$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

3 stars
View map of 1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
118 reviews
Spectacular location!

The hotel was fine for our purposes. We absolutely loved the location which is very close to the... See full review

  • Ligia G.
  • Apr 14, 2015
Volleyball Weekend

Attended the volleyball weekend to see my niece play. Can't say enough about this hotel. The room... See full review

  • Ernest F.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Convention Center hotel provides plenty of room to unwind

The Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City is just steps from the convention center and next-door to the Reading Terminal Market. Whether guests are traveling for business or pleasure, this hotel offers visitors a great location and plentiful amenities. On-site, guests can enjoy an indoor pool and whirlpool, a 24-hour business center, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a fitness center. Large guest rooms feature adjustable beds, refrigerators, and 32-inch LCD high-definition televisions.

Highlights
  • Rooms feature a self-adjusting bed that conforms to each guest's weight and shape and relieves pressure points
  • All rooms include a high-definition LCD television, a microwave and refrigerator
  • Heated indoor pool and whirlpool spa
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City has 279 guest rooms and 117 junior suites featuring one king or two double Garden Sleep System beds with self-adjusting air cylinders that conform to each guest's specific shape and weight. All rooms are nonsmoking and provide compact refrigerators, microwaves, 32-inch high definition LCD televisions with premium cable channels and pay movies and work desks with ergonomic chairs. Weekday newspapers and high-speed, wireless Internet access are complimentary, as is remote printing to the hotel's business center.

Features

On-site dining options include the Tenth Floor Grill, a restaurant located on the top floor of the building with city views and a fireplace. Classic American fare is served for breakfast and dinner. The adjacent Pavilion Lounge serves cocktails and light appetizers from early evening until late night. The 24-hour Pavilion Pantry, located in the hotel lobby, offers self-serve snacks, beverages and microwave meals. Next-door to the hotel is the Reading Terminal Market, with its wealth of dining options.

Recreation

Newly renovated fitness center features Fitness by Precor offering cardio machines with personal television screens and headphones. Also available are free weights, water, towels and room to stretch.

Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • SEPTA Subway 11th Street Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Attractions
  • Reading Terminal Market (next-door)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (across the street)
  • Historic District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional sports/concert venues (4 mi/6.4 km)
Business
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • 24-hour Business center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Event catering
  • Multiple conference and meeting rooms
  • Dry-cleaning/laundry service

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.8 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.8 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.7 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.8 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.8 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.7 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 118
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nj
Feb 14, 2010

Clean bed... That's about it

Small room in an old and run down building... I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Liza Sherburne
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 15, 2014

Why bother paying for a hotel?

We got in late on Friday night and knew that we would have an early morning in Saturday. When we left at 8:05 am I stopped at the front desk to let the hotel staff know that we were leaving. I explained that we would be returning at one pm and would like our room to be cleaned while we were away so that we could take an afternoon nap. At 1:15 when we returned, the room was untouched. I saw a maid in the hall next to our room and explained the situation. I stated that we would leave for an hour ( we went to the pool) to give her time. She stated that she was not in charge of our room but would let the appropriate person know. I heard her talking to our maid as we left. When we returned at 2:30, the room still wasn't touched. I went to the maid (now cleaning the room next door) and explained that we were exhausted and wanted to take a nap. I asked her to please leave clean towels and coffee by our door since we were going to be sleeping. Ten minutes later she knocked on the door even though the do not disturb sign was on the door and I had specifically requested that she not disturb us. My boyfriend spoke to her because I was so frustrated. She did not replace our coffee. I have lots of friends in the city. I go to hotels specifically for amenities like coffee and clean sheets. I feel that I have wasted money on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deesey Deese
Business
PA
Apr 25, 2014

Nothing special

Rate was ok. The room was nothing special. It was big with nothing really in it. The tv worked sometimes. The staff was friendly! The pool had lots of dirt built up in the corners on the bottom. The bar and restaurant is nice but there was hair on the cloth napkins that were stored in glasses in the tables at breakfast. The bed was hard. I would not stay again. Kind of a disappointment since I surprised him for a night to go away. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading terminal is next door!! The best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ashu3188
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Above average!

