$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

3 stars
1305 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
57 reviews
Helpful, Friendly, Handy, Comfortable

We very much enjoyed our stay here. Never having been to Philadelphia before, we had no idea about... See full review

  • Pat loves Philly Food
  • Mar 22, 2014
Great Location

This is a high quality place with nice staff, very comfortable rooms, wonderful location and good... See full review

  • Pianoman50
  • Feb 4, 2014
Budget hotel puts guests steps from everything Center City has to offer

Just steps from the cultural district and a few blocks from the convention center, Rittenhouse Square, and the historic district, the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Downtown is one of the most centrally located hotels in the city. Hotel amenities include complimentary continental breakfast, an outdoor pool, free passes to nearby Bally Total Fitness, a business center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Guest rooms include amenities such as triple-sheeted bedding and granite bathroom vanities.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Outdoor pool and free passes to Bally Total Fitness
  • Centrally located within less than a mile of most business and tourist destinations in the city
Rooms

The 12-story Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Downtown provides 168 smoking and nonsmoking guest rooms and suites with a choice of one or two beds. All rooms include free high-speed Internet access, complimentary newspapers, televisions with premium channels and pay movies, a work desk with a two-line phone, a coffee-maker and an iron/ironing board. Bathrooms feature granite vanities and hair-dryers. Connecting rooms are available.

Features

While there is no on-site fitness center, free passes are available to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Downtown guests for Bally Total Fitness located two blocks from the hotel. Self-parking is available for a fee and includes free in/out privileges.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Attractions
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Business center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9494 -75.1624
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.6 mi

Dining

Moriarty's Restaurant
Mid Price menu, family dining.
McCormicks and Schmicks
Upscale Seafood
Ruth Chris Steakhouse
Upscale Steak House
Midtown II Restaurant
24 hr dinner, full menu with greek specialties.
McGillins Olde Ale House
Philadelphia's oldest Ale House.
El Vez
Mexican Restaurant
Raw
Sushi and Sake Lounge
Sampan
Modern Asian Restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

5
axunjaxun
Business
Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Great Stay

The most helpful, polite staff I have ever worked with, and I have been everywhere from the east coast to the west. From now on when I go back to Philly I will always stay at the Holiday Inn strictly because of the staff. Walking distance from the shops, the food, the sites, and the schools doesn't hurt either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is on walnut within 1 mile.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

3
charles m
Connecticut, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Quick getaway

this is the perfect location to get around center city. very clean facility, attentive staff. the location really can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McGillans is a must see, and eat. Cheap food and drink, the oldest bar in Philly is still the best.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
Jambo
Pennsylvania, USA
Dec 26, 2011

best deal downtown

It's a stone's throw from all the good stuff in philly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
amarie
New York, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Overall Good Stay

The hotel stay was overall very comfortable. Shortly after arriving in the room, the front desk called up to make sure everything was satisfactory. The room was clean, very friendly staff, complimentary breakfast was large and filling. Unfortunately the gym amenity was at a gym a few blocks down the road. The only downfall to our stay was the parking garage that the hotel contracts through. The hotel gives a discount for parking and extended hours past your checkout which was great to be able to explore the city more. Except because it's a different company that owns the garage, the employees there were extremely nasty and unprofessional. But again, they were not affiliated with the hotel so don't hold it against them! I initially thought the Holiday Inn was a bit pricey but once seeing the location, it was perfect and well worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Denver
Aug 10, 2011

Perfect Downtown location for tours

Very Friendly, quiet easy to get around. Fast elevators

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Chicago area IL
Jul 26, 2011

Great location, unsurpassed!

My 24 yr old son and I stayed 4 nights to see the sights. Great place to stay! Easy walking distance to all the historical sights. Breakfast was good/typical from 6: 30 to 10:30. Staff was very efficient and professional. Extra attention to detail - since it was over 100 degrees outside, when guests returned after a long hot day, we were greated in the lobby each day by big ice-filled bins of complementary bottled water. TV had lots of channels, internet (wi fi) had a code to enter and worked fine. I would definitely pick this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We liked Pain for breakfast. City tavern was fun for traditional meal.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta GA
Jun 24, 2011

Not so good but good location

I walked around the area. Great location to get to restuarants and shopping. The room was ok but the people working the desk could have used a little attitude adjustment. I have to give a thumbs up to the maintentience guy who was great. I had a an issue with my room and he took care of it right away and did not have an attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping too. You are also very close to a few historical sites as well.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
May 23, 2011

Great hotel, great location.

My mom and I stayed at the Holiday Inn while we were visiting schools in the Philadelphia area, and we couldn't have been more centrally located. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating, but being within walking distance of all of Philly's big attractions has to be the biggest selling point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The University of the Arts, very nearby out on Broad St, puts on a number of productions each year in various venues up and down the Avenue of the Arts. We were fortunate enough to catch a production by the theatre department, and were very pleasantly surprised. If you're looking for a professional quality performance with a very affordable ticket price, look no further.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
TN
May 15, 2011

Just another HI Express

This hotel is OK, but over priced. The restaurant was so packed with kids I could not even get in for breakfast. There was a large group of kids staying at the hotel but they were quiet at night.The room was very large and comfortable and was well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a long list of places to eat within a short walking distance.

Review of Holiday Inn Express PHILADELPHIA-MIDTOWN

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Bradford, PA
May 12, 2011

Fabulous First Time!

Everything in the hotel was easily accessible and easy to find. I wasn't expecting a fridge and a microwave in my room which was a great surprise. The room was super nice with enough space for everyone. The beds were SUPER comfy however they were a little small for 2 people to sleep in. The hotel is actually located in a pretty nice section of the city, everything is right there for you no matter what you need. This hotel was one of the better ones that I've ever been in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anywhere you go in Philadelphia there is always some place to eat and they are super easy to find!

Back to menu Return to top