$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

3 stars
View map of 1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
114 reviews
Spectacular location!

The hotel was fine for our purposes. We absolutely loved the location which is very close to the... See full review

  • Ligia G.
  • Apr 14, 2015
Volleyball Weekend

Attended the volleyball weekend to see my niece play. Can't say enough about this hotel. The room... See full review

  • Ernest F.
  • Apr 6, 2015

The Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City is just steps from the convention center and next-door to the Reading Terminal Market. Whether guests are traveling for business or pleasure, this hotel offers visitors a great location and plentiful amenities. On-site, guests can enjoy an indoor pool and whirlpool, a 24-hour business center, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a fitness center. Large guest rooms feature adjustable beds, refrigerators, and 32-inch LCD high-definition televisions.

Rooms

The Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City has 279 guest rooms and 117 junior suites featuring one king or two double Garden Sleep System beds with self-adjusting air cylinders that conform to each guest's specific shape and weight. All rooms are nonsmoking and provide compact refrigerators, microwaves, 32-inch high definition LCD televisions with premium cable channels and pay movies and work desks with ergonomic chairs. Weekday newspapers and high-speed, wireless Internet access are complimentary, as is remote printing to the hotel's business center.

Property features

On-site dining options include the Tenth Floor Grill, a restaurant located on the top floor of the building with city views and a fireplace. Classic American fare is served for breakfast and dinner. The adjacent Pavilion Lounge serves cocktails and light appetizers from early evening until late night. The 24-hour Pavilion Pantry, located in the hotel lobby, offers self-serve snacks, beverages and microwave meals. Next-door to the hotel is the Reading Terminal Market, with its wealth of dining options.

Highlights
  • Rooms feature a self-adjusting bed that conforms to each guest's weight and shape and relieves pressure points
  • All rooms include a high-definition LCD television, a microwave and refrigerator
  • Heated indoor pool and whirlpool spa
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel
Nearby attractions
  • Reading Terminal Market (next-door)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (across the street)
  • Historic District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional sports/concert venues (4 mi/6.4 km)
Business
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • 24-hour Business center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Event catering
  • Multiple conference and meeting rooms
  • Dry-cleaning/laundry service
Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • SEPTA Subway 11th Street Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Recreation

Newly renovated fitness center features Fitness by Precor offering cardio machines with personal television screens and headphones. Also available are free weights, water, towels and room to stretch.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 114
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JimW
Business
Indiana
Oct 13, 2013

Disappointing Hilton

This was, by far, the worst Hilton hotel I have ever experienced. Awful beds, il-fitting sheets, poor cleaning, etc., etc. My first disappointment was the lack of a computer safe, requiring me to carry my computer each day or check it with the bell person each day. Then, the beds were awful. Some kind of air mattress that was never comfortable. To make matters worse, the sheets were not made to fit the mattress. They were too small and popped off in the night. Next, the cleaning was random and poor. Sometimes the trash was removed, sometimes it wasn't. Sometimes the coffee was replenished and sometimes it wasn't. The elevators looked like they were never vacuumed. I could go on and on. Needless to say, I will not use this hotel again. As a regular traveler and Hilton Honors member, I don't understand how this place keeps the Hilton brand. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JimW
Business
Indiana
Oct 13, 2013

Awful Hilton

See my previous comments. This is the worst hilton ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Mar 29, 2010

Not what was promised

I booked a room with two double beds for myself and a co-worker. When we checked in we were told that they were "sold out" of double beds and that they only had a room with a king size bed and a sofa bed. When I explained that I had booked two double beds they said they had no record of that. I produced my [...] receipt which showed I booked two double beds. They said there was nothing they could do. When I asked for a discount on the room they could not provide it because I had already paid through [...]. I am not sure if the problem was with the hotel or [...] but I would not use either again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jmrCO
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 26, 2011

Uninterested in making it right.

