$153 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2015 Check-out: Jul 14, 2015

Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

3 stars
View map of 1305 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark42
Business
Pacific Northwest
Sep 16, 2012

Location!

Great location... within walking distance of the historic area... Figuring out where to park was a challenge... the employee out front could have been more helpful in directing cars into the parking garage next door... instead, he made eye contact and walked away :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anirlz
Business
Honolulu, HI
Sep 3, 2012

Perfect location/proximity to everything

This was a nice hotel, typical of what you would expect from Holiday Inn Express. When you check in, you have to pull in to the parking garage area to the left of the main entrance. This is not common knowledge when you first arrive. You can park right outside the entrance, check in, get your bags, and then park in the garage for $21 a night (unlimited drive in/out). The parking is a bit strange (double parking). We parked against the wall a little forward of the car behind us so no one was blocked in. The room was clean and comfortable and quiet. We were right over the pool which is on the 6th/7th floor. The bathroom was small, but modern and functional. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I asked for a DND sign and it was on my door within minutes. The breakfast buffet is a great start to your day! Typical buffet with hot and cold items. The hotel is in the perfect location if you do not plan to do a lot of driving. We parked our car at check in and did not drive it again until we left 2 days later. We walked to the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall within 15-20min. There are plenty of shops, cafes, and places to eat on the way there and in the area. The price was a bit steep, in my opinion, but I suppose this is what you would expect for the location. Overall the amenities were comparable to other hotels in the area that were more expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of restaurants right out the front entrance! You don't have to go far to find a place to eat or drink!

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American Abroad
Business
Dayton, OH
Aug 31, 2012

Good value, great location

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express while getting treated at the Wills Eye Institute. The hotel is only a short walk from that facility and is also convenient to museums and wonderful ethnic restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful when I had to extend my stay for a few days to get further medical treatment. They provided the medical rate for my room and gave me the info I needed about the Lady Liberty Shuttle to/from the airport from the hotel for only $10. I plan to stay at this hotel for all my future visits to Wills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the Indian restaurant San Samosa and the vegetarian restaurant Maoz, both on Walnut St., a very short walk from the Holiday Inn Express.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karsen
Business
Kansas City MO
Mar 21, 2012

Work conference trip

The hotel was a good choice for my work conference at the convention center just a few blocks away. All staff encounter at the front desk, in the halls or at the breakfast were all friendly and helpful. Room was clean and odor free, it was a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of big and little restaurants in the area around the hotel.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elphant
Business
Dover, PA 17315, USA
Mar 7, 2012

First Experience Here

For a first experience at this hotel, they were very welcoming, left us check in early. The staff was all very friendly. It was just a one night get away, and would stay here again, as it is so close to many things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Philadelphia Flower Show

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
axunjaxun
Business
Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Great Stay

The most helpful, polite staff I have ever worked with, and I have been everywhere from the east coast to the west. From now on when I go back to Philly I will always stay at the Holiday Inn strictly because of the staff. Walking distance from the shops, the food, the sites, and the schools doesn't hurt either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is on walnut within 1 mile.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
charles m
Business
Connecticut, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Quick getaway

this is the perfect location to get around center city. very clean facility, attentive staff. the location really can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McGillans is a must see, and eat. Cheap food and drink, the oldest bar in Philly is still the best.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jambo
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Dec 26, 2011

best deal downtown

It's a stone's throw from all the good stuff in philly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amarie
Business
New York, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Overall Good Stay

The hotel stay was overall very comfortable. Shortly after arriving in the room, the front desk called up to make sure everything was satisfactory. The room was clean, very friendly staff, complimentary breakfast was large and filling. Unfortunately the gym amenity was at a gym a few blocks down the road. The only downfall to our stay was the parking garage that the hotel contracts through. The hotel gives a discount for parking and extended hours past your checkout which was great to be able to explore the city more. Except because it's a different company that owns the garage, the employees there were extremely nasty and unprofessional. But again, they were not affiliated with the hotel so don't hold it against them! I initially thought the Holiday Inn was a bit pricey but once seeing the location, it was perfect and well worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amarie
Business
New York, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Overall Good Stay

The hotel stay was overall very comfortable. Shortly after arriving in the room, the front desk called up to make sure everything was satisfactory. The room was clean, very friendly staff, complimentary breakfast was large and filling. Unfortunately the gym amenity was at a gym a few blocks down the road. The only downfall to our stay was the parking garage that the hotel contracts through. The hotel gives a discount for parking and extended hours past your checkout which was great to be able to explore the city more. Except because it's a different company that owns the garage, the employees there were extremely nasty and unprofessional. But again, they were not affiliated with the hotel so don't hold it against them! I initially thought the Holiday Inn was a bit pricey but once seeing the location, it was perfect and well worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, Restaurants, Attractions, Gyms, Mom-n-Pop Grocery stores all very close and convenient!!!!!

Back to menu Return to top