$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

3 stars
1305 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
68 reviews
Holiday Inn Express - Philly = Super Experience

Staff was super helpful and friendly....clean room with outstanding breakfast area!! Our room was... See full review

  • Ddrilli
  • Oct 21, 2014
Just right

Newly remodeled room, clean, comfortable bed, perfect location. No complaints, would stay here again. See full review

  • Suz5678
  • Oct 10, 2014
Budget hotel puts guests steps from everything Center City has to offer

Just steps from the cultural district and a few blocks from the convention center, Rittenhouse Square, and the historic district, the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Downtown is one of the most centrally located hotels in the city. Hotel amenities include complimentary continental breakfast, an outdoor pool, free passes to nearby Bally Total Fitness, a business center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Guest rooms include amenities such as triple-sheeted bedding and granite bathroom vanities.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Outdoor pool and free passes to Bally Total Fitness
  • Centrally located within less than a mile of most business and tourist destinations in the city
Rooms

The 12-story Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Downtown provides 168 smoking and nonsmoking guest rooms and suites with a choice of one or two beds. All rooms include free high-speed Internet access, complimentary newspapers, televisions with premium channels and pay movies, a work desk with a two-line phone, a coffee-maker and an iron/ironing board. Bathrooms feature granite vanities and hair-dryers. Connecting rooms are available.

Features

While there is no on-site fitness center, free passes are available to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Downtown guests for Bally Total Fitness located two blocks from the hotel. Self-parking is available for a fee and includes free in/out privileges.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Business center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jun 22, 2010

A Good Hotel

Most staff were very pleasant and helpful - especially the front desk and hospitality staff. We used the hotel for catching some rest or taking a dip in the pool - otherwise we were out and about. The room was pretty quiet except for the typical hotel A/C noise. Unfortunately, room windows do not open. The hotel is fine - it's not luxurious by any stretch, but it's fine and clean enough. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

We visited many pubs amd restaurants - Philly is a great city for trying many kinds of beer. We were able to walk to most venues and if not, cabs were easy to catch and rates were reasonable. For such a large city, it seemed quiet, safe, and friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, MS
Jan 27, 2010

great downtown location

We arrived at the hotel with questions about the area and best places to eat. The front desk staff were friendly and extremely helpful. They suggested a variety of different restaurants and we found the perfect one, for us, within walking distance. All the staff that we encountered were cheerful and helpful, including, but not limited to those serving breakfast, which was a delightful change from the normal cardboard fare offered at most hotels. The eggs were freshly served and the bacon was crisp and tasty. Fresh biscuits looked delicious but I did not succumb to their temptation. All in all it was a very good experience and I would highly recommend this mid-town hotel for anyone looking for convenience and efficiency. It is located close to the theater district and there was a wide variety of entertainment available within a few blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is walkable from this location. Casual and fine dining, theaters and shops; we even found a jazz club. Considering we were only there for a couple of days we were amazed at how much we could have done. Next time we shall stay longer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
crofton, md
Jan 25, 2010

hotel

i was there to attend a meeting and the location of the hotel was less than 0.5 miles away which was super deal. night time came and the noise of the ac / heater system which was situated inside the room just beside the queen bed was unbearable and to top that, the noise from ambulance outside the building kept me awake (i think they are going to the jefferson hospital). the room was modestly clean, the staff that greeted me were the one in the check=in desk and lounge, other than that the staff everywhere was not that friedly...simple good morning/evening really means a lot to welcome guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wandering Jew
Business
Newark, NJ
Oct 27, 2009

Easy and comfortable!

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express before a major exam. I was impressed with the size of the room, its cleanliness, and with the amenities available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northeast
Oct 19, 2009

good deal, super friendly staff

There for the "18 1/2" Philadelphia Film Festival. Easy walking distance to the theaters and events. There are fancier places with more amenities, but this was priced right, convenient, clean, and the staff was super friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nilsa
Business
Aguadilla, PR
Oct 18, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

Was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Old Saybrook, CT
Oct 11, 2009

Nice hotel in a nice location

Check in and check out were easy. The staff was very nice. In an area with a lot of bars, couldn't hear anyone when the bars emptied around 2am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Petersburg, Fl
Oct 8, 2009

It was great.

Everything about this Holiday Inn Express was excellent, The only thing negative about the room was the rug. Looked dirty and should be replaced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 21, 2009

Quiet and centrally located

Good and clean, centrally located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street there is a nice Indian restaurant/cafeteria.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson NJ
Jul 2, 2009

My experience with Orbitz and Holiday In

My wife and I celebrated our 48th Anniversary with a quick trip to Phil. I used Orbitz as I have had good experiences. I ws quoted a price for the hotel and I went with them without questioning anything. I called the hotel to see about parking and I asked wha the hotel rates would be. This was the night before we left for Phil. They quoted me a price that ws $17.00 lower than that of Orbitz. I learned, call the hotel first then use Orbitz. The question...what will Orbitz do about it? What I said was true. Robert Purcell

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top