We booked and prepaid for a King suite. We also informed the hotel that we would be arriving very late. When we got there we were given a Double suite. Double beds? How about Queens! Since we arrived at 1 in the morning we waited until after we got some sleep to say something. I was told that they would hold the first king suite that came available for us. They even offered to move our luggage, which we declined since we were already unpacked. When we came back later in the day and inquired about the room change, no one knew anything about it. Never offering to contact the person that had been there in the morning that had made the arrangement. The manager said the there was nothing they could do, that all of the king rooms had been filled. Then went on to imply that since we booked with Orbitz we would not be given the same courtesy as if we had booked direct. What the manager does not realize is that we never would have found that hotel without Orbitz. The hotel was nice and convient but the management needs some work and they need to meet the requests and expectations of every guest. I handle the annual convention arrangements for the orginazation that I belong to and have just taken all Hilton Garden Inns off of my list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Leas
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Convention stay

Convention location was perfect. Room was ok at best. Bed was broken, parking was pricey and breakfast was bland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Melimelo
Business
New York, NY
Sep 30, 2010

Not up to HGI standards - avoid

Room was rather worn, unclean, and bed old - needs updating. Restaurant food mediocre. Parking expensive at $31 per night. Best bet is to stay at Hilton on City Ave for 1st class service/food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Aug 22, 2008

Initially I WAS pleasantly surprised!

The Hilton Garden Inn initially was very clean, comfortable, and inviting...until the morning of my checkout. I made a pot a coffee and upon taking a sip I noticed something weird on my nice clean lips...LIPSTICK that didn't belong to me. I spoke with the manager upon my departure, shared with him my findings, asked for nothing BUT for people to do their jobs...wash the mugs properly OR JUST use disposable items. OVERALL I was very impressed with the comfort theme...BUT what a turn off with the lipstick that didn't belong to me. I live in Indianapolis, one of the Indy news stations did an undercover show on simply How do maids clean coffee makers? The findings were horrible, you actually saw maids drinking coffee out of the actual coffee pot, maids wiping out the mugs with washcloths, maids rinsing out the mugs and coffee pots and just replacing them on the coffee maker/tray...SO it made me wonder how the pots/mugs at the Hilton Garden Inn are cleaned. I loved the Hotel, but will NEVER make coffee in my room again. NEVER!!! I wonder how everything else is cleaned...or not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrianDlaw
Business
Pennsylvania
Aug 24, 2013

Perfect for Center City

Great location, walking distance to many great restaurants and stores. Staff was great, super helpful. Room air conditioner was loud and didn't cool very well. Bed was clean and comfortable (memory foam type topper was not the greatest, but is the new trend, so it is hard to fault the hotel over something I don't like. Definitely would stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

On site garage cannot accommodate trucks or large SUVs. Two blocks away is a garage that has an 8 foot clearance and is cheaper! No in and out, but cheaper is better!

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenbelt, MD
Aug 27, 2010

Great place to stay

Great place to stay - excellent location in Centre City. Immediately adjacent to Reading Market so there is no problem with finding a bite to eat. Rooms were comfortable and A/C worked well. Only complaint - pool wasn't looking so good. Water was cloudy and the pool area had a musky odor to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TamarinaDC
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 7, 2009

Fine Hotel, Friendly Staff

The hotel was perfectly situated between the Marriot conference center and Reading Terminal Market, where some of the best (and most economical!) food in Philly can be found. I'm a former Philly resident, and the neighborhood has changed a lot since I lived there- newcomers may think it's in a rough neighborhood, but it's actually improved! If you come in by Septa train, the Gallery Place train station is about a block or so away. The staff was very friendly, and there are also 2 convenience stores close by where you can stock up your room's mini-fridge with snacks for late night munchies. Don't be afraid to explore Chinatown, either!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Did I mention how awesome Reading Terminal Market is? If you don't eat there, you have noone to blame but yourself. As an alternative to dinner out, I purchased several items, put them in the fridge in the room, and reheated them in the microwave for a dinner that was less expensive and better than most restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top