$144 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

3 stars
1305 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
86 reviews
Helpful, Friendly, Handy, Comfortable

We very much enjoyed our stay here. Never having been to Philadelphia before, we had no idea about... See full review

  • Pat loves Philly Food
  • Mar 22, 2014
Great Location

This is a high quality place with nice staff, very comfortable rooms, wonderful location and good... See full review

  • Pianoman50
  • Feb 4, 2014
Visit the Holiday Inn Express Midtown and surround yourself with a convenient, clean and comfortable atmosphere in downtown Philadelphia. We are a 100% non-smoking facility. Our Midtown location is within walking distance to a variety of restaurants and unique boutiques. It takes minutes to walk to the Pennsylvania Convention Center, where you can visit the nearby Reading Terminal Market for a quick lunch! Just a short walk to Philadelphia's historical sites; The Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. No matter what hospital or company you are visiting, our hotel is in a great spot to be on time for your appointment or interview. UPENN, Temple University, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, Comcast and Wells Fargo are just a few companies near the hotel. While staying with us, why not take in a professional sports game? Our hotel is a short subway ride away from Lincoln Financial Field, Wells Fargo Center and Citizens Bank Ball Park. Check out our Express Sports Package. It includes 2 roundtrip tokens on Septa Subway, which takes you right to the stadiums! Our Express Start breakfast bar and passes to our local fitness center are just two of the free amenities we provide our guests. After touring Philadelphia, relax by our outdoor pool or research new attractions with the free Wi-Fi access.

Hotel Map

39.9494 -75.1624
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.6 mi

Dining

Moriarty's Restaurant
Mid Price menu, family dining.
McCormicks and Schmicks
Upscale Seafood
Ruth Chris Steakhouse
Upscale Steak House
Midtown II Restaurant
24 hr dinner, full menu with greek specialties.
McGillins Olde Ale House
Philadelphia's oldest Ale House.
El Vez
Mexican Restaurant
Raw
Sushi and Sake Lounge
Sampan
Modern Asian Restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 86
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abcdefghijklm
Philadelphia
Mar 10, 2014

Friendly but Not Knowledgeable

Staff was efficient and friendly, but could not answer questions about city events.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American Abroad
Dayton, OH
Aug 31, 2012

Good value, great location

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express while getting treated at the Wills Eye Institute. The hotel is only a short walk from that facility and is also convenient to museums and wonderful ethnic restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful when I had to extend my stay for a few days to get further medical treatment. They provided the medical rate for my room and gave me the info I needed about the Lady Liberty Shuttle to/from the airport from the hotel for only $10. I plan to stay at this hotel for all my future visits to Wills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the Indian restaurant San Samosa and the vegetarian restaurant Maoz, both on Walnut St., a very short walk from the Holiday Inn Express.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
crofton, md
Jan 25, 2010

hotel

i was there to attend a meeting and the location of the hotel was less than 0.5 miles away which was super deal. night time came and the noise of the ac / heater system which was situated inside the room just beside the queen bed was unbearable and to top that, the noise from ambulance outside the building kept me awake (i think they are going to the jefferson hospital). the room was modestly clean, the staff that greeted me were the one in the check=in desk and lounge, other than that the staff everywhere was not that friedly...simple good morning/evening really means a lot to welcome guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northeast
Oct 19, 2009

good deal, super friendly staff

There for the "18 1/2" Philadelphia Film Festival. Easy walking distance to the theaters and events. There are fancier places with more amenities, but this was priced right, convenient, clean, and the staff was super friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northeast
Oct 19, 2009

good deal, super friendly staff

There for the "18 1/2" Philadelphia Film Festival. Easy walking distance to the theaters and events. There are fancier places with more amenities, but this was priced right, convenient, clean, and the staff was super friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Old Saybrook, CT
Oct 11, 2009

Nice hotel in a nice location

Check in and check out were easy. The staff was very nice. In an area with a lot of bars, couldn't hear anyone when the bars emptied around 2am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Old Saybrook, CT
Oct 11, 2009

Nice hotel in a nice location

Check in and check out were easy. The staff was very nice. In an area with a lot of bars, couldn't hear anyone when the bars emptied around 2am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 24, 2008

Great staff

Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown has the friendliest staff I have ever encountered. Although the hotel is old and could use some upgrades I can't say enough about the people that work there. When I checked in, the room they gave me still had an empty beer bottle and coffee cup in it. The front desk clerk apologized profusely; she was told the room was ready. Because I was checking in early and requesting a smoking room, she explained that another room would not be ready for about an hour. Not a problem, I was meeting friends for lunch and would be back later. When I returned to check in, I was handed a gift bag filled with goodies! As I said the staff is wonderful. The express breakfast is great; fresh Fruit, pastries, cereal, plus hot omelets, toast, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in Center City, everything is within a very short walk. Right next door is the Naked Chocolate Cafe, great for an afternoon snack. Wonderful restaurants are within a block or two.

Back to menu Return to top