the Ben Franklin bridge near the highway and the noise level was unbearable to the point I request a move of rooms to concentrate on work and to not lay awake in the bed due to the noise all night. I was told they can not do anything that night and I was moved to the other side of the building for the next 3 nights of my stay. I requested toothpaste and other toiletries over 3 times to the end of my stay the fourth night and they were still out of stock and I was told I could buy some on market street. On the 3rd and 4th nights the staff did NOT clean my room. We requested a room clean and towels because they were dirty and we were only brought towels by a staff member and was told that someone would be there soon to resolve the room. (Nobody ever came) By then I did not even try to call the front desk as we had already determined that the staff does not communicate with each other and they are incompetent to take care of simple customer requests and run a premium hotel. Staff members also knocked on our door twice while the do not disturb sign was up on my door. This was during times I had not requested they clean or maintain the room and this was done always around 9am-10am. The staff was not customer friendly and considering to customer needs. When I checked out I was not addressed to how my stay was until I let the agent know I was very unhappy as I had also told the front desk this same statement I'm giving to this survey several times. I told the agent that I would be leaving a poor survey and only then that she said she would get her manager. I waited for the manager only for her to come out and tell me that they would be refunding one night of the stay and that I booked though ****** I would have to contact them. I was not happy and wanted to be compensated more for then what was offered. By this time I was wondering why the manager in the back did not come out and handle the situation as the agent had to go back a couple of times to get solutions to what I was requesting. They processed my refund for one night in the amount of around $100 dollars but I am still very mad that this was all that was offered as I am a member of the rewards club and that is why I'm writing this survey today. This is the WORST hotel I have ever stayed at and I have already shared my experience with co workers, family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Mac's Tavern

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
Sculptect
Business
Yorktown, NY
Jan 27, 2014

Perfect hotel for a business trip

Very helpful staff and a shuttle that takes you to and from the convention center at regular intervals. A decent breakfast gets you on the road faster. I would definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to everything, dining, shopping and the convention center.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

4
Savan
Business
Detroit, MI
Jan 12, 2014

Overall Nice place to stay

Positives: recently renovated (was a dirty comfort inn previously) so nice and new for the most part. Some things like door frames, etc you can tell wasn't updated. Good value. The breakfast buffet a huge positive for me. The cinnamon rolls were excellent! Negatives: this is subjective but it was right by the Ben franklin bridge and other major highways so you could hear cars go by. I didn't mind it because I am a city guy so I felt right at home. Also parking is $25 but I think any hotel in the area is similar. Overall: very nice stay for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA E - PENNS LANDING

Reviewer score

3
CutePooh
Philadelpia
Jan 2, 2014

It was okay

Everything was fine Except one thing they didn't clean the coffee film. If u have a car it is good location and good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

They have a good view and location

Back to menu Return to top