Above average! The hotel is at the great location but as far as value for money is concerned, its not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellsass
Business
Albany, NY
May 31, 2010

Great location, iffy surroundings

The hotel is your standard business class hotel. Nothing special, nothing bad. Check in time was 4pm which I felt was a bit late. The entrance to the hotel is underneath the parking garage which covers the entire street like a large overpass. The result is a sometimes seedy-feeling (but apparently safe) area right around the entrance. There are a couple of shops under the overpass as well. A popular (long-distance) bus pickup is across the street, and one or two homeless people were sitting (harmlessly) along the sidewalk. While we never had a problem or felt unsafe, I wasn't expecting the entrance to feel like it was underground. There was another entrance on an adjacent street, but usually a map wouldn't point you toward that. Otherwise the location is great. Market East and a metro stop on the blue line (Market at 11th) are less than a block away. City Hall is 3 or so blocks west, and the Independence Hall area is 5-6 blocks east. It was a good, central location for exploring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Wawa across the street from the entrance. Like all Wawa's, there are no-fee ATMs inside.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sfa1
Business
new york
Jun 16, 2014

pleasant weekend away

We were in Philly for the opening of a friends art gallery. We thought this hotel was backed by the Hilton name but it really is not. Our room wasn't ready at 4pm when we arrived because they were backed up from having been full the night before. It was a little inconvenient but not the end of the world and they did make up for it by giving us free buffet breakfast in their dining room on Sunday morning which was really very nice. (Had to teach the omelet chef NOT to put cheese in anyone's omelet unless they request it-just glad I saw it before I started eating!) To his credit I did hear him ask the subsequent patrons if they wanted cheese added. The rooms are not soundproofed at all and we had some issues with very loud neighbors who sounded like they were in our room. Didn't say anything until after 2am-a couple of knocks on the wall did the trick and we all went to sleep. In all it was really a very nice weekend, the hotel is very clean and the staff very nice. The room not huge but not small and pretty comfortable. If you're looking for a decent hotel at a good price in a convenient area (a block from Market Street and the Reading Market, which is fabulous,) then this would be a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Maggiano's Italian Restaurant right around the corner from Hilton. It was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy Michelle
Business
Waterloo, IA
Nov 29, 2014

Thanksgiving Holiday

Hotel was very conveniently located near shops, restaurants and right behind of Redding Market. Walking distance is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickcom89
Business
North Brunswick Township, NJ, USA
Nov 29, 2011

A nice place to stay

Check in was the only speed bump, thumbs up otherwise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garden Traveller
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Location!Location!

The staff was very pleasant upon greeting us but they must have known our feather free request was not met. We were delayed 1/2 hour getting into the room. (4 breakfasts vouchers were given for this). Later on, 3 hours later, all the feather pillows were still not removed. We put the remaining pillows in the hall and called. 5 minutes later we had all of our feather free pillows. Later we got 5 vouchers for drinks and appetizers; for our troubles. The breakfast buffet was very good. Other than the one problem which was eventually taken care of, the remainder of the stay was very good. The location was very convenient for the convention center and restaurant selections.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tonyamarie
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 10, 2013

Perfect Location in Philly

The Hilton is one block from the train station, so for anyone traveling from out-of-state, it is the perfect location. Even better is that it is only a few blocks from many tourist attractions- the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Jefferson Square, the National Constitution Center,the US Mint (which has free self-guided tours!), and is situated almost directly on top of a mall. If you need to go to Thomas Jefferson Hospital, it is an extremely short walk. The value was great for the amenities, I would definitely recommend the Hilton Garden!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You cannot get closer to the attractions for a better deal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top